We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Tex-Mex around”

El Tiempo Cantina Washington
Ranked #27 of 8,150 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Tex-Mex around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

El Tiempo is definitely some of the best tex-mex in Houston. Everything that I have eaten there is great! The queso is one of my favorite quesos in Houston. The frozen strawberry margaritas are delicious!! I've eaten the steak fajitas, nachos, and enchiladas at El Tiempo and have never been disappointed. The only downside is that now I won't try anything else because I always want what I have ordered before! The staff is great and super friendly. Also, a great fun atmosphere!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    74
    37
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jane Lew, West Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We ate there this evening and found the food to be excellent. Great service wonderful Margaritas. I has a half order of Crab and Bacon quesadilla with extra Guacamole. Wonderful! Beth had the 1/4 lb. beef Fajita. Real meat on it! Great meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy, tx
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Taking another look at an old friend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The restaurant is generally very good. The food is consistent and varied. As you can read in an earlier review that I did, I am a big fan of the food and the atmosphere. A great spot that continues to have great success. Here's my issue. A large chile con queso is more than $14 with tax. Yes...I said $14. It is not gourmet chile con queso. It is chile con queso that is not even remotely near the best in town. Were it the best in town, I might not quibble. As far as I can tell, however, it is by far the most expensive meatless chile con queso in the city (find me one that costs more....I looked). Fully 50% more expensive than that of her peers. The menu, overall, is too expensive for much of the standard fare items, even at lunch where dinner-like prices dominate the lunch specal menu. If somebody else is picking up the tab, I will go. I am going to spend my money elsewhere because there are too many Mexican restaurants in town that are more interesting and offer significantly better value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yelocrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great casual Mexican spot in Houston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Recently ate at El Tiempo with business partners while in Houston. Overall great experience - loud, fun atmosphere, great margaritas, chips and salsa were awesome, and my favorite...we shared a large platter of fajitas, ribs, quail, and shrimp with all of the trimmings - guacamole, rice, beans, etc. Amazing and such a great way to share a meal. Would definitely come again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jzemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spicewood, Texas
Level Contributor
307 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best beef fajitas & quail in Houston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Eight family members celebrated a birthday at El Tiempo's on Washington Street and were served the best beef fajitas in Houston. We also loved the grilled quail, queso, guacamole, hot sauce & margaritas. The place was buzzing with customers. Our servers kept the chip bowls and water glasses full. It's a fun place to party with lots of menu items. Be sure and have an order of sopapias before paying the tab!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Number1green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Tiempo Cantina Washington also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Tiempo Cantina Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing