We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At best, "eh".”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #143 of 507 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“At best, "eh".”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few times now. Not coming back. I usually like the bigger Res Inn rooms but here, not very well maintained. And staff is simply indifferent to requests. Probably better off trying Courtyard right next door ( higher rated on this site but I have yet to stay there). Staff at this place displays great indifference to guests, and I usually enter hotels with low expectations. In any event there is a Hilton and embassy suites right down the street that seem much more customer friendly based on my experience.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KWLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was surprised to hear you found our team to be indifferent. I can assure you our team takes extreme pride in being the cleanest and freindliest. Nonetheless I will be sharing your comments with the team as an example that we can always improve.

I truly appreciate your feedback.

Thank you again for staying with us and I hope you will give us another chance to showcase our world class service.

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    78
    39
    12
    5
See reviews for
27
29
11
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed 4 nights for a convention at George Brown.

Pros:
1. Location is good, as you can walk 10 minutes to the convention center as well as several restaurants. For jogging / walking it is just a few blocks from a park and an urban river trail.
2. My room 723 was above average for a Residence Inn, as the ceilings are high and there is some character to the decor. Bed very comfy.
3. Staff is friendly.
4. There is an outdoor rooftop pool that is long enough for lap swim.
5. Beer for sale in bottles from the fridge.

Cons:
1. Not much lobby ambiance. No bar. A little bit stark.
2. To get a taxi you need to walk next door to the Courtyard Marriott.
3. The rooftop pool is not heated and was unusable in November
4. Exercise room is limited: a few treadmills / ellipticals and a set of dumbbells. No machines.
4. There is a huge construction project going on right next door. As of November 2013 they are clearing away an old building and it's loud from 7am-5pm. I'd assume new construction will be going on for the next year or two. Room 723 faced it directly. It didn't bother me too much because I was at the convention center most days, but if you need to sleep later than 7 or work in the room then you may want to face another direction.

Overall I give it 3.4 stars and would be glad to stay there again, if looking for a hotel in this price range and location. Might be worth investigating the Courtyard Marriott next door if you like a lobby bar.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradleystat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I wanted to let you know that in December we will be doing so updating that I think you are going to love.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have stayed here before several times and everytime had left them with some feedback but of no avail. Recently there was a goof up and since them the GM has been listening and making changes. On top they have started catering to the needs of the vegetarians and yes it is more than salad - thank you! So all vege folks who struggel to find something decent for breakfast and snacks during social hour, this is the place to stay at. Hope they continue to improve the variety here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you are noticing the changes we are making! We truly value your business.

Thank you again for staying with us!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel is pretty basic.
Positives:
The rooms provide more than the usual hotel room. That is there is the basic room, plus a small living area.
The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful.
Useful little 'market' kiosk to buy snacks etc.
There is a launderette, where you can wash a load of laundry for 5 quarters and the same to dry.
Small fitness centre.
You share the facilities with the neighbouring Marriott Courtyard, including a reasonable and small and basic, but nice evening restaurant.
You are close to some main attractions, like the conference centre.
Good air con.
Good tv's (2).
Quiet at night. (But lost points for the weirdo blowing the trumpet outside every morning at 7)
Comfy bed.
There is a really cool 'happy our' which runs (I think Sun to Wed) which provides free light meal, wine or beer from 6pm to 730pm (thereabouts), and many of the guests it appear take full advantage of this to fill up for dinner.
That's it.

The other side of the coin:
The place is tired. Would do well will a renovation/refresh.
The furniture quite old.
It was noisy during the day. When I stayed there was some kind of fair going on across the road in an empty car park involving trucks blasting their horns. And at 7am every morning some guy would show up across the road outside the Houston Police Headquarters and blow a trumpet and shout at the top of his voice from0700 to 0730 Fri Sat and Sun. Very weird.
While the rooms are marketed as having separate living areas the room I was in (and which I thing is the standard) does not provide a truly separate living area. There are no doors between the living area and the bedroom - just a wall. And the rooms are small. So you don't get the feeling, really, that you have left the bedroom, and stepped out into the ling room - it's all one space. Not quite what I had hoped for, or what seems apparent when you look at the pictures online.
The area: the location is a big creepy. There are a number of strange (homeless etc) people hanging around in the vicinity (not the hotel's fault off course - just the product of the location, and nearby bus stop, I guess.
Room comes equipped with fridge, which is empty - if you are an overseas visitor you are used to the fridges being well stocked.
Small gymnasium.
I asked if they could provide bathroom scales - no luck. (They said this was available in the gym - it isn't)
Breakfast - average - limited cereals, but there was arrange of hot foods, such a scrambled eggs etc.

So look - if you get a very good deal, and you have realistic expectations, it will be OK'ish. But if you are a business traveler and more used to luxury stays, then it will disappoint.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocM-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed our very friendly staff! However I do want to let you know that in December we will be updating our rooms and I think you will really enjoy the new look!

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We spent one night in this hotel. This hotel shares a building with courtyard next door so the entrance and parking issue is confusing. Just pull up to the Courtyard entrance and valet will take care of you. There is no self-park there. The front desk was a bit understaffed when we arrived but they still were able to serve us in 15 minutes.The room was nice spacious and well-maintained. The theater district is just a few blocks away.
A few tips:
Do check out the pool. the view there is fabulous. Use the same door you came in or you will end up in Courtyard.
Check out several historic documents about the building on the first floor by the elevator.
Go to Courtyard entrance and check out a fountain in the shape of an oil rig.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed our nice, clean and convenient hotel! Incase you did not already know the hotels connect on all floors 3 and above to make it easier to navigate.

Thank you again for staying with us and have a great day!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights with purpose of visiting Minute Maid Park. Arrived on a Saturdays when Astros were playing Yankees. We arrived before 2pm and were told that there were no rooms available before 3pm check in time which was fair enough. However when 3pm arrived no room was available. It was not until nearly 4pm that we could get access. And we were not the only ones in this position. Lots of other baseball fans waiting to get their rooms. Apparently the hotel was full the night before with lots of guests checking out. If this was the case surely you would arrange for extra staff to turn the rooms around?

Anyhow the hotel is opposite a demolition site although we were not disturbed at all. Our room faced a central area. Not a great view but we didn't come to Houston for this. The room, a 2 bed suite, was spacious and well equipped. Good size lounge and kitchen area. Each bedroom had its own bath. Bed comfortable. A/c though appeared could not be adjusted. Changing the temperature had no effect.

Breakfast was busy in Sunday morning and whilst food was refreshed there was abut if a wait. Reasonable buffet quality leg down by paper plates and plastic cutlery. There is a Starbucks next door if you needed a caffeine fix.

The ballpark is about 12 blocks away/20 minute walk. Otherwise not much else to do in the area at weekends. We ate at the Guadalajara restaurant on Dallas St. A good quality Tex-Mex

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobartEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you chose to stay with us while in town for the Yankees game! I sincerely apologize however that your room was not ready to check-in until 4pm. We will always honor early check-in requests when rooms are available. This particular day a majority of our arriving guests wanted to check-in early.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is the second time I stayed at this hotel for business. The location is great for visiting multiple customers in the downtown area. Most were within walking distance of the hotel. Nice pool; small exercise room; but equipment was always available. Buffet breakfast was included every morning with a rotating selection; however there was something for everyone's taste. Travelled with a co-worker/friend and we shared the 2 bedroom, living & dining suite. Perfect, could work together in the kitchen/living room, but still have separate bedrooms and bathrooms. There is also an evening social that included beer and wine and practically an entire meal. This was served on Mon-Wed evenings. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherylM194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to reivew our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed your 2nd visit with us!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#118 of 507 in Houston
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#212 of 507 in Houston
53 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 904 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-6320
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Houston
#115 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center is located in the heart of downtown and offers modern suites while keeping the ambiance of the historic Humble Oil building. Within walking distance of Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center, and the Theater District, guests can easily access Houston's top sites. Our new suites feature separate living areas, full-size kitchens, free WiFi and plush Marriott bedding. Every suites is pet-friendly and has 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Extended stay guests will enjoy thoughtful amenities including valet parking, outdoor pool and patio, 24-hour fitness center and a free breakfast buffet served daily. The Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center has the perfect combination of location and amenities to make it one of the top downtown hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing