We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing "French" crepes”

Sweet Paris Creperie
Ranked #4 of 155 Dessert in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: French, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Our actual mission is To Revive The Art Of Eating Crêpes. With this goal in mind we set out to build a tranquil beautiful French industrial chic space that would keep the focus on the plates and would be conducive for families and friends to indulge together. To revive this art we realize that a crêpe is a canvas, and the perfect delicious crêpe is a result of artistic cooking and using high quality ingredients.
Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Disappointing "French" crepes”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We recently returned to the US from nearly a month in Europe and were hoping to enjoy authentic French crepes for dinner. The crepes themselves are fine, but the fillings are not entirely French.

They feature breakfast crepes, sweet crepes, and savory crepes. There are seven different crepes in their sweet category, and three of them have dulce de leche, decidedly not French, in them. In the savory category there are ten selections, two of which are Mexican and four are Italian.

We were disappointed that there was not a larger selection of crepes with traditional French fillings. To be sure, the food was good but it is NOT authentic French. It seemed out of place, like going to a Mexican restaurant that serves bratwurst burritos. If you don't mind eating crepes that are more international than Parisian, then you may like this place. If, however, you have eaten authentic French food and are hoping to find a bit of Paris in Houston, you may be as disappointed as we were and should look elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeDreamOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    48
    17
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Love this place! My husband and I come here often on lunch dates. An assortment of crepes to choose from including savory and sweet crepes! Cute little place. Make sure you avoid rush times because seating is limited or just get there early!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shia027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with wonderful Crepe”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Nice restaurant with wonderful Crepe. Their crepes are larger and fuller than most crepes found for desert. I had the Prosciutto Crepe and Argentine Dulce w/strawberry and bananas and coffee. My wife had the Chicken Alfredo Crepe and Very Berry Brulee. Cost for both meals $35-$40. Very reasonable priced. The only thing I did not like was the server when they bring your food they to do not bring silverware or napkins (they walk right by them) . You have to get them yourself. Parking is extreme tight in this area (Rice Village). We plan on going back when in this part of town again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trip2009Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Houston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Like Paris in houston”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Found this on TA when we wanted something sweet. Quaint little place nicely decorated and creeps were very good. We had the apple crime brûlée and s'mores which had Nutella, graham cracker crumbs and toasted marshmallows YUM!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LASusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIGHLAND PARK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

These folks offer a wide variety of crepes. There were numerous desert crepes but we settled for the breakfast selection. One plus: the crepes can be made gluten free. The coffee was very good. The crepe fillings were a bit bland. Give the Mexican crepe a try.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank UncleScooge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Paris Creperie also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sweet Paris Creperie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing