We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best TexMex in Houston” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chuy's Restaurant

Chuy's Restaurant
Ranked #117 of 8,115 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Afton Oaks/ River Oaks
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
252 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Best TexMex in Houston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Light, crispy chips with salsa and creamy jalapeno dip make it worth the trip. Also enjoy the rellenos, enchiladas and margaritas. Finally made it to Chuy's after years of hearing about it. It is now our "go-to TexMex" in Houston, Austin and Nashville.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    112
    46
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A favorite place for Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Chuy's is a great restaurant, best Mexican food in Houston. We have been regular at this restaurant for many years, and whenever, my daughters visit us, they want Chuy's!

With several vegetarian sauces to top our foods, each one in our family has their own favorite item on Menu. I go to Chuy's for Chile Rellenos. Since eating Chile Rellenos here, I do not even venture to try it at any other Mexican restaurant, nor I try anything else at Chuy's.

Another favorite item to go with food is the Texas Martini.

A great place for spicy vegetarian meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anshuman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing nite.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I always enjoy my trips to Chuys! This particular visit we sat outside. The service was spotty at best and we couldn't get our server to smile! We asked for things several times. We had a seven year old with three adults and we couldn't get our food requests done quickly enough to keep the little one happy. The 'chip car' was closed. I bought a t-shirt as usual but felt lousy about the food and service that night. I will go back, but I hope it's as fun as I've known it to be before.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston,Tx
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Chips!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Chuy's has to have the best chips of any Mexican restaurant. They have some good dishes and some bad. You have to know what to order. The Taco Salad, Guacamole, Tacos and Fajitas are very good. The Creamy Jalapeno Sauce is also very good but they don't deliver on the beans and rice, not good at all.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tex1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Four Happy Hour Hipsters.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Not! I went to Chuy's after a work function on a Friday at 5 pm. Happy Hour! . i ordered Guacamole and also Queso with our drinks. There is a Happy Hour bar with free chips, salsa, and QUESO. Not being a regular i paid 6 bucks for free food, basically. If I had been the waitress, I certainly would have told the customer that I did not need to order this, as it was free. But not our waitress! When I discovered the error of my ways, and mentioned it, she was clueless. "well, you ordered it...." after receiving the bill, I wrestled with my conscious, and settled on a 15% tip. What would you have done?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaTravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chuy's Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Chuy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing