We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Astros”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Houston Downtown
Ranked #37 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We chose to stay here to attend an Astros game and it was the perfect location. The hotel is kitty corner from the ballpark- you couldn't get any closer. The downside was that we came in on a game day and the street was closed off so we had to figure out how to come in the back way. So find out about game times if you are driving in. Check in also took a little longer post game as well, but wasn't terrible. Our room was clean and spacious. However, Internet is not free in-room, you have to go to the lobby for free internet. Since so many hotels offer free internet, I'm always surprised when one doesn't. We used the shuttle service to go to dinner one night and it was quick and efficient. Our shuttle driver was very friendly.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Houston Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is very nice. It is not extra elegant or luxurious, but the rooms are large and nicely decorated. The beds are great and the service was excellent. The only drawback is its downtown location. If you need to be downtown, fine. If you want a nice neighborhood experience, this is not for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had a little difficulty getting checked in because our reservations were made through another party and we required one king room and one with two doubles as our daughter, son in law and two,grandkids were not expected to share a king bed. Apparently no doubles were available on our arrival but fortunately a gentleman checking in at the same time was willing to switch rooms which would allow him to check in sooner. Thank heavens for nice pele. Hotel did offer to give them extra sheets and blankets, but still 4 to a king bed isn't a good thing. Other than that, our stay was without any issues. Food was good, room service fairly priced, staff very courteous. We spent quite a bit of time wAiting for meetings on the lobby and our server, Sophia, was more than accommodating. She anticipated our needs and was very attentive. No pool was disappointing for kids. Rooms, beds very comfortable. Plenty of towels, etc. would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The Westin Houston Downtown is great. It brings the level of service and attention to detail that you'd expect from the brand. I stayed on business and the staff was fantastic and attentive. This hotel also has a decent fitness center with new equipment.
After a workout or to unwind after the day, stop by the bar to see Sofia or Christine. They're terrific and a pleasure to chat with.
You won't be disappointed with the Westin.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank jayuf80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We did kinda a double whammy by staying at these relatively new Westin in downtown. Well its a new "Westin" but not a new hotel but it still less than 10 years old.
I wanted to stay at a hotel within walking distance of Minute Maid Park to watch an Astros game and the wife had a seminar at this hotel so it was a no brainer.
The hotel has almost a bouquet feel to it...its so what small and well appointed. There is a nice bar down in the lobby and the staff was friendly...little expensive tho.
We were going to eat next door but opted for room service...good food and yes again expensive but what room service isn't. Would def stay again...great location for many reasons.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Montecore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Montecore1:

Thank you very much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown! We truly appreciate your feedback! We hope that your were able to enjoy the Astros game! Should you need any further assistance, please feel free to reach out to me personally.

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Well you can't get any closer to the ballpark if that is why you are considering this hotel since it is literally caddy-corner to the park so form the front door it is a one minute walk!. . Beyond that you should consider that the hotel was clean, quiet and the staff was both pleasant and very accommodating to us. It is also close to the convention center. Note the streets do get blocked off after the game until the fans have left the area. We were pleased with our stay and if we come back, this is where we would stay. They have several baseball themed conference rooms, lobby bar and restaurant. We understand that they will be remodeling now that it is a Westin property. The wifi is only free in the lobby - in the rom you must pay.

Room Tip: we were on eleven although it all seems to be quite nice. Our view was mostly construction since th...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trygve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Ripchen:

Thank you so much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will pass your comments along to our staff. We hope that your next visits to Houston bring you back to The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were in town for a rugby event and this hotel is very convenient to both Compass Stadium and Minute Maid park. The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. There were staff available to assist your needs at all times. The restaurant was great and the lobby bar was a great spot to socialize. Parking is expensive (only valet is offered), but this is to be expected for a downtown hotel. It would have been nice if the hotel had a swimming pool because the weather was incredibly hot, but it is not surprising for a downtown hotel. The hotel is also conveniently located from the freeway. We would definitely return to this hotel if we return to Houston.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAMoraga_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager at The Westin Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear CAMoraga_Family:

Thank you so much for your review of The Westin Houston Downtown! We truly appreciate your feedback and have shared with our team! I apologize that we do not have a pool on property. Next time you visit, please consult with the Front Desk and they can provide pool options to you. We hope that your next visits to Houston bring you to The Westin Houston Downtown!

Be well,

Chris Ziadie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#35 of 517 in Houston
2,815 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Houston Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Houston Downtown

Address: 1520 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#64 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#75 Family Hotel in Houston
#109 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £137 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Houston Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Houston Downtown,formerly Inn at the Ballpark, is conveniently located near many of Houston's attractions including George R. Brown Convention Center, Discovery Green (one of Houston's most visited parks), and for fans of the arts, The Hobby Center for the Performing Arts and the Houston Symphony. Treat yourself to a baseball game at Minute Maid Park, a concert at the Toyota Center, or a soccer match at the BBVA Compass Stadium - all located within blocks of our downtown Houston hotel.Our goal is that you leave our Houston Downtown hotel feeling better than when you arrived - stay on top of work in the business center, power up at your pace in our Westin Workout Fitness Studio, or eat well in our award winning restaurant, Vic & Anthony's. Enjoy traditional charm and inspiring views in any of our 200 guest rooms and suites, featuring 14' ceilings and ceiling fans. Work at the modern desk or relax on the leather furniture. Get a blissful night’s rest on your Westin Heavenly Bed®, and refresh with premium bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Ballpark Hotel Houston
Hotel At The Ballpark
At The Ballpark Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing