We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks(Houston)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$342
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$477
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$424
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
109
94
43
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
94
43
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslight rail systemvalet parkingfront deskfull kitchenhomeless peopletoyota centermetro trainfree breakfast buffetinternational quilt festivalminute maid parkhouse of bluestwo bedroom suiteworld seriessocial hourmarriott propertieshouston downtownbreakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Nice hotel in a very convenient location in the heart of downtown Houston. Staff was very helpful and every time I saw someone on the staff they were quick to say hello, good morning, etc. Room was very nice overall experience was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed our clean and friendly hotel! The team takes a lot of pride in providing both to all of our guests.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I really stayed 2 nights for business purposes and chose the RI because of its proximity to the office. The studio room was pretty much identical to other RI's although this one has much higher ceilings, which is more spacious. I love having a sink and big vanity in the dressing area, separate from toilet and shower. Everything in the room was in good enough condition (except for one carpet stain) but overall, the room was definitely "dated". It's beginning to look a little shabby - the popcorn walls, hole in the bedding, cheap hangers. I had a room facing Dallas Street and even on the 10th floor, it's a little noisy (trucks and construction across the street) but after all, it is downtown of a major city! The staff is very pleasant and the woman working at the breakfast bar was especially friendly and attentive - more so thatn I've ever experienced at any other limited service property. The public space (breakfast area) was spotlessly clean and the breakfast choices were excellent. I would stay there again, but might consider the Courtyard next door as I hear that it's been renovated more recently.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to reveiw our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you you enjoyed everything from our high ceilings to the friendly breakfast team!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Didn't pick the room. Parking was 30 dollars a day on top. Not bashing the place. Wouldn't be writing a review except trip advisor coaxed me in. For price w parking cost would want more from the room. Staff was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shcade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you found our staff to be friendly! We do charge for valet parking however our prices are the lowest of the Houston Downtown hotels.

Thank you again for staying with us!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Pros
-Location puts you within minutes of the Zoo, Aquarium, Park, Natural Science Museum, Children's Museum, and ballpark.
-Lots of place to eat nearby...as well s their own restaurants.
-Marriott reward points go a long way at this hotel.
-Big rooms with kitchens and full-size refrigerators.
-Valet parking cost of $15 is well worth it.

Cons
-Some of the rooms need to be updated.
-Cost of rooms during peak season.

Recommendation - If you're traveling with family or on a long business trip, this is the place for you. If you're looking for a romantic getaway, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 534sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed our great location and clean/frienldy hotel!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Attended Microsoft wpc event, no problems whatsoever. Staff very professional. A bit edgy about the location, but no issues. Loved Starbucks next door. Parking available at courtyard next door. 10 minutes walk to the convention centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauriceRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you chose to stay with us while in town for the Microsoft convention!

Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you next year!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews