We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston-West University
Ranked #178 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Nice hotel, great staff.
Room was clean.
One bedroom suite with full kitchen, large and 2 televisions.
Friday night room rate for 2 was $139
It should have been perfect.

Problem is NO ICE.
Within your room, there is a full refrigerator with ice-maker. Housekeeping MUST empty the ice bin from previous guest because MAYBE the previous guest poisoned the ice and no one wants you hurt. Therefore, the new guest only has about 7 small ice cubes available.
This would be fine if there were other ice machines at the end of the hall or even a main ice machine downstairs..... but no. There are no ice machines on the property.
It's Houston.
It's hot in the summer time.
We spent 30 minutes looking for the ice machine on various floors before we called the front desk and found out we have to go to the hotel NEXT DOOR to get ice.
Really?
To his credit, the front desk clerk, Thomas, went next door and brought us back a plastic sack of ice. He was embarrassed.
Thank heaven we traveled with our own tea/soft drinks/water.
Over 45 minutes to get something to drink at 10pm on a Friday night is inexcusable.
Just another example of someone at corporate making foolish decisions.

Drains run slowly but this can be fixed easily. Room was immaculate with a comfortable bed. No pillow for the fold out but the main bed had extra pillows so no problem.

Room Tip: Stay in the front. This hotel has a back building and it makes breakfast and other things inconveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpahnHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I booked this hotel via an online website and got a great deal for last minute booking. For the price, the hotel was well worth it. First, it was located in the hear of West University with 2 minute access to the freeway and with 10 minutes of the Houston Galleria area. I loved that it offered free wifi, free parking and a free shuttle within 3 miles of the hotel. Not many hotels offer that these days. I would definitely recommend it and would stay there again myself. I also appreciated the fact that they allowed me to have a late check out with no extra cost.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twarre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Fit our needs for a weekend in Houston! Plenty of room with a kitchenette. Did not use pool or other things. It is very close to downtown and sports complexes. Would stay here again if needed room near these locations at a reasonable rate!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samrutster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed here for a week and it was a great hotel. The setup was great, rooms were standard size, the staff was awesome and the food they put out was really good as well. The only reason I left this hotel was to stay closer to my client and it was for convenience only. This hotel was closer the the downtown area and also closer to all the bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

A three night stay at the completely booked Residence Inn Houston West University started with an arrival around 9:30 pm on a cold rainy night. The hotel was over-booked and my business partner and I were lucky/pleased that instead of moving us to the Courtyard (next door), they upgraded us each to two-bedroom units. We certainly didn't need that much room but after a long day it was nice to get checked in and have the comforts of a Residence Inn. The room was clean and comfortable and completely in-line with the expectations that I have of Residence Inns. The breakfast (complimentary) was a little crowded on two of the mornings, but we had no problem finding a table. It seemed that the staff serving breakfast was a little under-staffed as they worked to keep the food coming and the area clean, but that is to be expected when you are completely full. Easy access to downtown Houston (although the traffic is tough in this town) which was about 4 miles away from where we were working. Lots of fast food and one awesome seafood place-the Goode Company Seafood Restaurant (http://www.goodecompany.com/restaurant-seafood1.asp) - where I could have eaten every night!

Room Tip: I would suggest staying on the front side (Main entrance) of the hotel...a little more well lit when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel while a loved one was in a nearby hospital. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. My first room was well-appointed, clean and comfortable. I needed to switch rooms (due to something outside of the control of staff) late one night, and they accommodated me quickly. The second room, while still nice, was a lot smaller and the bathroom was a bit dated/cramped. The neighborhood was a little weird -- it's in the middle of what looks to be an industrial area. I'd stay here again -- the hotel is nice and the staff wonderful. Like others in the area, the hotel offers a decently priced medical rate if you or a loved one is a patient at one of several major medical centers in downtown Houston.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecrankyeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I've been staying at this hotel since November of last year each week from Sunday and Thursday. On initial impressions I felt reception was outstanding and coming from the North East of the US I wasn't used to the friendliness and helpfulness in this part of the country. The rooms are more homely rather than modern but its a place that you can say is clean and comfortable. The breakfast is great with lots of options that do change each day, try the Texas shaped waffle maker its great. Mary is always there to help whenever you need something, I also want to mention some exceptional people who work there like Sasha the General Manager- very friendly always happy to help, Roxana the receptionist who's in Training is always there to help, I can't wait till it gets warmer then I can finally use the Hotel's pool and jacuzzi! if you want to play Basketball there's a hoop to play with it.

Give this place a try you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try the 3rd floor, all the rooms are great ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Courtyard Houston-West University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites
#247 of 518 in Houston
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston-West University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston-West University

Address: 2939 Westpark Dr, Houston, TX 77005-4222
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: £83 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston-West University 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home at the brand new Residence Inn by Marriott Houston West University. The hotel allows quick access to the world renowned Texas Medical Center, home to MD Anderson Cancer Center, where we offer complimentary shuttle service daily. The hotel is centrally located in the Greenway Plaza - West University area, minutes away from Lakewood Church, Reliant Park, Galleria, world class Museum district, Downtown Houston, Rice University and a variety of upscale restaurants and nightlife. On-site amenities include complimentary hot breakfast daily, Social Hour, outdoor pool/whirlpool, exercise room, library with books, Sportscourt and complimentary high speed internet access in all suites. The hotel is conveniently located 1 mile from the Metro light rail. You can count on Residence Inn by Marriott West University to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Houston-West University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston West University Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing