We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost overwhelming”

Kenny & Ziggy's New York Deli
Ranked #14 of 8,173 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Great Uptown
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Almost overwhelming”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I go to Houston regularly, so when I saw this place on a cooking show my wife was watching I decided I'd try it on some future visit. Finally had the right opportunity. It is a busy place in a busy strip mall, so parking became a strategy and racing challenge between me and another customer. I won! I've never been to New York, but the fast pace and atmosphere here must be close to the real thing. Late lunch time service was excellent. The menu is enormous and somewhat confusing to a west Texas boy. I got many suggestions from various waiters, none of which I followed in the end. I ordered a corned beef and pastrami on rye combo sandwich (the Ziggalicious, I think it was) with a side of potato salad. It was humongous. More than a human should consume, but I managed. It was excellent. I recommend any flatlander touristers going by should give this place a try. Really easy off and on I-610.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JR J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    235
    64
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“If you need a New York FIX!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

After living in London, to go have breakfast here was like in heaven. All fresh, all big food, all polite people... and then the food came....

If you have a chance wander over they are great, friendly and the place you want to be on any morning.

The sandwiches are huge... so make sure your hotel room has a fridge...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_Green037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macduff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visited Kenny & Ziggy's in Houston and was not disappointed. It has been on Diners, Drive ins and Dives so was expecting something special before I went and was not let down.
Friendly and attentive staff looked after me until a table became available. This is a busy restaurant, but they are very fair and seat in the order that you put your name down even if its busy. I was alone, but was shown to a booth that would sit 4 even though there were larger parties waiting behind me. They have an extensive menu which brings the New York Deli experience to Houston. Food was excellent and my glass was filled regularly without me ever having to ask so the attention to the customer was never lost. Would highly recommend it, even if you go just to sample the experience

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lotta NY Sandwich”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

First, the pickles...excellent. Unfortunately, request for more not provided. Food good, service decent. Get there before 11:45 to not wait too long.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh my GOOD-ness!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Kenny & Ziggy's is just heaven in Houston! Their classic ruben sandwich is just to die for! The cabbage rolls are wonderful - better than my grandmothers! The matza ball soup is a delight! This place is popular so a little wait might be expected at busy times, but well worth it. Located in the Galleria district, it's easy to find and ample parking is right out front. The pies and other deserts are an absolute wonder. A little pricey, but the portions are very generous and the quality of food - one doesn't really mind the cost. The service is impeccable too, I might add!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kenny & Ziggy's New York Deli also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kenny & Ziggy's New York Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing