We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“July 28th -31st”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area
Ranked #107 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“July 28th -31st”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I spend around 20 nights a year at this hotel and usually it's pretty good. However, this time was not acceptable. Huge hairs in my bed, 2 nights were spent tracking someone down after 11PM because no shower towels were left in my room, the front desk was unapologetic and unresponsive.

Time to try out a few other hotels next time I'm here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback on this recent visit to the Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area. We appreciate your business and I can personally say that the issues you encountered on this most recent trip are unacceptable. I will immediately address these issues with both our housekeeping and our front desk staff. I would love to welcome you back and show that these issues have been resolved and I will try to reach out to you to discuss this further.

Thank you,
Donovan Stephens, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    115
    55
    13
    16
See reviews for
64
53
27
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Hotel overall is nice with a clean modern lobby and wifi is reliable except you have to login to multiple hot spots based on the floor your staying on. The room I had was 357 and is on the I-10 Interstate side of the property and was very loud with traffic noise. The A/C was set on 60 when I got into the room and I guess it was a way to wash the traffic roar with the A/C fan. The constant on option for the fan on the a/c did not work. There was no ice in the ice machine down the hall and only decaf coffee packets for the in room coffee maker. Housekeeping was below average with long hairs (not mine) in the bathroom tub & floor.

Did sign up for IHC Club and met my traveling teammates in the 6th floor lounge area for Happy Hour time. They were friendly and the drink options were average (get what you pay for) the food was mostly fried options.

To be fair I did not call to request a room change or to complain about the housekeeping concern I was not in the room much and just dealt with it.

Room Tip: Request a room on the non interstate side of the building. Also not at the end of the hall with a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback on your stay at the Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area. We apologize for the housekeeping issues that you encountered and I will personally make sure that these are addressed with our housekeeping staff immediately. We are glad to know that you chose to join our IHG Rewards Club and were able to enjoy our members lounge. We hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Thanks again,
Donovan Stephens, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, TX, USA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel was an old Ramada that was gutted down to the steel girders and re-built to Crowne Plaza standards. It is now completely new and quite comfortable. The staff is helpful and friendly. A good restaurant is on premises. Health club facilities and wi-fi and nice sized pool are all there. The hotel is very close to Galleria shopping and business and very close to Loop 610. I recommend this hotel!

Unfortunately, last weekend, in Room 210 nextdoor, there were two young athletes and it sounded like they were playing handball on the walls both evenings. I consider this an anomoly and not the usual situation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of the Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area. We are so pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be comfortable and convenient. We are also happy to know that you were able to enjoy our amenities that we offer to guests, such as our fitness and pool facilities. I am personally sorry to hear about the noise level you experienced and would like to assure you that this is an anomaly and hope that this is not a problem in the future, but if it ever is, please contact the front desk and we will take care of this issue immediately.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit!
Donovan Stephens, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEXAS
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here last year and really enjoyed it. we booked through hotwire. the room was very nice with a small fridge. we stayed on the 18th floor (top floor) we went to the hotel bar and the drinks were a good price, would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLuvJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your nice review of the Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last year. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again soon!

Thanks again,
Donovan Stephens, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel is located in front a freeway, that concerned me in the beggining, but I did no hear any noise during the night, since I got the room faced to the swimming pool. The front desk attendance was very good and I got an upgrade to a very large room. The hotel is close to the galeria mall (around 10 minutes by car). The food was nice

Room Tip: My room had a view to the swimming pool and I think it was a good decision, since I did not want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReinaldoViola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area. We are glad to hear that you found your hotel room to comfortable and noise free and our staff to be helpful. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Thanks again,
Donovan Stephens, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngsville, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have stayed in two other crowne plaza hotels in Houston and this is the best. We go to Houston every year and will be staying here from now on! The staff was exceptional. Very friendly, always smiling and welcoming. Everything worked, the beds were comfortable, the rooms clean and the swimming pool was refreshing. The breakfast was delicious, with healthy options. This is a first class hotel. Keep up the great work!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonniearceneaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of the Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area. We are so happy that you had an excellent visit with us. Our staff works hard to ensure that our guests are happy and we love hearing so from our guests! We are also glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and the healthy options we provide. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Thanks again,
Donovan Stephens, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pella, Iowa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I was in Houston one night for a meeting. The hotel was very convenient to the interstate and close to my meeting. The rooms are what you would expect from a Crowne Plaza, clean and comfortable. There is a nice bar and restaurant at the location with plenty of other restaurants and shopping very close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank your for your nice review of the Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area. We are very pleased to know that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable and that you were able to enjoy our bar and restaurant. We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Houston.

Thank you,
Donovan Stephens, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area
Great Uptown
Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area

Property: Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area
Address: 7611 Katy Fwy, Houston, TX 77024-2001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located near The Galleria Mall, The Marq*E Entertainment Center, and Memorial City Mall - the Crowne Plaza® Houston Galleria Area offers guests a convenient central location right at the I-10/610 interchange close to the Houston First Baptist Church. With over 12,000 square feet of unique meeting space, your "single point of contact" via the Crowne Meetings Director, a two-hour RFP response guarantee and a Daily Meeting Debrief, we are "The Place to Meet" among hotels in Houston.Spend the day in the Houston Museum District, shopping at The Galleria or Memorial City Mall, or visiting the Houston Zoo.Reliant Stadium, home of the Houston Texans is just minutes from our hotel. From the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® program to the 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers, Outdoor Oasis pool, The Red Oak Room Restaurant and Bar, plus free scheduled shuttle service within 3 miles, we provide upscale amenities to pamper our guests.IHG Rewards Members can enjoy the best "Members Only" IHG Rewards Lounge on the 6th Floor. We provide complimentary snacks and beverages throughout the day, and Happy Hour Monday through Thursday from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM with a full service bar and Hors d'Oeuvres. Becoming a IHG Rewards Member is free and easy to do at check-in. We look forward to showing you a warm Texas welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing