We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks(Houston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston(Houston)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whitehall Houston(Houston)
Book now, pay at stay
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
109
95
43
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
95
43
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslight rail systemvalet parkingfront deskfull kitchenhomeless peopletoyota centermetro traininternational quilt festivalfree breakfast buffetminute maid parktwo bedroom suitehouse of bluesworld seriessocial hourhouston downtownbreakfast areafresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The location is ideal for a downtown Houston stay with good restaurants close by, a block away from the metro train, easy walking distance to the convention center, Minute Maid Park, the Toyota Center, and the Arts District. We found the staff especially Meghan the front desk supervisor very helpful, professional, personable and responsive. Marriott trains their personnel very well and that selection and preparation is very evident throughout this property.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dennis, Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. We appreciate the great review. Positive feedback empowers us. Our staff takes great pride in what they do and I will share this great feedback with them. We are esteemed you had a pleasant stay. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Our room was a great price for a great location. Valet parking was a bit clunky, especially upon arrival. Desk clerks were nice, but I didn't feel the overall warmth, attentiveness and friendliness one might expect from this level of hotel. Except upon checkout, every time we went by the front desk there was only one person on duty, they were always on the phone, and at the times we needed something it seemed that helping us was not their first interest. The hotel is pushing mobile check in on an app, which further de-personalizes the process. It would have been nice to have an offer of recommendations for places to eat, have drinks, etc; however, there was none of that either at the front desk or in our room. Otherwise, our room was nice - large with a kitchen, living room, dining area and large bedroom. WIFI did not work. Since we were just there for a day/night, we just used our data plan on our phones. Breakfast was very good, set at a good time for a weekend. Faye, working the breakfast area, was the one bright spot in all the people we interacted with at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Heather, I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We understand there are many options, and are thankful you chose our hotel. We strive to be the best quality hotel at a reasonable price that our customers love. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and make your future stays five stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Travelled to Houston for concert at Toyota Center. Hotel was in walking distance. Valet parking was prompt. Check in and check out was easy and friendly. Continental breakfast was average. Room was clean and spacious regarding size. However, pull out mattress was in poor condition and uncomfortable. Night time front desk receptionist was nice, and helpful. Overall great stay for the price, location, and room condition.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Briana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Briana, thank you for your four star review. Our goal is to provide you with clean, comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. We take pride in being the best quality hotel that our customers love. Our deepest thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We would love to have the opportunity to have you return to have five star visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Came to check in early (our flight got in earlier than expected). We stored our bags and went out for lunch. Luckily both rooms were ready. We were very thankful for that because we were extremely tired. Get to the room and there's no full size stove (drive top and oven) and the room was handicap accessible room. I immediately went downstairs to the front desk. I told the woman at the desk that you guys advertise as a full kitchen. She then began to him back and forth with me about how it is a full kitchen. Little did she know I work at a hotel and that's NOT a full kitchen but a stove with two burners. Later on that night I tried to take a shower...no hot water. Showered in cold water...not a big deal. I went to the desk and spoke with the manager and she fixed it before we arrived back to our room. Come check out time. A member of housekeeping tried to open our room door BEFORE CHECK OUT! I spoke to the housekeeping manager and she said they are allowed to go into the rooms before check out. So, what's the need for a check out time if you're gonna disturb your guests earlier than check out? I'll NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN IN MY LIFE! This is thee worst hospitality experience EVER!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank THomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy J, Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear your stay was less than enjoyable. I apologize that the room you were given was an accessible room and did not have the oven like our non-accessible rooms. I will be working with the team on better scripting when we are checking someone into an accessible and the differences. I will also be working with the housekeeping team on proper check-out procedure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We travelled to Houston to watch a few ball games and stayed at the Residence Inn for the week. We rented a two bedroom suite, the suite was average. We noticed small things, like the closet wasn't vacuumed and an old coffee filter was sitting in the coffee pot but other than that it was alright.

We took advantage of the free breakfast everyday, it was great for the first few mornings but then after day 5 of eating the same stuff we were wishing for something different. The last day of our stay they did change the breakfast up, which was nice.

The staff at the front desk were always helpful and very accomodating, they seemed to go above and beyond.....especially Ryan, he was on every night of our stay. The staff at breakfast were also very helpful and always friendly.

This hotel was located downtown about 20 minutes from Minutemaid Park, located close to pubs and restaraunts. Great location.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments with us. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and had such great things to say about everything and everyone. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews