We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Houston Downtown
Ranked #34 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I had business in Houston and decided to stay at the Westin Downtown as opposed to out by the Galleria where I usually stay. This hotel was much better than I expected. I have stayed at the Westin Galleria and the Westin Oaks Galleria and I expected the downtown hotel to be similar. I was better appointed then the others, closer in style and feel to the St. Regis Houston, which is where I usually stay. I found the staff very friendly and had really a perfect stay. I had dinner in the bar the first night and the food was better than expected. The rooms were very clean. Valet was prompt. It is clear that this hotel is well managed. I am returning to the Houston area again in two weeks and already booked the return. I would definitely recommend it if your travels put you in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Martin B.:

Thank you very much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown! We truly appreciate your feedback and I have already shared with our team! We look forward to seeing you in 2 weeks! Please feel free to reach out to me personally should you need anything prior to your arrival.

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    117
    33
    14
    13
See reviews for
56
104
23
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Beautiful building. Sleek and modern. Room was very nice and clean. The staff so polite. Our pets were given dog beds, food and water bowls to use and given new toys to keep. Service was exceptional!! I was so impressed with everything. No pool unfortunately.

Room Tip: Reserve in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Rose V.;

Thank you very much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown! I have passed your review on to our staff and I will make sure to personally thank the team! We hope that you and your puppy's next visits to Houston bring you back to The Westin Houston Downtown! Please feel free to reach out to me if I may assist you further!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed a week at this hotel for business and was very (pleasantly) surprised by the caliber of service and accommodations. Nice, large sized rooms, very clean in all areas, free bottle of water in the room and the room service was good at well. And the staff was excellent and went out of their way to be helpful, overall a great experience. The only "cons" so to speak are the charge for wireless in the room (not a deal breaker) and the location - downtown is just dead after about 5pm and there isn't much around. But still a great hotel that I would definitely stay at again.

Room Tip: I had a corner room which was very spacious and quiet as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Vagnier:

Thank you very much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown! We truly appreciate your feedback! We hope that your next visits to Houston bring you back to The Westin Houston Downtown! Please let me know if I may assist you further!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were impressed by this recently updated Starwood property. The staff and accommodations exceeded our expectations. The hotel was extremely quiet and the a basic room with "heavenly" double beds did not disappoint. Each room has complimentary Starbucks coffee and a refrigerator. Our bathroom had a standard bath tub and complimentary hair dryer. You are in walking distance of Minute Maid Ball Park and a great Starbucks. The lobby bar is a perfect meeting place for a pre dinner cocktail. There is also a five star steakhouse next door. Kudos to the staff who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: 3rd and 4th floors were extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendydomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Wendydomin:

Thank you very much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown! We truly appreciate your feedback and will share with the staff! We hope that your next visits to Houston bring you to The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Westin is a lovely boutique hotel next to the ballpark in downtown Houston. The rooms are nicely furnished and very modern looking. The beds and linens are comfortable and fresh. There are refrigerators in the rooms but no microwaves and no guest laundry facilities. Housekeeping was excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful. There is a complimentary shuttle for the downtown area. The food at the restaurant was better than most hotel venues and moderately priced. This hotel does not have any outside common space or free wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby. The area around the hotel is a bit seedy with some panhandling going on. If you are going to a ballgame or in Houston for business, it is the perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cltutell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Cltutell:

Thank you very much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown! I will be sure to pass your review on to our staff! We hope that your next visits to Houston bring you back to The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Excellent staff, excellent food, exquisite interior design. If you are staying in Houston, you would be wise to stay at the Westin Downtown. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful, the chef's are fantastic, and you are within walking distance of a Starbucks, Deutsch Bank and Chase Bank.

Because of this hotel, my unexpected 3 day delay on my way to the east coast was easy, worry free and comfortable. I will be staying here again the next time I visit Houston.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Austen A:

Thank you very much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown! We truly appreciate your feedback and will share with the team! We hope that your next travels to Houston bring you to The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel was gorgeous!! My room was one of the largest I ever had beyond being a suite and II loved the ceiling fan - it was the perfect touch! It was nice being able to see Astros stadium from my window as well, what a perfect touch of scenery! Although I didnt order breakfast, their menu was incredible and had so many healthy options. I will stay here again if I am ever back for business!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Travelife22:

Thank you very much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown! We truly appreciate your feedback and will share with the team. We hope that your next business trips bring you back to The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#22 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Houston Downtown

Property: The Westin Houston Downtown
Address: 1520 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#64 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#75 Family Hotel in Houston
#109 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Houston Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Houston Downtown,formerly Inn at the Ballpark, is conveniently located near many of Houston's attractions including George R. Brown Convention Center, Discovery Green (one of Houston's most visited parks), and for fans of the arts, The Hobby Center for the Performing Arts and the Houston Symphony. Treat yourself to a baseball game at Minute Maid Park, a concert at the Toyota Center, or a soccer match at the BBVA Compass Stadium - all located within blocks of our downtown Houston hotel.Our goal is that you leave our Houston Downtown hotel feeling better than when you arrived - stay on top of work in the business center, power up at your pace in our Westin Workout Fitness Studio, or eat well in our award winning restaurant, Vic & Anthony's. Enjoy traditional charm and inspiring views in any of our 200 guest rooms and suites, featuring 14' ceilings and ceiling fans. Work at the modern desk or relax on the leather furniture. Get a blissful night’s rest on your Westin Heavenly Bed®, and refresh with premium bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Ballpark Hotel Houston
Hotel At The Ballpark
At The Ballpark Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing