We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where to eat Breakfast (Lunch or Dinner)”

Teotihuacan Mexican Cafe
Ranked #2,746 of 8,176 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Where to eat Breakfast (Lunch or Dinner)”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Have eaten here many times. If you're a restaurant snob and the flooring, lighting and service determine whether you're going to like the food, keep on driving. You're just going to leave more tables available for folks like me.

I've had the breakfast, a terrific lunch, and dinner several times when I visit Houston. Their sauces are excellent (I've transported the red sauce home more than once) and the food is fresh and delicious.

The most recent visit was actually take-out, which was determined 'dangerous' because it was so darn convenient and easy. The website is comprehensive and ordering was a breeze. We were told "Give us 10 minutes". The order was correct and tasted just as good as in the restuarant.

I'm a HUGE fan of their charro beans -- could seriously eat these every day. Flavorful and full of tomato and just right seasonings.

Never had anything here I didn't love.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KOSTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Outstanding Tex-Mex for a great price”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We were visiting from Atlanta and were taken to this restaurant by some friends who live in the Heights. Fabulous time, great food and fun atmosphere. Our waiter was terrific and the food was outstanding. It's always a pleasure to come to Houston for great Tex-Mex since Atlanta's idea of Mexican cuisine is a plate of mystery meat covered in cheese with sides of rice, refried beans and canned salsa. Ugh. The real treat was the prices. They were more than reasonable for some sophisticated dishes. I had the shrimp with cilantro, which was outstanding. The snapper cilantro, which my son had, was also great, as was the chicken with mustard sauce. All in all, from the fresh chips and salsas to the dessert flan, the meal was the best. As a bonus, they were having happy hour all day Monday and Tuesday, so our margaritas were half price! yay!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LillyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The reviews said this was a great place. I was disappointed. There are three locations and we went to the one on 1511 Airline. I had the chicken fajitas and my wife had a bean burrito.
The chips and dip were very good, especially the salsa. The fajitas were average.
My wife said she enjoyed her burrito.
The guacamole and pico de gallo were served in a chip on the plate. There was so little guacomole that when asked by the waiter how everything was, I showed him the guacomole and asked what was anyone supposed to do with so little. He shrugged his shoulders and said, "yes, this is not very much at all."
The service was lacking. our drinks went dry, as did our salsa cup.
I will not return, and would advise others to skip this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank topdrive465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“W. Belfort and Fondren”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We have been to all 3 of their locations. However, the best one is the W. Belfort location. The restaurant is run by 2 brothers and their respective wives. Chely takes the early shift and both sisters in law share the lunch time and finally Rocio closes. It is a match made in culinary HEAVEN!!! The margaritas are the BEST in Houston. That's a HUGE declaration and it is not made lightly. The spinach enchiladas are fabulous. The Chile Relleno with Chicken Fajita instead of ground beef is the way to go. If you're watching your calorie intake you'll want to order their Taco Salad estilo Doña Kristina. Both the red and the green salsa are made by the sister of the brothers and it is to write home about!!! The TORTILLAS take your pick corn or flour are brought hot and fresh to your table. We love it and so will you!! OH! The SERVICE is always friendly and with a genuine SMILE!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't let your CC out of your sight”
Reviewed 23 March 2012 via mobile

My Amex was duplicated at this establishment and used at two grocery stores in the area the next day. Food is great, just pay at the cashier on the way out instead of giving your waiter your card.

I'm sure the employee has been fired, but ...

Helpful?
1 Thank HouTXHeightsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teotihuacan Mexican Cafe also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Teotihuacan Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing