We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #73 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I didnt sleep here but they were welcoming & hospitable to me when I was lost & scared.
I was Darth Vegeta Voorhees at a convention & parked my car in a random garage streets away & got lost looking for it.
I was thirsty & tired & they had everything I needed to recover until I got help.
They had good water for me, a decent computer for me to research my car's location, the desk guy offered to help me & he even let me have a free snack.

Not sure about the rest of the hotels but whoever was there today was very compassionate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It is great to hear we were able to help you while looking for your vehicle.

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stay away from the Valet...Great location rooms blah blah blah but please stay away from the Valet...We were staying there because of a,3-3 basketball tournament when someone stole some personal property from our vehicle that was parked on the INSIDE of the garage...it was obviously an "inside job" no help from the police (no phone calls within 72 hours) no return call from the Manager...c'mon really....other than that everything was basically perfect...food was hot rooms clean...but will never ever stay there again I will tell my friends not to stay there anymore...you failed Residence Inn...you failed miserably

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncanz2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! It was great to hear you enjoyed our clean and friendly hotel!

However, I sincerley apologize for the service you recieved from the valet company. Please contact the hotel and ask for me so that I can further assist you.

I look forward to your call.

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I liked this place.

Downside - construction going on outside of the building on one side. We asked to be moved to a different room without issue.

Rooms are large, with a nice kitchenette. Clean, comfortable. Average decor but room was in good condition.

Nice breakfast spread. Stayed here for 2 nights. They did change up the breakfast food each day a bit which was nice. Breakfast was included.

Really like the location, you are within blocks of music, food, downtown attractions, Toyota Center, Convention Center. We walked everywhere. Plus the public transportation is right outside so if you want to pick up a bus or take the transit system you are right there.

Didn't use pool too cold plus hot tub was under construction. Small workout room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MightyMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to reivew our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Everything from large rooms to clean and comfortable.

We appreciate you chosing us and cant wait for your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

When we pulled up to the curb outside of the Residence Inn Downtown, Convention Center, I was some concerned. The area looked a bit rough and men were sitting outside smoking. Was this a Marriott property or an SRO? Once inside we received a warm welcome and an easy check in. The property has undergone a recent remodel and the rooms were both roomy and comfortable. The staff was always gracious and the food served during the hospitality period each evening was both plentiful and well done.
Forgetting about the exterior, which I hope will be improved, this hotel does maintain the Residence Inn character and comfort. Unfortunately downtown Houston appears to be lost to the suburbs and a bit scary with a great deal of aggressive panhandling.

Room Tip: Use this property only if you have to be downtown or attending the convention center, a short walk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! It was great to hear you enjoyed your hotel from a warm friendly front desk team to our recently remodeled hotel!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

If you are a vegetarian or prefer cooking your own food during business trip, this is the place to be in DT Houston. This place has got brilliant rooms, cozy beds, feel at home furniture and a ready to use kitchen.

Housekeeping is pretty slow in responding and the laundry will have to be picked and delivered yourself, but if you are an organized traveller, you can always manage your way thro.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charan_Sri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel the perfect location for your visit to Houston!

Thank you again for staying with us and have a wonderful day!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for a concert at the Toyota Center. It was a short walk to the venue and we it is safe to walk at night The room was huge, the staff were wonderful and the breakfast (which was included) was filling and hot.

Room Tip: *Tip- get the package where valet parking is included and save some money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DothanEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! It was great to hear you enjoyed everything from your "huge" room to our complimentary hot breakfast!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were very impressed with the Residence Inn. It's within walking distance of the House of Blues, so it's perfect if you are going to see a show there. The room was very clean and spacious, with a full kitchen and a really comfortable bed. The staff and service were excellent, and the free breakfast was really good. I would definitely recommend the Residence Inn if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in downtown Houston.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while in town for an event at the House of Blues!

We truly value your business and look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#148 of 517 in Houston
123 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 517 in Houston
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 904 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-6320
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Houston
#115 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £111 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center is located in the heart of downtown and offers modern suites while keeping the ambiance of the historic Humble Oil building. Within walking distance of Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center, and the Theater District, guests can easily access Houston's top sites. Our new suites feature separate living areas, full-size kitchens, free WiFi and plush Marriott bedding. Every suites is pet-friendly and has 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Extended stay guests will enjoy thoughtful amenities including valet parking, outdoor pool and patio, 24-hour fitness center and a free breakfast buffet served daily. The Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center has the perfect combination of location and amenities to make it one of the top downtown hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing