We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Americas - Houston
Ranked #7 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Thought this would be standard drab expo center hotel - but hotel ended up being very nice and almost boutiquey! Service was good and rooms were really nice. Check-in line was quick. Was a bit confusing getting from the elevators to the parking but a sweet employee in the souvenir shop pointed us in the right direction - loved her! Would come back and spend more time in the area as it seemed there was a cute park across the street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Tanya A,

Thank you for your feedback and we were pleased to read that your experience was much better than you had expected.

We appreciate you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Houston.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,158 - 2,164 of 3,007 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was attending a conference that was being held at the Hilton Americas in Houston. This hotel is nice, and the staff were outstanding, but the rooms seemed to be lacking amenities that I consider to be requirements.

The hotel in-room Wi-Fi was available for an extra charge, but my phone and tablet got free Wi-Fi because they are AT&T devices. The room didn't have a fridge. Both of these things are provided for no charge at other Hiltons.

The staff at the hotel were outstanding. They were always setup on time for the conference and provided excellent conference support. The location is very nice, right next to a park and not very far from the ballpark.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkolosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear rkolosky,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Americas-Houston experience on TripAdvisor and recognizing the great service our team provided you during your stay.

Internet is complimentary to AT&T U-verse subscribers such as yourself. In addition, complimentary internet is provided to all Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond Level guests, those staying in our executive Level rooms, and in our hotel lobby, restaurant and bars. We encourage all of our guests to join the Hilton Honors program in order to receive this great benefit.

We do have refrigerators in many of our guests rooms and we are in the process in completing he installation to the rest of our guest rooms. in the interim, refrigerators are available on a complimentary basis when requested.

Mr. Kolosky, thank you again for your review. We appreciate you staying with us.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I had the best hotel experience during my stay at this Hilton Hotel. The staff was very accomodating in all areas of the hotel. The food served at our conference sessions was great and unique in terms of how the chefs created their own flavors to apply to eat meal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Kevin K,

Thank you for sharing your excellent hotel and culinary experience with others on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure serving you.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I was well taken care of by all of the staff. I'm handicapped and whenever I was in need they were right there. A very professional and polite staff. The room was excellent. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bellman was very helpful. His name was Ocie M. I will never forget my experience. Thank you
Eugene Vos

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Eugene V,

Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize our caring staff and specifically mentioning Ocie McQueen from our Bell team.

We have shared your experience with our team and passed along our appreciation for the service they provided you.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again soon.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

very nice property, great scenery inside and out, plus the location is awesome as well, right in the middle of everything in downtown houston and not to mention the very friendly staff that helps you from the moment you check in even up to when its check out time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We loved this Hilton Americas. The shuttle service was prompt and polite. The breakfast staff and food were excellent. The room was clean (very important). The bed was comfortable. We will most definitely return to Hilton Americas when we are in Houston.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Cody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Last weekend my husband and I stayed at the Hilton Americas. Upon arrival at the hotel we were impressed by the valet staff. They were very friendly and directed us where to go. Check in could have been a little better. I booked the room through Priceline at $70 a night which was a steal! I called 1 hr after booking to request a king bed non smoking room and was told by a gentleman in reservations that my request would be accommodated. Unfortunately, that was not the case when I arrived. They apparently "sold out" of king beds before I arrived which annoyed me especially since I was told when making my request that they had more than enough. We paid for a king room but received a room with two queen beds and a park view which the front desk clerk Vivienne considered an "upgrade". Me..not so much.

Pros: The room was very clean which I loved. We also loved the fitness center. It was also clean and had great equipment in working order. The terrace on the 24th floor overlooking the city was beautiful. We got a lot of great photos up there. We had dinner in the Cafe our first night. The food was delicious and the service was exceptional. Sean, our waiter took great care of us. The chicken tortilla soup was scrumptious!

Cons: Charged for internet 14.95/ day and parking is $20 self parking, $32 valet
One other issue we had was with our keys. They were unpredictable. Sometimes they wouldn't work in the parking garage card reader, sometimes they would. We had to swipe them and hope for the best. It was really chaotic to have to have cars behind us back up so that we could change lanes to go to the cashier instead. The cashier said that we didn't pay for self parking so keys wouldn't work. When we got to the front desk, clerk Leah stated that we paid for self parking at arrival and had already been charged so she didn't know why the cashier said that. Apparently there was some miscommunication between the people at the front desk and the cashier in the garage. The next afternoon we had problems getting into our room, had the keys rekeyed again still couldn't get in. It turned out that the batteries in the card reader at the door were dead. We had to wait 20 minutes to get in the room. I made 3 trips to the front desk for the stupid keys alone. The door batteries dying could not been avoided but the keys not working in the garage was due to the front desk failing to rekey our keys with the self parking option as they did on day 1.

Overall we had a good stay with a few kinks. Would it deter me from coming back, no. I would revisit. I will say if you want a specific type of room make sure you shout it from the rooftop to make sure your request is granted. We were too tired to argue about our room situation after driving 5 hrs to get to the hotel. We were just ready to go to bed. Anything would have sufficed at that point.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmericas, Manager at Hilton Americas - Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Brittany C,

Thank you for providing feedback on your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry for the challenges you experienced with your keys, guest room door lock and parking. We have reviewed your comments with our team in order to have this corrected. Thank you for not allowing these items to deter you from returning. We do wnat our guests to know that we want them to have a great experience and will make things right if corrections need to be made.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Jacques D'Rovencourt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 517 in Houston
561 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Marriott Marquis Houston
Marriott Marquis Houston
#31 of 517 in Houston
470 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#32 of 517 in Houston
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Americas - Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Americas - Houston

Address: 1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010-5012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Houston
#1 Green Hotel in Houston
#2 Spa Hotel in Houston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#5 Business Hotel in Houston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £123 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Americas - Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Americas-Houston, conveniently located in the heart of downtown Houston, Texas, is directly connected via two indoor sky-bridges to the George R. Brown Convention Center, and offers 1,200 luxurious guestrooms, including four Presidential Suites and 36 one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites. This AAA Four Diamond rated hotel features 1600 Bar + Grille for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the very popular Lobby Bar, the State of Texas' largest Starbucks serving the Reserve selections, Pappasito's Cantina, In-Room Dining, the full service Skyline Spa & Health Club and FedEx Office. With 91,500 square feet of flexible meeting space, including the 40,000 square foot Lanier Grand Ballroom, the Hilton Americas-Houston is the perfect meeting place for any group and awarded one of the world's best business hotels for 2013 by Travel + Leisure magazine. Hilton Americas-Houston is the proud recipient of Hilton Hotels & Resorts Award of Excellence for service and quality for six consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Americas - Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Americas - Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston
Hilton Americas Hotel Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing