We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience for Hilton Honors members!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Americas - Houston
Ranked #6 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome experience for Hilton Honors members!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved this hotel. It made our stay in Houston worry-free and relaxing. We are Diamond HHonors members and therefore got a room on the 19th (top) floor with an awesome view of the city. The breakfast, appetizers, snacks, and drinks in the Executive Lounge were perfect. Always fresh, and enough choice to keep it interesting. This is probably one of the largest Executive Lounges we've seen, with 3-4 different TV viewing areas, and tons of space to spread out.

Our room was clean and modern, with a spacious bathroom and nice amenities like robes and slippers. The highlight of our trip was meeting an Executive Concierge named Joe Guerra. Joe provided invaluable local information to us about area restaurants, prominent Houston families, and the layout of downtown Houston. He was funny, warm, welcoming, and extremely helpful. We would be delighted to see him again in the future.

Room Tip: Stay in a room facing the park, you can see the entire city! We were on the 19th floor facing the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiemonster1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear cookiemonster1908,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such detail on you awesome experience at the Hilton Americas-Houston on TripAdvisor.

We are very appreciative of our Hilton Honors Diamond guests and the loyalty they have to Hilton Worldwide. We are pleased you enjoyed the recognition and benefits of being a Hilton Honors Diamond guest at our hotel.

Thank you for your special acknowledgement of Joe Guerra in our Executive Level Lounge. We have shared your review with him and our team. He was very appreciative of your remarks.

We thank you for staying with us and your continued loyalty.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,650
    766
    148
    29
    3
See reviews for
372
407
122
1,386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I've had to stay at many hotels attached to convention centers but this one stood out....in a good way!!! It is a massive hotel but that may help in that it never felt crowded. Very modern, extremely friendly staff that acted like they really cared to have you as a guest. Spacious rooms that were clean and well presented. Restaurants were typical which means high priced but good food. I would welcome coming back to this property. One warning, if you are flying into Bush (NOT Hobby) it is about a $60 cab ride. But on your way back to the airport, the hotel will provide a limo service for approx. the same cost as a cab if you arrange in advance.

Room Tip: Get a high room. Nice views and away from the ground floor outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Doug L,

Thank you for sharing your great Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor with other travelers.

Our goal is for all of our guests to feel cared for valued and respected and we appreciate knowing when we have achieved this goal.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Average service, food choice not what one would expect from the Hilton chain. Room is noisy at night because of the vents on the floor below. Much better service and value with Hilton in Asia. The hotel is out of the business centre there are few shops around, so the location is pretty average. The staff are helpful and try to help, the hotel should provide a shuttle service if it wants to attract customers. It costs about $30 to get to the Galleria, if you are a tourist you would be better of staying around the Galleria.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Stan F,

Thank you for your feedback and recognizing our helpful staff. We do apologize that you felt your experience was average. While we should not be compared with "hotels in Asia" as their markets are very different, we certainly want to be the best hotel in our market and one of the best in the United States. We are honored that Travel + Leisure readers recently voted the Hilton Americas-Houston as one of the best business hotels in the world for 2013.

We are conveniently located next to the George R. Brown Convention Center (the only hotel in Houston connected to the George R. Brown Convention Center via two sky bridges), across the street from the Toyota Center (Home of the Houston Rockets and great concerts) and Discovery Green, close to Minute Maid Park (Home of the Houston Astros), a very short few blocks away from Greenstreet and the new BBVA Compass Stadium (Home of the Houston Dynamo). We are also not far from the museum and theater districts. We also offer complimentary shuttle service to all hotel guests from 6 am – 11 pm around the local area which includes service to the many local offices and corporate headquarters in the Downtown area that are not far from the hotel.

It is unlikely you will find any hotels in Downtown that provide complimentary shuttle service to the Galleria. In addition to taxi services, the Metro bus route #81, #82 and #53 will also go to the Galleria at a cost of $1.25 each way.

Mr. Filippis, thank you again for your review and do hope we have another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The Hilton Americas is a nice facility. The rooms are comfortable and up-to-date, and the restaurant is OK. But, it attracts large meetings and is often swarmed with conventioneers. The bar and restaurant are often crowded. It is not the best place for the "road warrior" business traveler who wants more quiet and privacy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank FoxRunMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear FoxRunMan,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Hilton Americas-Houston.

We really want our guests to receive personalized service no matter how many guests we serve or how large the convention we are hosting. We are sorry that you did not experience this during your stay.

We are looking forward to Pappasito's Cantina opening in mid 2014. This will definitely enhance and improve the bar and restaurant experience for our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed for four days at the hotel and was impressed with the quality of their service. The location of the hotel is very central for both business or for exploration of the area in general. The staff at Executive Lounge is very courteous. It is spacious and has a great ambiance. The food served is excellent and offers rich variety. The only thing which disappointed me was that the hotel did not volunteer to help me take my bags to my room and I would have appreciated this at the end of long travel from India to Houston.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Romil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Romil K,

Thank you for sharing the excellent hospitality you received during your stay at the Hilton Americas-Houston on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

It's pretty much what you'd expect from a Hilton, just bigger. Very nice, comfortable rooms, a beautiful lobby, and a convenient location. Try the Grove Restaurant right across the street. Drinks in the hotel bar are very expensive, as you might imagine. Breakfast at the coffee shop was not great. Avoid the parfaits. Parking is across the street. There is a skyway from the garage to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaytonDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear DaytonDave,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston and recognizing the service our team we provided you during your stay with us.

We appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Don't be roped into the convient location to George R. Brown Center. Valet not busy, ignored approx 7min. Husband unloaded our luggage. Head valet alerted, agreed on no charge for parking. Upon check out still on bill after,management confirmed via phone. Front desk staff inadequate. Housekeeping staff was friendly, rooms clean. The cafe staff were over the top with service. Management issue for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalamoose64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear lalamoose64,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay through TripAdvisor.

Our apology for the poor valet service you received and we have reviewed this with Ace Parking Management who we partner with on valet services. We have tried to reach your through the TripAdvisor messaging service in order to personally apologize. We certainly do not want any guest leaving feeling "jilted".

As you may read from other reviews, providing great service is very important to us and we will use your comments to improve.

Thank you for staying with us and again for your feedback. We do hope you give us another opportunity in the future.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 504 in Houston
1,364 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 504 in Houston
356 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 504 in Houston
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Americas - Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Americas - Houston

Property: Hilton Americas - Houston
Address: 1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010-5012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Houston
#1 Green Hotel in Houston
#2 Spa Hotel in Houston
#5 Business Hotel in Houston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Americas - Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Americas-Houston, conveniently located in the heart of downtown Houston, Texas, is directly connected via two indoor sky-bridges to the George R. Brown Convention Center, and offers 1,200 luxurious guestrooms, including four Presidential Suites and 36 one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. This AAA Four Diamond rated hotel was newly renovated in 2011. Featuring 1600 Bar + Grille for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the very popular Lobby Bar, the State of Texas' largest Starbucks serving the Reserve selections, Pappasito's Cantina, In-Room Dining, the full service Skyline Spa & Health Club and FedEx Office. With 91,500 square feet of technologically advanced, flexible meeting space, including the 40,000 square foot Lanier Grand Ballroom, divisible into 12 independent spaces, the 26,000 square foot Ballroom of the Americas, divisible into six independent spaces, plus 10,000 square feet of invitingly usable pre-function space, Hilton Americas-Houston is the perfect meeting place for any group and awarded one of the world's best business hotels for 2013 by Travel + Leisure magazine. Hilton Americas-Houston is the proud recipient of Hilton Hotels & Resorts Award of Excellence for service and quality for six consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Americas - Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Americas - Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston
Hilton Americas Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing