We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worked for me, too” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #159 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Worked for me, too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a serviceable hotel in downtown Houston, the Residence Inn is a good one. It's convenient to the convention center, ball parks and downtown restaurants/bars. The help is friendly, the rooms clean, the beds comfortable and the breakfast pretty good - I especially liked the sliced jalapeños. My only complaint is that the pillows were shorter than standard.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was wonderful to hear you enjoyed everything about our hotel from the brekfast to the clean/comfortable room to the frieldy service!

We truly appreciate you staying with us and cant wait to see you again soon!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    76
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
27
25
10
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was attending an event at the Convention Center. Probably a 10 minute walk. The Hilton next to the center was hopping but this location was very quiet. In fact, on Sunday night downtown Houston was absolutely dead.

Like most Residence Inns, the room was big and roomy, kitchen, couch, chair, coffee table and a pretty good bed. I thought the four small pillows on the bed were a little hard, but fine. I always appreciate rooms with a swivel TV.

My early departure at 4:15 was aided by the women at the front desk who called me a private car service -- it was about the same rate as the cab I took there -- and arrived in 3 minutes.

My room faced in the direction of the convention center -- but the building next door is going through reservations. A little disconcerting to be looking into an empty building which was pretty close. Once it is finished, those windows are very near to the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I wanted to let you know that we are renovating the building into a 3rd Marriott hotel and it will be opening March of 2015!

We truly value your business and hope to see you again soon!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Enjoyed the facilities, cleanliness, and the room's spaciousness, along with the kitchen facilities (including a full size refrigerator with ice maker). In particular, the front desk were very friendly and greeting you on your arrival and departure.

There are full hot breakfast and fresh fruit options available for hotel guests on the ground floor which are great and also daily newspapers for your selection.

The Residence Inn is literally adjacent to the Courtyard Marriott (which does not include breakfast or the extra space and kitchen facilities). But the Courtyard does have the coffee/food bar on the ground level. Part of the shared building structure at street level is a Starbucks. And the valet parking is shared by the Residence Inn and Courtyard too (~ $30/day including tax), should you have a car.

Room Tip: (1) High floor always good. (2) If you use valet parking facilities, better to access through the C...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very well done and without any noticeable impact on the comfort of the hotel guests. Compliments again to the staff (and behind-the-scenes cleaning/maintenance/building staff).
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiianBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

We were thrilled to you chose to stay with us while in town for 6 nights for work! It is great to hear you enjoyed our clean and freindly hotel.

We truly value your business and look forward to your next trip!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Purpose for staying was to attend business meetings. My experience was excellent. Front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful at during check in and responsive to any questions I raised. The room was very quiet and allowed for a good sleep. Room facilities were all what I needed and functional. Very good value.

Room Tip: Go for courtyard for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPete74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you chose to stay with us while in town for business and you found our hotel to be a great value!

We truly value your business and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Residence Inn for a one night stay to see the Houston Astros play the LA Angels at Minute Maid Park. We are loyal Marriott members and our choice to stay at the Residence Inn downtown near the convention center did not disappoint. We were warmly greeted by the valet representative and front desk attendant. Our room was recently totally renovated and very clean. It was nicely decorated with comfortable furniture. We were on the third floor across the street from the Houston Police Department building and although there was some noise from the vehicle traffic it wasn't enough for us to complain. We opted to walk to Minute Maid Park which was about an 8 block venture. On the way we stopped at the Westin Hotel which was once called the "Inn at the Ball Park." It is right across the street from the ball park. Great location to stop in and have a cold beverage and small snack before heading off to the game. After the game we proceeded back to the Residence Inn and our room. We had a great nights sleep and the next morning ventured down to the first floor to enjoy a very nice hot breakfast. During our breakfast we had the opportunity to meet Garrett who is a Residence Inn Sales Team Leader, Faye who helps ensure the breakfast area items are replenished and the overall area is clean, and Twanna one of the front desk representatives who helped check us out at the end of our stay that morning. I have to say we continue to be amazed at how wonderful the customer service is during our stays at any of the Marriott properties. The Residence Inn downtown Houston is no exception. Please thank Garrett, Faye, Twanna, and all the other fine members of the Marriott Residence Inn downtown Houston location for making our stay another outstanding and memorable occasion. These folks are the reason we keep coming back to stay at a Marriott property. Thanks again for being so professional and caring about your guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tejas4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

We were thrilled you chose to stay with us while in town for an Astros game! It was great to hear you enjoyed everything about our hotel and recognized some of out team members.

We truly value your business and look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Not a bad experience here overall. When I first got to the room - I noticed it was slightly dirty - but, I am very particular about that - and have seen a lot worse. There was one broken and completely unusable lamp - and another lamp that had no working light bulbs. I took the light bulbs out of the broken lamp and put them in the one without light bulbs. It was needed because the room was very dark at nite. During the day - it was very light and open - with large old style windows. This was because the building had a really cool history - having been an old oil company building that was refurbished into a hotel. Luckily - they kept the original and old windows. One nice thing is that the Residence Inn was connected to the Courtyard - and you could easily access each hotel - on each floor. It was very helpful since my business partner was staying at the courtyard - it made our meeting alot easier. Pool and jacuzzi were really nice - both hotels shared the same pool. Bed was ok - but, mattress did feel somewhat old to me - I still slept ok. Water temp and pressure in the shower were good too. It did look like the Courtyard was cleaner and refreshed as compared to the Residence Inn - but, I am not sure. Would I stay at either or again - yes.
Anything that was wrong with the room was made up by the great staff - who were very helpful, nice and courteous - especially Basil at the front desk - he helped me out tremendously. Breakfast was overall very good. Staff there in the morning were great and cheerful.
I travel alot for business - and overall Residence Inn and Courtyards are pretty consistent and ok - and I would have to say these two were fine. They are a bit of a walk to the convention center though - so - on really hot days - it can be kind of long. Though - there is some kind of shuttle/bus service too.

Room Tip: if you like to use the gym - the gym at the courtyard was alot bigger and had more machines than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, everything from the extremely helpful service to the convenience between our 2 historic buildings.

Thank you again for staying with us! Come back and see us.

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Where do I start? The awkward/dangerous "valet" parking where you leave your car at the Courtyard entrance THEN walk around the building to the front entrance of the Residence OR the raw sewage aroma emitting from the streets OR when opening the sheets for the pull out bed and finding them dirty and stained. No ice makers, however the in-room ice maker produces on average approximately 1 1/2 cube/hour. Seriously? Marriott claims this as one of theirs? Wow.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I sincerely apologize for the experience you has with us. I can assure you cleanliness is not a normal occurence for us as we take extreme pride in providing a very clean hotel and room.

I will share your comments with our housekeeping team to ensure this is never an issue again.

We truly value your business and hope you will give us another chance.

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
No photo provided
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#107 of 501 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Athens Hotel Suites
Athens Hotel Suites
#314 of 501 in Houston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 904 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-6320
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Houston
#115 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center is located in the heart of downtown and offers modern suites while keeping the ambiance of the historic Humble Oil building. Within walking distance of Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center, and the Theater District, guests can easily access Houston's top sites. Our new suites feature separate living areas, full-size kitchens, free WiFi and plush Marriott bedding. Every suites is pet-friendly and has 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Extended stay guests will enjoy thoughtful amenities including valet parking, outdoor pool and patio, 24-hour fitness center and a free breakfast buffet served daily. The Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center has the perfect combination of location and amenities to make it one of the top downtown hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing