We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buttery Prime Rib” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste of Texas Restaurant

Taste of Texas Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 8,115 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Natchez, Mississippi
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Buttery Prime Rib”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Always a good meal here. It is top notch on every item, but expensive. The wait staff always ask if you are there celebrating something, because it is a special occasion place. I've been lucky enough to go on business expense several times. Everything is always good. Favorites: filet, prime rib, salad bar, and bread.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank batsnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,826
    480
    124
    37
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere, more than you can eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Excellent salad buffet; friendly, family but busy/noisy atmosphere (compared to others like Pappas' bros).

Steaks are huge; you can go in the back to select your own (esp. for first time visitors).
Good value for money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,372 reviews
565 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 652 helpful votes
“Salad, starters, steaks, shrimp, sides, sweets all top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Went to the Taste of Texas for a team lunch. Bit of a treat. They are so popular that they normally do not take reservations and also do not really have separate dining rooms, but for us they had prepared a long table for about 20 people in a narrow corner of the restaurant which did give us the privacy we preferred for the event. The food was just outstandingly good, and the service very much on top of things in a relaxed way with special attention for newcomers to the restaurant including lots of explanations and a photo taken with cowboy hats and bandana for keeps. Salad, starters, steaks, shrimp, sides, sweets all top notch.

I have not been to all steakhouses in Houston, which is nigh imposible, but I am glad to say this is surely the best one I have been to (and I have been to some good other ones too).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fiasco Dinner!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

After fighting to get a parking spot and waiting 1H15 Min for a table. My wife and I we wanted to relax and enjoy a good dinner, We ordered for her a Tuna Steak with Broccoli and baked potato.
The Tuna was a very small steak undercooked and the food was served after 30 Min we ordered. This place looked like a zoo! I have to say the waiter was nice. The chocking fact is that plate was poor and overpriced at $39.00. The experience was not too pleasant! Probably is worth to get a beef steak than fish in this place!
John C

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waterguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
470 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

First let me say this place was amazing. The atmosphere was wonderful and already decked out for Christmas. The service was top notch and my server was at my table almost immediately after sitting down. Now for the food. All steaks come with either soup or the salad bar and one side. I ordered the Texas onion soup and the garlic mashed potatoes with my NY Strip. The soup was quite delicious and not too salty like some onion soups can be. It was a good size portion and actually didnt finish it because I didnt want to fill up on sides. The mashed potatoes were light and fluffy and my only complaint was that they didnt seem to have enough of a garlic taste for me. Finally, the steak was exceptional. It was served hot and very juicy and cooked just the way I like. Now for the bad and that was the wait! If you get there during prime time, you will wait at least 60-90 minutes and they don't just tell you that. I waited for 75 and I was dining by myself. The one nice thing that they do which is they have free popcorn, salsa and soft drinks for you while you wait which is a really nice touch. Despite the wait time, I would go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EpicGuy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of Texas Restaurant also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Taste of Texas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing