We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location in downtown Houston.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Houston Downtown
Ranked #34 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good location in downtown Houston.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

If you're a baseball fan then this hotel is right next to Minute Maid Park. It is also close (walking distance) to downtown. The hotel has recently been taken over by Starwood and they have some a very nice job of refurbishing. Bar staff are very friendly and gave us lots of ideas for things to do.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigeltaylor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    117
    33
    14
    13
See reviews for
56
104
23
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel use to go by "The Inn at the Ballpark". It is now managed by the Westin and the improvements make it a first rate hotel! Not that the old was bad, mind you...just a little too "citchy" with the ballpark theme! The updates to the lobby and rooms are very nice. Well done folks!

Room Tip: They are all about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I had a one night stay at the Westin Houston Downtown with my partner. It was a Friday so parking is FREE after 6pm downtown Houston. Check in was easy, the young lady gave us a high floor and answered all the questions we asked. The room was amazing, spacious with great decor, the shower head was a rain shower head if i'm not mistaken. We walked down to the Pavilion and had dinner at McCormick and Schmick, which took us about 7 to 10 minutes. It was a great night out so it reminded me of the late night walks in New York City that me and my friends used to take. The bed was beyond comfortable, and the view was spectacular. The best part was the breakfast downstairs in the restaurant, we had the buffet and everything was fresh. After breakfast we took another walk to Discovery Green which was literally 5 minutes away. Just thinking about our stay makes me want to book another stay-cation. Overall I would most definitely recommend this property to anyone staying downtown Houston. I do not know how the Inn at the Ballpark was, but I can tell you the Westin is here to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarkeInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

As title says, we stayed here on NYE and we liked it. It's clean and they have a good selection for breakfast, also room was spacious and bathroom with rain showers and bathrobes, etc. (no slippers). One thing bothered us, service was very slow. We asked for a remote for the TV because there was none in the room and it took 30 mins to deliver, later we asked for a bottle of champagne and when it did not arrive after over 30 mins we had to cancel because we had to leave to the NYE party. I don't know if this is a regular thing, I will blame it on the fact that the hotel was probably full, but from someone like the Westin I expect more experience and knowledge on how and when to supplement their staff to cover the extra guests.
The hotel is pet friendly for who would like to know.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiviaDrusilla11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I had wanted to get away over christmas and see the Texas Bowl, in keeping with the sports theme I picked this hotel while it was still the Inn at the ballpark, it has since changed hamds and been refurbished. First impression on walking into the lobby were superb, these impressions were backed up by every facet of my stay. The service from the staff was first rate, quick efficient checkin, the service in the restaurant was never anything but first rate. My room was well appointed, clean, the bed was really comfortable.Great AC and the overhead fan is an awesome touch. As for location, it is as good as possible for downtown, 5 minutes to the convention centre or the Toyota Centre, 10-15 minutes to main street and the metrorail 20 minutes to Bayou place. Of course Minute Maid Park is literally across the street.
I do my research on line as we all do,so it is rare for a hotel to exceed expectation but this one did.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norton_lees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

First of all I got a great deal on Priceline for this hotel. I was skeptical at first because we got such a great deal but when my husband and I walked up to the hotel and inside after a night out we were blown away. Not only was the hotel decorated for Christmas but it just had a warm feeling to it. When we checked in the women was very accommodating and have us a corner room on the 11th floor. The beds were so comfortable and for once at a hotel, NO NOISE! This hotel truly was the perfect ending to a great night! Thank you Westin!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kileymarie4591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
263 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

i was so impressed how they kept this hotel clean. from the reception are, to the elavator and most of all the room. bathroom is super clean too. had enough supply to take a shower. comfortable bed and easy temperature control. had no problems checking in and out, fast service. location is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakisobol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#22 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,761 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Houston Downtown

Property: The Westin Houston Downtown
Address: 1520 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#64 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#75 Family Hotel in Houston
#109 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Houston Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Houston Downtown,formerly Inn at the Ballpark, is conveniently located near many of Houston's attractions including George R. Brown Convention Center, Discovery Green (one of Houston's most visited parks), and for fans of the arts, The Hobby Center for the Performing Arts and the Houston Symphony. Treat yourself to a baseball game at Minute Maid Park, a concert at the Toyota Center, or a soccer match at the BBVA Compass Stadium - all located within blocks of our downtown Houston hotel.Our goal is that you leave our Houston Downtown hotel feeling better than when you arrived - stay on top of work in the business center, power up at your pace in our Westin Workout Fitness Studio, or eat well in our award winning restaurant, Vic & Anthony's. Enjoy traditional charm and inspiring views in any of our 200 guest rooms and suites, featuring 14' ceilings and ceiling fans. Work at the modern desk or relax on the leather furniture. Get a blissful night’s rest on your Westin Heavenly Bed®, and refresh with premium bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Ballpark Hotel Houston
Hotel At The Ballpark
At The Ballpark Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing