We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine boutique hotel on the edge of downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Ranked #24 of 516 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
694 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Fine boutique hotel on the edge of downtown”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This small boutique hotel located in a old bank building has alot of class. The rooms are nicely appointed, the staff attentive and the restaurant and bar high end and classy. The only downside is its location on the north edge of downtown which can be a bit seedy. But the hotel has a shuttle that will take you just about anywhere and the train station is across the street so no need to venture too far. Its great for couples celebrating or an overnight for a ballgame or convention. And you can sometimes score some great rates too, which is a bonus!

Room Tip: Get a room up high and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Hotel ICON is located at the North end of Houston’s downtown district. The area is redeveloping and it is exciting. New bars, restaurants and businesses are moving in monthly. A Historic district of Houston that is growing and alive. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your future stay s so you can see the differences each time.

Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    306
    90
    41
    34
See reviews for
129
381
79
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the ICON on Friday after our wedding. We were helped by Mia, Tiffini, and Kate. From the moment we walked in we were in awe by how sweet everyone was and not to mention we had such a nice time talking to them. We were telling everyone how our parents stayed at the ICON after their wedding so we are continuing the tradition. Kate one of the managers even worked some magic and got us into the executive suite for our first night of the rest of our lives! The room was BEAUTIFUL. The customer service was absolutely amazing all the way until we left! When we went out to take a picture at La Carafe, we got back to our room with te sweetest message from Mia, Kate, and Tiffini with two rubber duckies that had wedding outfits on! I now know what hotel I will be staying at for all my needs when we are in need of one in downtown Houston!!!! Thank you ICON for making our wedding night so memorable and filled with so much love!!!! Y'all rock!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Congratulations on your wedding! Those ducks will stay together forever. We are so happy to be a part of your family tradition. Thank you for sharing your story and letting us know how our team is doing. I will make sure I pass on your warm wishes to Mia, Tiffany and Kate.

Best of luck to you. We hope to see you back for your anniversary!

Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel Icon for our anniversary. The hotel surprised us with a bottle of champagne and strawberries & cream. Great service, nice room, good price, good location- close to bars and restaurants. They have a shuttle to area restaurants too. Highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thewife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Happy Anniversary! Hotel ICON is the place to celebrate. Thank you for your kind words and review of the Hotel. We hope to see you next year, and the year after that and after that... forever! I am so happy you enjoyed your special day.

Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a wonderful overnight stay at the Hotel Icon. It was just a quick spur of the moment idea since we were heading to see the Astros that night. We live on the outskirts of Houston so it was not a "trip", just a spontaneous idea to do something fun and different...to get away from it all for a night! I googled "most romantic hotel in Houston" and Hotel Icon was #1 on TripAdvisor. I didn't need to look any further! It was within walking distance to the ball park, had great reviews, the price was right, so I booked it as a surprise for my hubby. Told him to pack a bag for the game and surprised him. We loved our short stay! The most romantic hotel in Houston was an accurate description. The whirlpool tub was perfect. The room was cozy and comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The buffet breakfast had anything you could want. I have a feeling we'll be back! We did not use the swimming pool or spa services so I could not rate that. Everything else was top notch!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Staycations are the best, even if it is just for 1 Night. Thank you for sharing your story with our other guests. I am very proud of Hotel ICON and it makes me happy to hear how others enjoy their stay! Go Astros!

Steve GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stumbled across this hotel because it came up on our Marriott Signature hotel list. We were in town for a girls getaway weekend. The staff at the front desk were wonderful- they even brought up a few drink tickets since they knew we were on a girls weekend. Then they gave us ideas where to eat and recognized us the next morning and asked how our evening was.
The lobby and hotel is very iconic and swanky looking- we loved all the nooks and crannies in our room.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyB701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your Girls Weekend with us at Hotel ICON. We are very proud of our Hotel and love to hear what others think of it. We look forward to having you back for another girls night out at Hotel ICON. Please contact us to plan your next stay!!!

Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was technically a fine hotel, but practically speaking it just lacked that something special that would have me return. hard to put my finger on - the room was very large, actually too large to feel comfortable. Layout felt awkward, as did the public rooms downstairs. Must be a fung shui thing.

Room Tip: I was not a fan of my room - layout and size was very awkward. Best to ask the staff which rooms th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our rooms are large. We do offer various sized accommodations and we are happy to move you into a smaller room next time if that meets your needs. As a renovated historic building, we do have issues with how the building was built in the early 1900's, however we are very proud of what has been done to our facility. I do hope that you try us again as we strive to make sure all our guests enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for my nephew's wedding and were treated royally from the moment we entered. The rooms are sooo comfortable, the staff very accommodating, and the ambience - perfect!!
My daughter and son-in-law were in a handicap accessible room without a tub; so, I asked for a room change for their second night and John was able to move them a few doors down on the same floor to enjoy the unbelievable bathrooms with the huge soaking tub and amazing shower.
The only complaint I have is that late night when we arrived back at the hotel after wedding events, and wanted a "night cap", there was only one bartender to about 30 people. A little frustrating. Also, for breakfast on Sunday, the staff seemed a little inexperienced and overwhelmed. It took an hour to get served and the food was not hot.
The next day, however, server was very attentive and food was good.
Thank you, Hotel Icon, for a very nice weekend. I would definitely recommend your hotel to anyone. My husband found a running path that he loved, and I enjoyed a nice morning walk downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollypnorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_ICON_GM, General Manager at Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your great comments. I am happy that you enjoyed your time with us at Hotel ICON. This is a comfortable place with historic facilities. Thank you for your feedback on staffing levels. We will definitely look into that as we are here to provide outstanding guest service!

Steve GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 516 in Houston
1,485 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#33 of 516 in Houston
2,805 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 516 in Houston
455 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 516 in Houston
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Address: 220 Main St, Houston, TX 77002-1706
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
#33 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing