We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Be Afraid of The Outside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #147 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't Be Afraid of The Outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

When we pulled up to the curb outside of the Residence Inn Downtown, Convention Center, I was some concerned. The area looked a bit rough and men were sitting outside smoking. Was this a Marriott property or an SRO? Once inside we received a warm welcome and an easy check in. The property has undergone a recent remodel and the rooms were both roomy and comfortable. The staff was always gracious and the food served during the hospitality period each evening was both plentiful and well done.
Forgetting about the exterior, which I hope will be improved, this hotel does maintain the Residence Inn character and comfort. Unfortunately downtown Houston appears to be lost to the suburbs and a bit scary with a great deal of aggressive panhandling.

Room Tip: Use this property only if you have to be downtown or attending the convention center, a short walk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! It was great to hear you enjoyed your hotel from a warm friendly front desk team to our recently remodeled hotel!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    76
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
27
26
10
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

If you are a vegetarian or prefer cooking your own food during business trip, this is the place to be in DT Houston. This place has got brilliant rooms, cozy beds, feel at home furniture and a ready to use kitchen.

Housekeeping is pretty slow in responding and the laundry will have to be picked and delivered yourself, but if you are an organized traveller, you can always manage your way thro.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charan_Sri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel the perfect location for your visit to Houston!

Thank you again for staying with us and have a wonderful day!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for a concert at the Toyota Center. It was a short walk to the venue and we it is safe to walk at night The room was huge, the staff were wonderful and the breakfast (which was included) was filling and hot.

Room Tip: *Tip- get the package where valet parking is included and save some money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DothanEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! It was great to hear you enjoyed everything from your "huge" room to our complimentary hot breakfast!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were very impressed with the Residence Inn. It's within walking distance of the House of Blues, so it's perfect if you are going to see a show there. The room was very clean and spacious, with a full kitchen and a really comfortable bed. The staff and service were excellent, and the free breakfast was really good. I would definitely recommend the Residence Inn if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in downtown Houston.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while in town for an event at the House of Blues!

We truly value your business and look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed for over a week during a relocation to the area. Overall, the stay was positive. There were a few gaffs, but the hotel quickly remedied it. For example, I delayed housekeeping until 9:30 and asked for service after that time. However, when I returned to my room at 6pm, no one had cleaned the room. After alerting the front desk, they had someone come up. The plates, kitchen utensils, and pots didn't appear completely clean. Perhaps it's more of a reflection on the previous guest than housekeeping.

The hotel is undergoing construction with its sister property (Courtyard). While we were there, they were renovating the snack area and some connecting hallways with Courtyard. I didn't notice any noises, but we were pretty far away from those areas.

Valet is the only option for overnight parking at the property. You can text to retrieve your car. It typically took about 3-5 minutes, which was enough time to leave the hotel and walk over to the valet area. There was one instance when they retrieved the wrong car (my sedan versus someone's SUV). I'm not sure how they made the mistake, but it was quickly remedied.

In the evenings, the hotel offers complimentary beer, wine, and small meal following a theme (BBQ, Mexican, Italian, etc). They have a calendar of events in each room, so you could participate.

The lightrail is at the street corner. There is also a bus stop in front of the hotel, which can create congestion on the sidewalk. The area is safe and well-lit. The Houston Police department is across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank furmanjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! I was thrilled to hear you enjoyd your stay with us. We appreciate you choosing us for your lodging needs while relocating to the area.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Recently stayed here to attend college baseball games in Minute Maid Park. The rooms are clean, large, and almost like suites. Maid, desk, and food servers were VERY accommodating. Buffet breakfasts were varied and complete. Valet service for auto was close. The only downsides were the renovation process on most floors which could not be avoided. Secondly, the pool is outdoors, perfect for summer but not February. I would stay there again. It is safe. The police dept. is across the street. LOL Receptionists were so helpful with directions to the arena, church, and Galleria. I would make a return trip. Try Residence Inn if you are traveling to Houston, TX, and need a downtown accommodation.

Room Tip: Street side rooms are noisier. No indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while in town for events at Minute Maid Park!

Also, our renovation is complete and we invite you to come back and see all the updates!

Thank you again for staying with us!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed over the weekend and really enjoyed the customer service and included breakfast at this hotel. Our room was comfortable and best of all quiet. I never heard any slamming doors or any other loud noises from the hallway. The only thing to mention is the number of transient people waiting outside the hotel that we encountered everyday on our walk from valet parking to the entrance of the Residence Inn. We were never bothered by any people but felt uneasy passing by.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, everything from our service to our breakfast!

Thank you agian for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#221 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#100 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 904 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-6320
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Houston
#115 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center is located in the heart of downtown and offers modern suites while keeping the ambiance of the historic Humble Oil building. Within walking distance of Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center, and the Theater District, guests can easily access Houston's top sites. Our new suites feature separate living areas, full-size kitchens, free WiFi and plush Marriott bedding. Every suites is pet-friendly and has 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Extended stay guests will enjoy thoughtful amenities including valet parking, outdoor pool and patio, 24-hour fitness center and a free breakfast buffet served daily. The Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center has the perfect combination of location and amenities to make it one of the top downtown hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing