We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston-West University
Ranked #174 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always nice”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We have stayed at this Residence Inn three times in the last two years, while visiting Rice University and family in Houston; the first visit on September 2010, the latest visit in May 2012. The rooms are clean and comfortable, as well as the bathroom and kitchen area of the one bedroom suite. We've stayed in first floor rooms near the side entrance to the hotel, near the patio area, which is very convenient for parking. The hotel is located within driving distance to a Kroger supermarket and other shops. During our first visit in 2010 we stayed in a pet friendly room with a cat. That room was also very clean and no evidence or smells of prior furry guests. The housekeeping staff were wonderful in locating our pet's favorite blanket which we inadvertently left behind. The breakfast area is very clean and the food items are more than adequate, a nice selection of cold and hot breakfast foods. We have felt safe when staying in this Residence Inn, the parking area is well lighted. The air conditioning in all the rooms we've stayed in have worked well- a plus in the warm, humid weather during Houston's summer months.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the side entrance to the hotel, they are very accessible to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryGoWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    48
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
44
20
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Hi, been here a week. Am booked in for 6 weeks. Price after 30 days is $89/day including very nice breakfast (fruit, yoghurt, cereal, oatmeal, toast, waffle, sausage, bacon, muffins etc)(*7) and dinners (incl wine/beer)(*5). After 45 days it is $69/day. I have a studio, very spacious and well fitted out. Only problem has been air conditioning by bed blasts out cold air at 3am -- i am still in jet lag mode so it wakes me up. Setting temp to 80 is too hot, 76 seems to work OK. Staff friendly and helpful. Fantastic extra - hotel has free shuttle that will take you anywhere within 3 miles and pick you up when you call, up til 9pm weekdays (4:30 pm weekends). Don't forget to tip the driver.

Room Tip: No advice. I am on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boyd_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just stayed one night, but had an excellent experience. Paid $98 for a suite that was nearly 600sf. Our room was attractive, very large, spotlessly clean and nice and quiet. It included a full kitchen, dining area, living area, queen bed and large dressing/bathing area as well.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamDennyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel again in September for a conference. I think my stay was much better. My last stay my major gripe was that the bed was rock hard (and I had showed up to my meetings tired because of it).

I was much more comfortable this time.

Though, they did screw up the name on my co-workers room so that when I tried to call him they wouldn't connect me because I couldn't give the name they had on file...grr

But breakfast had waffles...waffles are important.

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fuzzypuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Free parking and breakfast. Full size fridge, microwave, dishes, dish washer, pool, tennis courts. If you are looking for a long ter,m place to stay this is a good one. Great location with free highway access. There is a courtyard next door which I prefer for shorter stays. There was also a pull out couch bed.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forbiddendonut9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Hotel was clean. Service good. Wi-fi great, better than computers they provide for customers. Hotel needs upgrade, though. Piece of floor missing in kitchen. Location good..some road construction...very quite area!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudiaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Not far from lots of things in Houston, yet out of the major commotion.
We spent a long wkend doing the Museums and architecture sites and this hotel worked out great. Near quality shopping and the wonderful Cleburne Cafeteria.

Only negative was the numerous warnings about leaving things in your car in the parking lot/potential crime issue.

Started to make us a bit paranoid when we returned late at night to the parking lot
but we had no problems.

Very comfortable room/suite.

Room Tip: Request room facing senior residence across parking lot. It was quiet and away from freeway and sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Courtyard Houston-West University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston-West University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston-West University

Property: Residence Inn Houston-West University
Address: 2939 Westpark Dr, Houston, TX 77005-4222
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston-West University 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home at the brand new Residence Inn by Marriott Houston West University. The hotel allows quick access to the world renowned Texas Medical Center, home to MD Anderson Cancer Center, where we offer complimentary shuttle service daily. The hotel is centrally located in the Greenway Plaza - West University area, minutes away from Lakewood Church, Reliant Park, Galleria, world class Museum district, Downtown Houston, Rice University and a variety of upscale restaurants and nightlife. On-site amenities include complimentary hot breakfast daily, Social Hour, outdoor pool/whirlpool, exercise room, library with books, Sportscourt and complimentary high speed internet access in all suites. The hotel is conveniently located 1 mile from the Metro light rail. You can count on Residence Inn by Marriott West University to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Houston-West University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston West University Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing