We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 8,206 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Yorktown
Description: You are cordially invited to join us for an evening or afternoon of relaxed elegance and exceptional cuisine. Our impressive menu of nationally renowned dry aged steaks and the freshest of seafood will ignite your culinary imagination as our award-winning wine list of more than 5,000 bottles awakens your inner sommelier. And as our gracious, knowledgeable servers delight you with their uncanny ability to anticipate your every need, you’ll experience firsthand why the American Culinary Federation recently bestowed upon us their “Achievement of Excellence Award.” Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion or hosting a business luncheon or dinner, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private dining event. Our event planning staff has extensive experience and the ideal materials to work with—a capital setting, distinctive food and unmatched service. One of only a few restaurants in Houston to receive the DiRona (Distinguished Restaurants of North America) Award.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top quality”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

In Houston for a business trip and stayed next door at the Double Trees Hilton. Decided to come here for a casual dinner meal and was not disappointed! The quality of the steak is very good (as was the buttered lobster tails which accompanied it!). Service provided by the attentive staff was also top notch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jarrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    66
    23
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a wonderfull dinner there - great meat and a very nice selection of wine. The waiters were very helpful when we wanted to change the table and during the whole dinner.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank laralara2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“high level of service and quality!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

the service was extremely good, polite and professional.
food quality and wine selection was exceptional. i will definitely go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Savvas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A steak house”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Capital Grille is an upmarket steak house. You expect a good steak and you get one. The restaurant is a bit pretentious but no need to over dress.
The volume of food is astounding. It is what I expect in America. Interestingly, the waiter will ask you if you want to add shrimp, lobster or crab on top of a monster steak.
Choice of salad and sides a bit restrictive for such an upmarket place.
Good food if you want a steak; however, lots of steak houses in Houston and I bet you can get a steak just as good for less money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
1,551 reviews
957 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 787 helpful votes
“Cannot go wrong with this place, keep reading....”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is an upscale restaurant NOT to do it everyday but once in a while, seated in the heart of the Galleria, has a dressing code which I appreciate, serves EXQUISITE steaks and has a great variety of wines, staff is trained to served demanding folks and prices obviously are HIGH but also service is GREAT so you pay for what you get, facilites are extremely clean and plenty of parking outside , valet or park yourself. Lights were a little too dimmed for me I could not read the menu but overall experience was AWESOME, I recommend this place with no doubt in my mind you will be satisfied 100%....make your reservations in advance because it could get crowded on weekends. A+++++++

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bryanmantezoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing