We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Specialty Mediterranean market and adjacent bar/cafe”

Phoenicia Specialty Foods
Ranked #5 of 8,150 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: You have one of the locations listed but not the new location that opened in November 2011
Washington
Level Contributor
153 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Specialty Mediterranean market and adjacent bar/cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed at the Hilton America's hotel in May for a conference and came across Phoenicia just about 4 blocks away in the downtown core. It's a fine market with foods from around the world, a deli and an adjacent bar/cafe. I was there for a snack and ordered a local IPA, the Saint Arnold Elissa IPA along with a pita plate with 3 different spreads including humus. Pretty good experience over all, the higher end food options and the cafe was a nice find in downtown Houston (above-ground).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heretix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    216
    24
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MAINE
Level Contributor
169 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Can eat here every day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a specialty food market with a bar and seating area! Full deli, bakery, etc. that would make for pricey everyday grocery shopping, but is perfect compared with most restaurant food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank withliberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We were staying at Four Seasons Hotel. Through the window I spotted Phoenicia Specialty Foods. Wow! How I wish we had a store like this at home. The breakfast we enjoyed there was not only delicious but very reasonably priced. The house coffee was bold and flavorful. Since we were sailing the next day on a Princess cruise, we appreciated having easy access to wines to purchase. Had we not been going with friends who live in Houston for dinner last night, that's where we would have had dinner and enjoyed drinks at their bar.

Helpful?
Thank LofL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good choice of food and free wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Nice little place in Downtown Houston with a good selection of food, friendly staff, decent coffee and free wifi. Lots of interesting foods to try. I wasn't expecting the pistachio muffin to be quite that bright green though!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun salad bar, prepared meals, groceries, etc.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I was in Houston at the Convention Center, and the downtown Phoenicia was a convenient stroll from there. I would've liked to have stayed longer to browse the great variety of foods. They seemed to have reasonable prices, too. There was a dessert section with individual slices of cheesecake for $2-$3. There were fresh individual pizzas for $7.50 each. I placed an order for the a salad with lamb (generous serving) plus two sides (brocolli & cucumber salad) for $11. I went back for lunch the following day and prepared my own meal at their salad bar.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frida_Cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phoenicia Specialty Foods also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Phoenicia Specialty Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing