We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great home-style cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cleburne Cafeteria

Cleburne Cafeteria
Ranked #460 of 8,150 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great home-style cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I visited for dinner on a Sunday. They are closed on Saturdays or else we would have gone then. An out of town guest had asked us about this place and we thought we should check it out as we live so close. The portions were a nice size. All items are sold separately. There are no combo plate options. If you like dessert this is a great place! We had a gigantic piece of carrot-banana cake. It was delicious, moist and you could tell real bananas were used. We of course had to take most of it home! They are cash or check only so be prepared! We were not and there is no sign outside to warn you before you walk in.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Memtol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    30
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best home style cafeteria in Houston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Fresh delicious home style food. Outstanding flavor and large portions. Cleburne will cost more than your run of the mill home style cafeteria but it is well worth it. They take cash only and no ATM on the site some come prepared.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GHatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
“Nickel and dime you!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

When ordering food to go if you have ever been you could be waiting in a line and not even need to. Service at the register is not very friendly and you may feel rushed. They charge you for all of your containers, utencils, sauces, etc. Your receipt does not show you what you are charged for. Portions seem to be smaller in some cases for to-go items if they don't fun in the container. They take cash only. It needs a face-lift inside and they need to update the register. They should update to self service touch screens with pictures of their items so customers do not have to go thru a long line to see what they have and display cost easier. Also they need to itemize all the charges and provide descriptions. End this on a good note: Food has always been great and family style.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bdavis0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
155 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Cleburne Cafeteria was recommended by some friends and we were surprised how right they were. The food was excellent and we have been back several times. The portions are so large that a takeout container is a must unless you can share with someone else. We buy an entree (meat), a potato, a salad and a desert and the total bill is about $16. and we are both full when we are done. Excellent service and a wide variety. The only disapointment ever here was their roast beef.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandPenguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun
Level Contributor
199 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best cafeteria in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Amazing food, great taste, good service.
Wide selection of food. Love the kale salad..........I could eat here every day. Watch out for the elderly people for their early bird dinner.

Helpful?
2 Thank uvamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cleburne Cafeteria also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cleburne Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing