We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Houston Hilton Americas woth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Americas - Houston
Ranked #8 of 507 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dallas, United States
2 reviews
“Houston Hilton Americas woth a visit”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Overall the hotel was solid and the location can't be beat. The parking was overpriced for a non-event weekday compared to the other hotels. An the biggest pain is that this location doesn't put your bill under the door in the AM for quick checkout

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Warren Russell ... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Warren Russell,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

As a Green Seal certified hotel, receipts are sent electronically via e-mail and can also be retrieved through your Hilton Honors account. We do continue to deliver receipts if requested and can do so on your next visit.

Mr. Needles, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,724
    792
    154
    32
    4
See reviews for
394
419
131
1,442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Great place to stay in Houston, especially if you are going to the convention center, Minute Maid Park, or Toyota Center. Would recommend this place to anyone! Great feel and definitely great staff. Can be little on the high side price wise, but if you book intelligently it can be quite affordable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Andrew G,

Thank you for sharing your great experience with others on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was the best experience I have had on any business trip yet. The hotel is clean, the staff friendly and the room extremely quiet. Ask for one of the end rooms and you hear no foot traffic or slamming doors. If fitness is your thing they have an impressive gym with state of the art equipment and tv's built into the equipement. I highly recommend this hotel even if it is a couple blocks further from your office.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Laurie A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Laurie A M,

Thank you for sharing your best experience on a business trip with others on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate the compliments and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I can see why people love this hotel-----being one of the few completely new (i.e. built from scratch) hotels in the downtown Houston area, this hotel is quite attractive with it's public spaces (lobby, bar, dining areas) and rooms. But people should be aware that this is a convention hotel and as such will be quite busy and possibly quite noisy if you're not attending a convention. In my case, I had the misfortune of being there while the Archdiose of Galveston had some sort of youth event----too bad they didn't teach their kids the "silence is golden rule" as I heard nothing but banging doors early in the morning (why should the kids care, they didn't pay for the room and I'm sure they do it at home too).

There is a very large front desk/check in area and it was adequately staffed. While the check-in associate was friendly, she lacked some basic customer service skills (probably because she was a college student and this wasn't her career). For example, while I laid out my HHonors card and Credit Card at first, she proceeded to ask my for my address when she could've simply looked it up with my HHonors account. Nit picky I'm sure but when I returned 10 minutes later to let her know that I couldn't get into my room as it was locked from the inside, she told me to go back and wait for security for assistance. Now, most people with good customer service would apologize and offer some sort of remedy (maybe another room, a free drink, breakfast???). Not her. This was my and security's problem to deal with. Luckily both the security person (a very nice lady whose name I didn't get) and the maintenance person (Gustavo) were extremely helpful. Too bad they didn't work the front desk.

The room was very nice, clean, comfortable and new. The bathroom was large and clean and I liked the in-room coffee maker but was disappointed there was no fridge. There might have been one and a minibar but the cabinet was locked and I wasn't given a key so I'm not sure. I had a beautiful view of downtown Houston so that was a plus.

They have an excellent fitness center on the 22nd floor that is part of their spa called Skyline. It's almost as big as some local gyms with plenty of cardio equipment and weight machines. One floor up (accessible by stairs too if you want) is their pool which I didn't use due to all the kids.

The hotel is within walking distance of restaurants and bars (the House of Blues is a few blocks away) but there is also a city bus during the day that can take you around. There were a lot of Hilton shuttle buses outside but I have no idea where they went (the convention center?) as there was no information about them. There are also a few computers in the lobby if you need to access your email or print out a boarding pass. I'm not sure if wifi was free or if there was a charge as I didn't use it.

The prices at the bar/restaurant are definitely hotel and convention prices-----$3.25 for a small cup of coffee that I could get for half that price at the Starbucks down the street (albeit several blocks away). But again this is a convention hotel so either be prepared for that or drive/walk nearby to get your food and drink. My only suggestion to management (and actually for all convention hotels) is that they consider blocking of whole floors of rooms for their convention clients so that non-convention guests like myself don't have to endure the inconsiderate noise from our neighbors. Just something to think about.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Manico,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for the noise disturbance and your key not working properly. We have shared your feedback with our team.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Well we decided to go on a mini trip to Houston. We were going to the James Terrell exhibit at the MFA. We thought it's just for one night, let's try to name our price. We did and we got a $189 room for $80 bucks...night bad, aay?. This was a top notch Hotel. From the entryway to the room it was nothing but class. The room overlooked the city, with spectacular views of downtown Houston. The rooftop pool, sauna and overlook patio was our favorite. We were there until they came to close down the pool area at 11 PM. In closing this way a great hotel, and at a even greater price.!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodneyroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Rodneyroe,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor and your very high ratings on our cleanliness, service, value and sleep quality.

We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Hilton Americas hotel, like many other Hilton properties, is clean, well-maintained, quiet, has accessible adjoining parking, is well-equipped with fitness and restaurant facilities, and is centrally located. The staff are well-trained and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Siva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Siva A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience at the Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor for others to read.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turin, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Very good! It was very conveniently located for the event, but also very well run, clean, quiet. I really enjoyed my stay and hope to come back again soon Thanks for the opportunity to fill the survey

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Marisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Marisa P,

Thank you for sharing your enjoyable stay with others on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you staying with us and hope to continue to be your hotel of choice when visiting Houston.

Regards,

Hilton Americas-Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 507 in Houston
1,433 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 507 in Houston
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 507 in Houston
1,647 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Americas - Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Americas - Houston

Property: Hilton Americas - Houston
Address: 1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010-5012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Houston
#1 Green Hotel in Houston
#3 Spa Hotel in Houston
#5 Business Hotel in Houston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Americas - Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Americas-Houston, conveniently located in the heart of downtown Houston, Texas, is directly connected via two indoor sky-bridges to the George R. Brown Convention Center, and offers 1,200 luxurious guestrooms, including four Presidential Suites and 36 one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. This AAA Four Diamond rated hotel was newly renovated in 2011. Featuring 1600 Bar + Grille for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the very popular Lobby Bar, the State of Texas' largest Starbucks serving the Reserve selections, Pappasito's Cantina, In-Room Dining, the full service Skyline Spa & Health Club and FedEx Office. With 91,500 square feet of technologically advanced, flexible meeting space, including the 40,000 square foot Lanier Grand Ballroom, divisible into 12 independent spaces, the 26,000 square foot Ballroom of the Americas, divisible into six independent spaces, plus 10,000 square feet of invitingly usable pre-function space, Hilton Americas-Houston is the perfect meeting place for any group and awarded one of the world's best business hotels for 2013 by Travel + Leisure magazine. Hilton Americas-Houston is the proud recipient of Hilton Hotels & Resorts Award of Excellence for service and quality for six consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Americas - Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Americas - Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston
Hilton Americas Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing