We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid First Floor / Cramped Parking”
Review of 8080 Main

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
8080 Main
Ranked #290 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Sioux City
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid First Floor / Cramped Parking”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed for four nights in a first floor room that was extremely musty bordering on mildewy. I mentioned this to the hotel staff, but never found out if they even attempted to resolve the problem since I never noticed any change in the room's smell or had any of the staff get back to me. Other guests traveling with me who stayed on upper floors had no problems. The breakfast room is nicely sized, but typical of most chain hotels they put in one table too many for the space making navigation around the room difficult. Anyone driving a large vehicle or pulling a trailer will have problems here because the parking lot does not allow you to turn around without doing a three point turn. The hotel would be smart to repaint the parking lot to allow a loop past the rear door of the hotel and back around to the front.

Room Tip: Stay away from first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niederw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMedicalCenter, Manager at 8080 Main, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear niederw,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our hotel. We know your time is valuable and you had a number of lodging options in the area. I am sorry that we fell short of providing you with an experience that exceeds your expectations. We are distressed to hear that our agent’s service and quality fell short of your expectations. We do not want anybody to feel ignored. We are sincerely sorry for your experience. We take all reviews seriously. We use reviews, such as yours, to correct deficiencies.

We are currently refreshing the hotel and are addressing the issue with the breakfast area. We are also researching a way to address the parking issue while maintaining parking spaces.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us. We hope we will have the honor of hosting your next stay.

At your Service,

Donald
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    33
    23
    15
    14
See reviews for
53
18
11
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

great tv with directtv, nice location, decent rooms... i am sitting here writing this on 3g because their internet is THAT bad. calling this high speed is insulting. i stayed at work late every night sine the internet was veritably unusable for even simple browsing!

Room Tip: make sure you get non smoking if you dont smoke. people smoke a lot in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrislatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMedicalCenter, Manager at 8080 Main, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear chrislatx,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our hotel. We know your time is valuable and you had a number of lodging options in the area. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed some of our services. I am sorry to hear about the problem with the internet. I know how frustrating it can be when you can’t get your work done. We value all reviews and use them to address problem areas such as this. As of this posting, we have contacted the internet provider and have increased the internet speed.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us. We hope we will have the honor of hosting your next stay.

At your Service,

Donald
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We arrived at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center on October the 6th and it was like coming home. I was met with a big smile and great big hug by Debbie at the front desk. Jessica, the daytime shuttle driver, Chondra , front desk at night, Francy, the buffet sweetie, Donnie, front desk and Ron, night shuttle driver all have made our stay here so pleasurable. The hotel is clean and the 3rd floor has been so quiet. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the shuttle is just so wonderful, running Monday through Friday. Stayed here for 11 days in July because of Mom's medical procedures and have been here 13 days so far this time. The fact that there is a great washer and dryer makes it so nice when you have to be here for an extended time. There is a special rate for those staying here for medical appointments so be sure and stipulate that when making reservations. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor so no overhead noise. Washer and dryer on the second floor. Handicapped rooms available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMedicalCenter, Guest Relations Manager at 8080 Main, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Nancy T,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our hotel. We know your time is valuable and you had a number of lodging options in the area. Your comments made us all smile. The whole staff loved your review. We use reviews, such as yours, to inspire our staff. Thank you again, for your review and for choosing our hotel. We always look forward to hosting your stay. We all hope your mom stays well and continues to visit us for many years to come.

Donald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel lobby smelled bad so I thought it would be horrible but the room was spacious and didn't smell bad. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall it was a good value and in a good location for medical purposes. It also had plenty of restaurants close by and a shuttle. I didn't use the shuttle but it was nice to know it was available. The complimentary breakfast, cookies and coffee were a nice addition to my stay. They also had a small area with a microwave, mini fridge and utensils in the room. The bathtub was small and the bed was a little lumpy. It could use an update but it was still a good stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LizEL678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMedicalCenter, General Manager at 8080 Main, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear LizEL678,


Thank you for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable, and you had other lodging options in the area. I am glad you enjoyed our services. I do apologize for the issues you had. We value your feedback. We use these feedbacks to help us improve and target areas of concern. In fact, we are now in the process of updating all our beds to Simmons Beauty Rest.


Again, thank you for reviewing us. I hope that you will let us have the honor of hosting your stay again.


At Your Service,

Sheetal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I checked in with my mom recently to stay during her medical treatments at MD Anderson. The front desk staff was very helpful. The room was clean; although this was a smoking room, it didn't reek of cigarette smoke. We couldn't get the TV to work, but staff came quickly and fixed the problem. Their shuttle service runs until 10 PM, which was very helpful for us, as one treatment ran much later than expected. The shuttle drivers were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pretty good and had many items to choose from. The hotel is close to several restaurants and grocery stores. We had a mini fridge and microwave in the room, which came in handy for restaurant leftovers.

Room Tip: The third floor rooms have very high ceilings!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TexasSWTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMedicalCenter, General Manager at 8080 Main, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear TexasSWTraveler,


Thank you for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable, and you had other lodging options in the area. I am happy to hear that you are happy with our staff and our cleanliness. I apologize for any inconvenience you had with your TV. We use feedback such as yours to target and resolve problems. We hope have the honor of hosting you again. We would like the opportunity of showing you a SMART stay.


At Your Service,

Sheetal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I had to cancel my reservation the day before (not within 24 hours) because I became too sick to travel. This was to be a business trip which was booked and cancelled the previous day by my company's travel department. My credit card was billed $236.33 penalty, which I am unable to expense. Upon checking later in the day I discovered the hotel was FULLY BOOKED, so my room was re-booked. I have been trying to get an explanation or some assistance from Guest Relations who said they would contact the hotel manager who would contact me. This was 2 weeks ago. I have contacted them twice and not received any response.

Definitely do not book a room here if there is any chance at all that you could become too sick to travel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMedicalCenter, General Manager at 8080 Main, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Terry A,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear of your inconvenience with our cancellation policy. We use reviews, such as yours, to target areas of concern.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

At Your Service,

Sheetal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I was there with my mother for some appointments I had at MD Anderson. Hotel was great! Room was very clean, although there was a hole in the wall from where it looked like they had to do some work for whatever reason but we were able to cover it up and it wasn't a bother. Didn't have to use the shuttle this time around but we did see it running and heard the front desk calling for pickups at MD so I'm assuming that would have been great too if we'd used it. Continental breakfast was pretty decent. Small egg omelets, bacon, biscuits, cereal, juice and even pancakes. Great for a quick bite before heading out. It's close to almost everything you need (restaurants and groceries) and it's a short drive to MD if you're driving yourself around. The only complaint I have (and it's really not even a complaint) is that the lobby had a very weird, armpit smell to it. Overall I was very impressed with the place and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMedicalCenter, General Manager at 8080 Main, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Denise G,


Thank you for taking your time and reviewing our hotel. We know that you had many lodging options in this area and you stayed with us. I am happy to hear of your impression with our hotel. I apologize for the issue with your room and the lobby. We use feedback from our guests to address our problem areas.


Again, I thank you for staying with us and we hope you will give us the honor of hosting your stay again in the future.


At Your Service,

Sheetal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Comfort Suites
#189 of 511 in Houston
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites
#268 of 511 in Houston
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8080 Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8080 Main

Property: 8080 Main
Address: 8080 Main St, Houston, TX 77025-2808 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Center)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 8080 Main 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and welcome! We would like to invite you to come and experience a stay at the 8080 Main. Whether you are coming in for business or pleasure, see how we can make your stay a personal and unique one. We are conveniently located near the Texas Medical Center, Rice University, the Museum District, and NRG Stadium. Just minutes away from Houston's world renowned MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's & St. Luke's hospitals, our hotel may be just what you need for your home away from home. For all you sports fans out there, we have just the thing for you too. Come and enjoy Houston s very own Texans, or see your favorite college or soccer teams battle it out on the field. The NRG Stadium is also located nearby. Shuttle service is available to the Medical Center area and Reliant Stadium. Taxis are available for all other locations. Relax in our elegant yet modern rooms with amenities such as a microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker. High-speed Internet access, both wireless and wired, along with a variety of movie channels are also provided free of charge. Enjoy a deluxe complimentary breakfast, Smart Roast coffee and choices of hot items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your 8080 Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Houston Medical Center
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Medical Houston
Holiday Inn Express Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing