We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Phoenicia Specialty Foods
Ranked #4 of 8,173 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: You have one of the locations listed but not the new location that opened in November 2011
Level Contributor
116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We were staying at Four Seasons Hotel. Through the window I spotted Phoenicia Specialty Foods. Wow! How I wish we had a store like this at home. The breakfast we enjoyed there was not only delicious but very reasonably priced. The house coffee was bold and flavorful. Since we were sailing the next day on a Princess cruise, we appreciated having easy access to wines to purchase. Had we not been going with friends who live in Houston for dinner last night, that's where we would have had dinner and enjoyed drinks at their bar.

Helpful?
Thank LofL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    221
    25
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good choice of food and free wifi”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Nice little place in Downtown Houston with a good selection of food, friendly staff, decent coffee and free wifi. Lots of interesting foods to try. I wasn't expecting the pistachio muffin to be quite that bright green though!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun salad bar, prepared meals, groceries, etc.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I was in Houston at the Convention Center, and the downtown Phoenicia was a convenient stroll from there. I would've liked to have stayed longer to browse the great variety of foods. They seemed to have reasonable prices, too. There was a dessert section with individual slices of cheesecake for $2-$3. There were fresh individual pizzas for $7.50 each. I placed an order for the a salad with lamb (generous serving) plus two sides (brocolli & cucumber salad) for $11. I went back for lunch the following day and prepared my own meal at their salad bar.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frida_Cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salty and Loud!!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The service was slow, the food was salty, and ambience was loud. Out of my list, and will never go back. It's not even Phoenician.

Helpful?
1 Thank wjaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
297 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 635 helpful votes
“Reasonable, but also delicious”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Free parking is available, look for the signs. Such an array of foods. Hot pita bread coming off of the line. The hot steam table offers various gyro meat. Follow with a dessert and you are in heaven for such a small price. Eat there on one of many tables or get to go.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaltaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phoenicia Specialty Foods also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Phoenicia Specialty Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing