We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza in Houston”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Star Pizza 2

Star Pizza 2
Ranked #601 of 8,150 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the summer of 1976, Henry "Hank" Zwirek and his buddy, Ed, both native Chicagoans, grew tired of living in the windy city and relocated to Houston. Hank realized the burgeoning city lacked high quality pizza and delivery service (which was a norm in Chicago). In the summer of 1976, Henry "Hank" Zwirek and his buddy, Ed, both native Chicagoans, grew tired of living in the windy city and relocated to Houston. Hank realized the burgeoning city lacked high quality pizza and delivery service (which was a norm in Chicago). Acting on Hank's instincts, the two purchased a quaint two-story house on Norfolk and in October of 1976, a Star (pizza) was born.Business continued to thrive and Hank was eager to expand. In the summer of 1988 a second Star was born, affectionately named Star 2. The offspring of the original was located at 140 S. Heights Blvd. in the building that's now home to Chatter's.The original Star is still located in the house on Norfolk, and continues to offer the same homely atmosphere as it did in 1976. To this day the Zwirek family owns and operates both locations and thanks their loyal Star Pizzanites for their support throughout the years.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Houston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I've been going to Start Pizza for years, this is easily the best pizza Houston, TX has to offer. Toppings are always fresh, and delicious. Prices are reasonable for the quality you get.

I love their craft beer selection, they always have the harder to find Saint Arnolds beers (like Divine Reserve)

During the weekdays they have a lunch buffet that's awesome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mm54943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thanks for the great review MM! We're glad you've enjoyed our pizza and beer selection for years!

As far as us getting Saint Arnold's special releases (beers), that should continue for years to come! After all we were their first commercial account!

Thanks again!

Benjamin and Hank Zwirek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    41
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Classic Houston. Definitely some of the best pizza this city has. Try the roasted garlic with bread - it's amazing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thanks for the great review and suggestion Frances!

Benjamin and Hank Zwirek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Some of the best pizza in Houston.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Great pizza with lots of toppings. The crust and sauce are really yummy. They can get really busy (and then slow). Parking can be a headache.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNSc-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thanks n3mentx for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed our crust and pizza sauce.

Come back and visit!

- Benjamin and Hank Zwirek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best New York in Texas!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Best pizza in town... Great salads!!! Great atmosphere friendly staff conveniently located... Wish we had one in the west side of town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Techanlada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thanks Techanlanda for the great review! We're glad you enjoy our salads, pizza, service, overall atmosphere, and location.

If and when we do our another location, the west side will definitely be getting the first one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go for the lunch buffet.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Perfect place for a quick lunch with firends before heading to Memorial Park. The pizza there is amazing. Haven't found one I don't like.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thanks for the great review Pita Z! We're glad you enjoy our pizza and our lunch buffet!

Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star Pizza 2 also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Star Pizza 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing