We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Untold history”

Buffalo Soldiers National Museum
Ranked #49 of 298 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "The Buffalo Soldiers National Museum a proud member of the Houston Museum District is the only Museum dedicated primarily to preserving the legacy and honor of the African-American soldier, in the United States of America."
Houston
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Untold history”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is truly an historical museum depicting the service and sacrifice of the American soldier. Tickets prices are reasonable; only $5 the last time I visit. If you are looking for a unique museum rich in history check out the Buffalo Soldiers National Museum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RMcgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    27
    10
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Under-examined topic in American History”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was an interesting museum which gives an overview of the role of the Buffalo Soldiers in American history. This is a really interesting subject and certainly deserves a museum, and it is very appropriate to have it in Houston. While the artefacts that are there are well-displayed, it would have been nice to have had a bit more information and more artefacts from the early period (revolutionary and civil, Spanish and Indian wars, etc) but overall definitely a good experience. Staff were friendly and helpful. One major problem - if you are viewing this on the Tripadvisor City Guide they have the pin in the wrong place on the map and we walked for nearly an hour in the heat having gone to the address on the map - I urge you not to make that mistake and to check the museum website - the address on Caroline near to Ensemble station is the correct one.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RdeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Privileged to Visit”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We have, in the past, seen some documentaries on Public Television stations and maybe 60 Minutes about the importance of the Buffalo Soldiers in American History.
We did not know there was a museum connected to their stories.
While in Houston, we visited the museum and felt very grateful for all they did and with the pride they had of serving our country. Sadly, they had to also deal with segregation in their personal lives while doing this.

I felt honored to read and hear their stories!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tootsis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Little known, but should be better known. Extremely informative and full of good anecdotes and information about veterans and in particular African-American veterans.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank swinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Untold History”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I first visited this museum when it was in a house on Southmore with my dad and step-mom and went back recently with a friend visiting from out-of-town. The museum has relocated to a new and bigger facility with more extensive exhibits and within the museum district. One can learn about the contributions of African Americans, and the roles they have played in every war in American History. There is also a room featuring prominent African American astronauts. You can walk through the museum on your own or enjoy a tour guide.However, you will first view a 15 minute quick film before walking the museum. Be sure to purchase books and/or other items from the souvenir shop. It is definitely a venue all should see when visiting Houston.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kayshelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffalo Soldiers National Museum also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Buffalo Soldiers National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing