We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENCE!”

Guadalajara Mexican Grill & Bar
Ranked #225 of 8,206 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
266 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“EXCELLENCE!”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Sunday Brunch, we stayed at the Hilton and they didn't have one and was led to Guadalajara's. Server was very nice and I even let him pick my meal. I had the corn bisque with a lumb crab topping with was the very best soup ever. Had the small meat pies (can't remember the name) and then this wonderful Leche cake for dessert. The cake was soaked in three layers of Milk and was delicious. Excellent Restaraunt and service and food. Will be back for sure, and I can't wait!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyMom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    55
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great fish”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Really enjoyed the Talapia, and the service was great.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daviddoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expected better because of ratings here.”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The salsas, both red and green, were very good. The food was just average. Service was ok but nothing special. Seems their drink prices are rather high though. $4 for a bottle of budweiser? $7 - $10 for a margarita??? Maybe that is just Houston! The portions were good sized and tasty but have had much better. Tortillas are made in house which is nice but my entree- tilapia tacos - was served in soggy tasteless tortillas. Disappointing. Looked like the tortilla was not cooked all the way but just enough to firm it up or precook it. Hubs had the TexMex enchiladas and said they were pretty bland and needed at least a little salt. Don't think we are going back. Too many great restaurants in Houston to repeat this one!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hr78932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineral Wells, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great margaritas!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Ordered a margarita swirl, which was pretty and tasty! Large menu with a variety of items. Good food and service. It's located in a shopping complex with other restaurants to choose from.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jkcalcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The sign says Guadalajara Fine Mexican Food and it is fine! The salsa was some of the best ever and the flautas were great. We had a long wait both nights I went there but it was worth it. Tres Leches cake was tasty and enough for four people to share.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guadalajara Mexican Grill & Bar also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Guadalajara Mexican Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing