We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch with good friends”
Review of Crapitto's Cucina Italiana - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Crapitto's Cucina Italiana
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Great Uptown
Cross street: Westheimer
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great lunch with good friends”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Salads were fresh and my friends swooned over perennial favorites lasagna and lemon chicken. And of course the molten chocolate. Ever improving, Crapittos now has live music on its gorgeous patio every Thursday and even the neighbors love it! This past Sunday a crawfish boil and zydeco had neighbors rocking on their overlooking balconies!
Bar inviting, dining room gracious. My favorite? Sea bass, or frankly, any of the fish entrees.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oh man that was really good”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

This is a pretty fancy restaurant and it is a little spendy, but it is worth it. I had the salmon florentine and it was wonderful. I will probably order it again next time. The restaurant is in a really nice location but parking is limited. We parked on the street behind the place. I will definitely come back the next time I am in houston

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suburban_Planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like "Cheers" in Houston”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Crapitto's is a great Italian restaurant in the Galleria area. They make you feel at home the minute you walk in the door. If the weather is good ask for a table on the deck. I always eat whatever the special is that night because it is usually fish and very fresh. Give it a try when you are in that area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AgnesShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Keep loving this place!!!”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I love this place and it seems to be getting even better than before. Recently a friend had luscious grilled scallops on creamed spinach. OMG. I usually order fresh fish, sourced from nearby Seadrift, TX from local fishermen. The TX Gulf Coast oysters are at their freshest right now...and the pasta, ahhhhh....

The owner Frank Crapitto is always there, in fact the family is also there, brother Louie sometimes playing music on the patio. The wine list is newly evolved and the selection is thoughtful and reasonably priced.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to meet and talk over great food”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We had a great time at Crapitto's. The portions were nice and the food was very nice. The salad came with house it's own dressing. Might want to order it on the side, it was 90% vinegar! We also had to sit in the bar as we were late walk in customers. Service wasn't great, but it better in the restaurant. Take what you can get on a short notice. But the food was worth it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheShortList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crapitto's Cucina Italiana also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing