We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty but pricey”

Dessert Gallery Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #11 of 93 Bakeries in Houston
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch
Neighbourhood: Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
402 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Tasty but pricey”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I enjoyed the cake, German Chocolate, I had the other night. The slice was large and I ended up taking 2/3 of it home to eat later. I could feel the diabetes rush set in. The slice was 6.95. Next time I will opt for a cupcake so it is less food (sugar). I can't complain about the taste or the size. The coffee was good at this location as well. There is some outside seating and they do have a shelf of games you can play while slowly eating that large slice of cake :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drsped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    15
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I was really looking forward to going to a place dedicated to desserts given I am a dessert lover. However, after trying the Lemon cupcake and the chocolate cake I was very disappointed.
The place is very cute and looks like a great place to hang out. There is a counter where you can look over the desserts and then order and take it back to your seat. I picked the lemon cupcake with curd filling and lemon icing. My husband picked the chocolate cake. Both were extremely dry. I could not figure out whether it was because they were stale or whether they were overcooked or just a very bad recipe. However, both items were dried out and we could not even eat them. The curd was missing entirely from the cupcake. We thought maybe we could use the frosting to help cover up with dryness but it did not work, frosting even crumbled. We did not eat and left. Sad but true. I would recommend avoiding this place unless you just want to get a cup of coffee and enjoy the environment. Also, it is primarily cakes not pies or other desserts.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyM223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The ultimate dessert destination...”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

When travelling out of our "bubble" in The Woodlands for dinner, we always find ourselves skipping dessert at the restaurant and heading to the Dessert Gallery. Their cakes are simply decadent, with rich buttercream and moist cakes. My favorite is the French Vanilla, and my husband always goes back and forth between the Red Velvet and the Italian Cream. Sometimes we try their cookies and bars - they are just as wonderfully fresh and delicious.

This past visit, I was there to pick up 2 cakes for a birthday in our family: the first was The Chosen Cheesecake (the celebrant's favorite: strawberry cheesecake topped with white chocolate mousse) and, for the chocolate lovers in the family, Chocolate Vacherin (mile high chocolate mouse in a crisp and delicate meringue shell. Both are very impressive.

FYI, ALL of their desserts are impressive to look at so, if you are needing to bring a dessert for a dinner party, this is the place to go. I ordered mine directly from their website, where you can see photos of exactly what you'll get. And believe me, in this case, all items taste better than they look :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M_in_The_Woodlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lufkin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great selection!”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

This place is so yummy! My husband always gets the Toffeelicious, but I switch it up between vanilla, strawberry and lemon. They are all delicious! Plus, they have cupcakes, brownies, and cookies. The options are endless!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank green_eyed_mommy_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
316 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Seating but food just OK”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I was disappointed with the choices and the cake I tried was a not as fresh as I would have wanted. The coffee was very good. To compete with other similar places like the Chocolate Bar this place has a long way to go.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank zepper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dessert Gallery Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dessert Gallery Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing