We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the Line”

Pappas Bros. Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Pappas Bros. Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 8,183 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between Chimney Rock & Fountain View
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top of the Line”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Pappas Steakhouse is the top of the line in Houston. Excellent steaks and seafood, talented bar staff, excellent wine list, very knowledgeable and accessible sommelier who will with work with your taste and budget, wonderful ambience, lively atmosphere, and perhaps most important in Houston, completely accessible (unlike Del Frisco's, for example, which requires a trek through the Galleria garages). Pretty good bar menu too at lesser cost. Can't beat it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,093
    253
    65
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best birthday dinner ever”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Went to Pappas Bro Steakhouse in October 2013, to celebrate my 22 yr birthday, and I cannot say how wonderful that restaurant was. The waiter was helpful, even when we needed a charger for the Iphone, he found one for us.
The menu was very good: we asked for Seared Foie Gras for appetizer, the Porterhouse 40.oz with Au gratin potatoes and onion rings (they were huge), and that dinner was... wow! Incredible! And for 2 only. The price was ok for the quality, being the best steakhouse in Houston.
In the end, we had to ask for a dessert because we just could not leave the place without trying it. The chocolate midnight cake is the best dessert I have ever tried, and I'm definitely returning there again. A good restaurant, good service, and best dinner in Houston. Expensive, but it is worth the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malbuquerque21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Steak House in Houston”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We took our daughter out for her birthday and we were not disappointed. Even though we had reservations, arrived approximately 15 minutes early on a weeknight, there was a wait. Fortunately, the bar was in close proximity and it was very welcoming. This is a little noisy environment, so if you are looking for a quiet/romantic setting, you might want to take this into consideration. Looking around the room where we were located, it appeared this restaurant was catering to the after work, business clientele. The bread and butter will no doubt cause you to ask for a take home box. The appetizers, wine, entrees and desert were very good. Our service was very good and attention to detail excellent. We were in no hurry and made sure our waiter understood. He was very good at taking cues from me when to proceed with our next course. At the end of the night when my daughter did not want a desert, he again engaged her with, "select a desert and I'll box it up for you to take home and enjoy tomorrow." I appreciated his extra effort to make sure our evening was memorable. This is not cheap and for a family of four with drinks and food, expect to pay $$$$$. We will be back the next time I'm in Houston.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CyberChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
580 reviews
417 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“No Surprises. Excellent Steak as usual at Pappas”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

If you are going to talk business ask for a quiet corner or a backroom at Pappas. It can be a bit noisy in the main restaurant area. Pappas is a great steakhouse so no surprises by me stating the steak was wonderful. The crab cakes starter was very good too. I must admit I usually head to Ruth Chris in Houston for a business dinner as it is a bit quieter and I feel the service is a bit better. The food is a toss up between them as both are first class. The decor is nice and the bar is quite cozy at Pappas so well worth a visit. One thing was pretty slow service the day I went. Unusual for Pappas

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average Food.”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The steaks are good. Food expensive and not quality matches for the price.
Little things like the bread and butter not to bad.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tutto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pappas Bros. Steakhouse also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pappas Bros. Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing