We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Houston NW America Plaza
Ranked #12 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed here for a night while on a weekend road trip and as always, like many other Hilton hotels that I have stayed at, it was a great. The hotel is located in a great location right next to the expressway so that made it easy to get to and to quickly get into downtown Houston. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable and the front desk staff was incredibly friendly. Feeling thirsty, they kept a nice dispenser of pink lemonade and cookies in the lobby was a nice and appreciated touch. It is a short drive from the hotel to many different restaurants and shopping. As per another review, the only bad thing was the construction in the area that in some cases made it difficult to get back to the hotel but obviously they have no control over that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EpicGuy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great hotel with great employees! I was in town for business and stayed here for 2 nights. The staff was very knowledgeable and very helpful. The only negative was the freeway construction going on around the hotel that made it a bit confusing getting to the hotel. Will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Houston!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary-Jesse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

great place to stay. everyone was very pleasant angel was always around if you need something. the desk was always staffed my sons room had a problem with the a/c so they moved him to a suite the meals at the hotel were wonderful for such a small place they really came through

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was an excellent stay with the most welcoming staff, with exceptional service from Angel and Gabe. The hotel had excellent rooms that were very spacious and clean. In the mornings the breakfast staff was warm and very friendly and the food was exceptional.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed here 2 nights. The room was very spacious, spotlessly clean, well decorated. I loved the hotel at the beginning and did enjoy every minute as staying here. The staff was super friendly, helpful and attentive. They pointed out and guided us to fantastic tourist destinations. Couldn't ask them for more. Definitely stay here in the short distance future for our next planned trip to America.
Highly recommend to stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My family and I often stay at Hilton properties, but seldom a Garden Inn. After our experience this past week, we will likely consider Garden Inn's more often. The morning of the day we were scheduled to check-in we received a welcome email from the hotel manager. Included were driving instructions since road construction was making it more difficult to enter the property. What a nice touch! Entering the hotel we were warmly greeted by EVERY employee that we encountered. They all offered a smile and hello. This was their consistent acknowledgement during our entire stay. The property is very nice, clean, modern, and quiet - even though it is situated on a busy highway. The room included a mini-frig, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. The breakfast bar includes a lot of food choices, and made-to-order foods are also available. While the property is very nice, the staff are what makes the difference. The front desk staff consistently offered us free bottled waters, which was a nice touch. The consistent friendliness and helpfulness from staff members in all areas of the property is what made the difference. You can tell that the management spends quality time hiring the right people, setting clear expectations for guest relations, and rewarding positive performance. Great job, Hilton Garden Inn NW America Plaza staff!

Room Tip: Our room was on the fourth floor, on the back side of the property. It was very quiet. Even the a/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have spent 35 nights at this hotel in the last 10 weeks or so, commuting to my new job in Houston. I can honestly say that this is probably the best hotel experience I have had in a very, very long time, and it starts right at the reception. The front desk crew is second to none: very friendly but professional, they know how to make a guest feel at ease, always asking if they can help. Angel, Scott, Chelsey and the other young ladies know their jobs.

This hotel is about a year old, so rooms are still very new and fresh. Contrary to what I have read here, I never had an issue with the sound from the nearby highway – and I have been in quite a number of those freeway-facing rooms. All had walk-in showers (which is fine with me), a mini-fridge and a microwave oven. This last week they traded the usual mini-coffee pots for Keurigs (for those who care). Other than that, very well appointed, with comfortable bedding, large flat-screen Samsung TVs and free internet access, these rooms are close to perfect. The only issue I have had was with the AC – sometimes a little weak, especially in the August or September heat. But a call to the desk always took care of the problem.

Hotel food is usually nothing to write about. Been there, done that. However, this hotel’s menu is quite varied, reasonably priced, and I was surprised by how good some of their specialties are: the beef short-rib and the black and blue steak wrap are my favorites. Fresh, never frozen. The shrimp cocktail, very unusual, is good too. There have been a few hiccups here and there – bound to happen over that long a time span – but it was always remedied. Being on the road for so long, you always end up at the bar for a drink or two. Or more. Daleela and Lili are very pleasant, always have a smile and a kind word, and they do know how to pour a stiff drink!

Now that we are full-time Houston residents, we will no longer stay at this hotel. But we will definitely come by and sit by the bar from time to time. And we highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a well-priced, very comfortable and friendly place away from home. They just do it right!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Olivier K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Houston NW America Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Houston NW America Plaza

Address: 14919 Northwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77040-4024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: £75 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Houston NW America Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the great location of the Hilton Garden Inn Houston Northwest American Plaza, just minutes away from downtown Houston, the Energy Corridor, and the Galleria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Houston NW America Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing