We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Houston NW America Plaza
Ranked #11 of 507 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice but...”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We choose this locale to be near a school but unfortunately the class was cancelled and it wasn't all that convenient to much else. The hotel was quite fine and the room itself was great. The front desk staff was wonderful, especially (I think his name was) Byron. Housekeeping did neglect to make our room one night. They have a great fire pit outside if the bar - which was great on the cool April evenings in Houston.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank zsa-zsa013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    117
    33
    8
    13
See reviews for
151
111
32
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this property based on the great reviews, but after the first day, I regretted not staying in Pearland. Upon checkin the system was down, so they couldn't take cash payment for the room, the
girl took my card and told me I'd be charged 15/day only for incidentals. I woke up the next day to a full blown unknown charge which
I didn't authorized nor did I agree the bank to hold. Immediately called the front desk and spoke to a girl who didn't have a clue, she talked in circles and when she could tell I was extremely angry,
she tried soothing me with a free meal, no thanks. After settling the financial issues they'd caused,
we returned to our room to see the
same dirty cups and plates on the
floor of the hall that were there the day we checked in, lazy on the part of housekeeping. Speaking of housekeeping, the girl who was our housekeeper was very rude, had a bad attitude and acted inconvenienced when I'd asked for fresh towels when we didn't want her to service the room. To add to this, we had the DND sign on the door this morning and at 9:44 am she knocked anyway asking when we were leaving. I've never been asked to leave before checkout not have I seen the DND not observed. The area is in the midst of construction and there's nothing in area to see or do, including restaurants. I'd steer clear of here and wouldn't advise it to anybody. I requested the GM to call me directly, do you think he did? This goes on the list of worst of the worst in Houston and I'll never return.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ladeep0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin V, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston NW America Plaza, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Please accept our apologies for any miscommunication from our team members, and we will use the opportunity to retrain the staff accordingly. Please contact me directly at the hotel or send me your contact information to kevin.viteri@hilton.com.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and hope to get an opportunity to make things right for you.

At your service,

Kevin Viteri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Liliana and Mariam are wonderful employees of this hotel.. They made me and my client feel right at home during our stay last week. These servers took care of every detail! Also the food is delicious! So much better than going out and finding the same old restaurants...I would also like to recognize Madelyn-my breakfast server who has provided with wonderful breakfast service at this property for at least the past couple of years. She takes care of me and my clients/employees as a professional should.

I also want to recognize Carolyn, Angel, and Scott at the Front Desk. They make me feel right at home! They go above and beyond their way to assist me in whatever needs I may have for me and my company.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocketman316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Byron-Taylor-lilianna-Amanda-and Miriam always make my stay every bit of enjoyable the level of customer service that these individuals posses is always way better than what's expected and I'm happy that I will be returning for a third stay in July or August cause it's just that relaxing! If they would only get a airport shuttle.....that's my only complaint other than that this is one of the best hotels Houston has to offer!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rza456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our 12 years anniversary here in Houston and decided to stay at this hotel, best choice ever. Carolyn, Richard, and Scott were awesome! They had the most pleasant and welcoming attitude you ever want to see. We have stayed at a lot of hotels all over and this by far has been the best. The staff is the best!!!!!!! The food and customer service exceeded my expectations. I will definitely recommend this hotel to everyone I know who will be traveling to Houston. You go Hilton Garden Inn NW America Plaza! GREAT JOB!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tiffiny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel, although a bit difficult to access easily (mostly due to highway construction) was modern , clean and as pleasant as they come. Sure, they follow the Hilton Garden Inn formula, but it is a very good formula. Recommended for any stay on the north side of Houston (or to avoid the high prices at downtown hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room on the side away from freeway traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyomite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My room was very spacious and comfortable. Best of all - they have DirecTV with a remote that lets you view the channel guide and go directly to your program. Nice lineup of channels, too. Breakfast buffet is good. The eggs are real (not powdered), and the sausage links are excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 507 in Houston
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 507 in Houston
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Houston NW America Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Houston NW America Plaza

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Houston NW America Plaza
Address: 14919 Northwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77040-4024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 507 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Houston NW America Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the great location of the Hilton Garden Inn Houston Northwest American Plaza, just minutes away from downtown Houston, the Energy Corridor, and the Galleria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Houston NW America Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing