We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Bite”
Review of Mi Luna

Mi Luna
Reserve with OpenTable
Mi Luna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #953 of 8,206 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: US$1 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: University Place
Cross street: Kelivin
Description: Mi Luna Authentic Tapas Restaurant and Bar has been providing great food, cocktails, live music, and dancing in Houston, Texas for the past 15 years. When you walk into Mi Luna you are entering one of the best restaurants in Houston with one of the best atmospheres for dining with friends, enjoying happy hour, dancing with great people, and drinking excellent cocktails. We offer live music Wednesday thru Saturday ranging from Flamenco, Cuban, and a diverse Latino playlist. Mi Luna Tapas Restaurant and Bar serves lunch and dinner for Houston locals in search of a great date night, friends get together, or large party event. At Mi Luna Tapas Restaurant and Bar, we also cater parties. Visit us to enjoy a great Spanish restaurant with excellent tapas, small plates, cocktails, live music, and dancing.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quick Bite”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I lived in Houston in 2002 and loved this place. We went back for a quick visit and had to go back here to see if it was as I remembered. It was! The food is great. Small plates to share. On this trip, we were there during happy hour. $3 plates. Can't beat that. Great goat cheese with garlic bread, yummy empanadas, and my kids loved the calamari. Hope to be back again someday!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christy2376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    69
    24
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very poor representation of tapas. If you've ever been to Spain, this place will really disappoint you. Lousy food served by a wait staff who look at you as an imposition on their day. Plus, there's no parking except valet. Dark depressing interior adds to the experience. Go find some BBQ!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great menu”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I've never eaten at a tapas restaurant before and was pleasantly surprised. It took some time for us to make up our minds on what to order as there were so many interesting items on the menu. I settled on potato croquettes and a Mediterranean chicken dish. Both were very good. My spouse had a cup of black bean soup and a meatball dish. He said they were good, too. I would definitely return to try some more of the interesting items on the menu! Wait staff was very attentive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nanatotwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
545 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Tasty Tapas!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very nice tapas menu and great combo platters with 7 choices for $65.00. The sangria was nice though a little on the tart side. Our favorite tapas were the baked goat cheese with a tomato sauce, potato croquettes, and a spinach and goat cheese croquette. All the shellfish tapas were nice as well. Serving were large enough for everyone to share. We chose to sit outside and had a lovely evening with very attentive service. We will definitely visit here again when in town!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 860SusanB860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, surly service ”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

First and probably last time at Mi Luna. Excellent tapas: grilled veggies, chicken croquettes, and empanadas were great. Serrano wrapped salmon was tasty but the fish was a little overcooked. Service was terrible--waiter brought a drink we didn't order and overcharged on tapas that were part of a happy hour menu. BTW it was 3:00 and not crowded. No communication from sullen server who also tried to clear plates before we were finished. It's rare to find a tapas place with interesting, well-prepared food do it's worth it for that. It's a 4 for food and a 2 for service.

Helpful?
Thank Fi1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mi Luna also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mi Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing