We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing airport restaurant”
Review of Le Grand Comptoir

Le Grand Comptoir
Ranked #624 of 8,183 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: American, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
210 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Amazing airport restaurant”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Wow...this place is small but the food is amazing. Offering sandwiches, salads, and a few entrees, it offers enough variety to find something enjoyable. The Croque Monsieur was excellent with excellent ham and cheese on grilled sourdough. It came with homemade potato chips that emphasized the taste of the potatoes and not the salt. My companion enfoyed a beautiful chicken on romaine salad accompanied by large croutons and sliced parmesan cheese. It seemed very popular with other patrons also. The wine list was extensive with many varied alternatives. The atmosphere is very upscale bar-like. I would happily return to this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    36
    6
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brecksville, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You'll forget you're at an airport..for sure!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This little spot was a treasure! The wine by the glass was a bit pricey..but it's the airport so based on that continuum- it was a spectacular gem! I was roaming through the concourse forlorn noting the food court and Bubba's BBQ with resistance. After visiting the Brooks Brothers store, I decided to walk a bit further and to my chagrin... a wine bar!!! The bartender was a bit slowful at first but the experience turned out to be pretty stellar...

The food was fabulous and very fresh. i also enjoyd two glasses of red from a wide array of choices..high and low were available. Like a wine bar..there were various pour sizes with a spectrum of prices. It was definitely a great place for a lay-over.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimi823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLEWOOD
Level Contributor
224 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise to find a real restaurant at an Airport.”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I don't suppose you would schedule a layover in Houston just to eat here, but if you were in the airport, it's worth a trip over to Le Grand Comptoir. OMG they have every kind of wine that's sold in Texas, and a limited--but excellent--menu.

Name your wine and pick a tastey entree. Play with your smart phone or computer while you wait for the meal. We had almost 2 hours between flights and spent it there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnglewoodDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great airport restaurant...”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I missed my flight and ran into this place. It is awesome! Fresh food and Earl the bartender was great. Also, very fast service. A+

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OscarColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
410 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“good wine bar/food in IAH Terminal C”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

More and more airports are upping their dining options and those now seem to include at least one wine bar serving reasonable food. Le Grand Comptoir, Houston Bush Intercontinental's entry in that space in Terminal C, is a small restaurant with an extensive by-the-glass selection (in various sizes of pours) along with a good food selection including appetizers, salads, flat breads, larger entrees and dessert.

While we mostly order the Pancetta and Caramelized Onion Flatbread and sometimes one of the salads, I wouldn't hesitate to give any of their offerings a try. Wines on the lower end of the price range tend to be perfectly acceptable wines at fairly reasonable prices. But wine prices quickly escalate to considerable heights if you want to go there. Definitely worth a visit if wanting a bite before/after your flight.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sazeracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Grand Comptoir also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Le Grand Comptoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing