We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #151 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. My room was clean and the air conditioner worked great. My bed was comfortable and had plenty of pillows. The hot water worked pretty good, there was one morning that it didn't get as hot as I prefer, but every other day it was perfect. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I liked that there were restaurants and bars within walking distance along with the rail. At night a lot of homeless people are around outside the hotel, but the staff seemed to do a pretty good job of keeping them away from the hotel entrance. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you taking the time to review our hotel!

It was fantastic to hear you enjoyed everything about our hotel! We pride ourselves on providing world class service and I will be sharing your comments with the team!

Thank you again for staying with us!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    76
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
27
27
10
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this property for three weeks. I was in town for work. The staff was very friendly and really did care about trying to make your stay perfect. Overall I did enjoy my stay and would have no problem staying with them in the future. Wish the hotel rooms windows open for fresh air and the windows were more sound proof. Other than that, thanks for making me feel like I mattered.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelTomUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed our friendly team and will be back to see us!

We truly value your business and look forward to your next visit.

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed here recently to attend a convention. True to form, when I checked in as a Gold member (requiring 50+ nights stay in the previous year), I asked if there was anything special for Gold member's. The two people at the front desk had no clue what I was talking about (one perk is that i am supposed to receive an upgraded room on a space-available basis). They eventually offered me a bottle of water, which I declined. Marriott is bar-none the worst frequent-stayer rewards program in the industry!

The hotel was what I expected. The workout room was small but adequate; there was a nice outside pool on the third floor deck and a spa at one end. The breakfast consisted of typical steam table fare: scrambled eggs made from powder; suasages/bacon/some sort of proky meat; cereals; fruit, yogurt; waffles; sweet rolls' toast, etc. It was all pretty tasty actually. The big problem was seating. There is not enough of it, so don't come at a busy time.

My room was better than average, and was on the third floor facing the Houston police station. The room was large with a nice kitchen. I would have liked to have had a real stove with a real oven, but all I had was a microwave and some table-top burners. There was a full-scale refrigerator. It would also have been nice to have had a reasonable food store within walking distance; however, there were two convenience stores about 3-4 blocks away that had adequate basics for making a meal at a slightly higher cost than could have been purchased at a normal supermarket.

There seem to be panhandlers everywhere in dowtown Houston, and each day I was solicited a couple of times walkingto and back from the convention center (about a 25 minute walk in heels). About a block away is the light rail system, which is convenient. What is not conenient is that the light rail system is a magnet for transients and the like after hours, and so walking out from the hotel to go to dinner can sometimes be a little unpleasant or scary. There is a significant police presence, so i felt guardedly safe walking alone, but I was always very wary.

I'd probably stay here again, but wouldn't go out of my way if another hotel had a copmetitive price or location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindWolfess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Good expirience, Just keep the eye on Cleanliness, take some time to clean the room. Room is perfect, hot water is abailable all time, Forniture are nice, people is nice, very good expirience staying in



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Francisco E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed everything from the clean room to the friendly team!

We look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed 2 nights while attending a conference at the GRB.
I WANT TO TAKE THIS OPPORTUNITY TO FORMALLY COMMEND GLORIA ON HER GREAT ATTITUDE AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICE.
She went above and beyond to make sure my stay was pleasant.
My room was very spacious and clean with all the amenities you could ever want. However because I was on aloe floor outside noise from the street was a problem so I called down and was quickly moved to a higher floor inside that was exceptionally quiet.
The breakfast buffet was truly that with fresh fruit, yogurt, granola and eggs, sausage, potatoes, and build your own waffles. It was great to have a hot FREE breakfast to start the day.
On Monday-Wed they even have a FREE happy hour and dinner. Since I checked in on a Thursday so didn't get to take advantage of that.
There is a free shuttle to close by attractions on M-F. Alway quick and readily available when I called for it. The only downside to this is the shuttle doesn't operate on the weekends. That would be the only complaint I would have with property.

The location is very convenient to most downtown attractions.

I would highly recommend this property for its economy and amenities. GREAT VALUE.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shirtless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed our hotel from the friendly service of Gloria to the plentiful complimentary breakfast!

We look forward to your next stay with us!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
315 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I really want to give this hotel a better rating but it's frustrating me. The location is great for my use so I returned - about 11 months from last time. I can't believe it but I ended up in the exact same room almost a year later! I remembered the location at the end of the hallway and then when I went into the room and started to unpack for my 4 night stay - it came back to me...the hotel door to the hallway had issues - it doesn't CLOSE behind you - it sort of sounds like it does but it doesn't (the key works fine)...I found it again unlatched. It will close and latch but it sometimes works very hard. Then the mirror doors to the closet were off their hinges/tracks - just like it was a year ago...I fought it everytime I opened and closed the doors - so again I finally just wedged them in the middle and used the 'ends' of the closet. I don't stay in the room and was picked up and returned to the hotel each day so I just came in at night--these were small things but...the same from a year ago.
I got my final bill under the door and they had charged me 4 nights of vallet parking. I didn't have a car in Houston. So checkout morning I had to go down and get it off my bill while my driver waited to take me to the airport...inconvenient.
Yes, they were nice at checkout - they took the erroneous charges off my bill but again a time-waster in the morning when having to get to the airport.

Yes, I told them again about the hallway door and the mirror closet doors...

(side personal note: I really HATE large hotels glass glasses they have in the room. I've seen the hidden videos of glasses not getting changed out from guest to guest and/or of them being washed with toilet scrubbers. - graphic, yes but ugh - I can't get that out of my head and I travel A LOT! So please give me a cheap plastic wrapped throw-away cup! I AM NOT SAYING this is the case with this hotel - it was VERY CLEAN! I usually have a water bottle but didn't this whole stay!)

GREAT Location but small things are irritating sometimes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pebbleskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you came back to see us and found your room very clean! I sincerley apologize for the door, closet doors and valet charges. We have corrected all items to ensure future guests are not affected.

We hope you will come back and see us.

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manvel, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I didnt sleep here but they were welcoming & hospitable to me when I was lost & scared.
I was Darth Vegeta Voorhees at a convention & parked my car in a random garage streets away & got lost looking for it.
I was thirsty & tired & they had everything I needed to recover until I got help.
They had good water for me, a decent computer for me to research my car's location, the desk guy offered to help me & he even let me have a free snack.

Not sure about the rest of the hotels but whoever was there today was very compassionate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It is great to hear we were able to help you while looking for your vehicle.

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#211 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#110 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 904 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-6320
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Houston
#115 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center is located in the heart of downtown and offers modern suites while keeping the ambiance of the historic Humble Oil building. Within walking distance of Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center, and the Theater District, guests can easily access Houston's top sites. Our new suites feature separate living areas, full-size kitchens, free WiFi and plush Marriott bedding. Every suites is pet-friendly and has 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Extended stay guests will enjoy thoughtful amenities including valet parking, outdoor pool and patio, 24-hour fitness center and a free breakfast buffet served daily. The Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center has the perfect combination of location and amenities to make it one of the top downtown hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing