We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother Daughter Outing ”

Buffalo Soldiers National Museum
Ranked #43 of 332 things to do in Houston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "The Buffalo Soldiers National Museum a proud member of the Houston Museum District is the only Museum dedicated primarily to preserving the legacy and honor of the African-American soldier, in the United States of America."
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Free museum admission Thursdays.
Gift shop available and additional
artifacts have been added since our
last visit. It includes uniforms from many different branches of the military including NASA. It is a smaller museum but nonetheless worth a visit.

Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul m, Manager at Buffalo Soldiers National Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the 5 star review. We appreciate you sharing feedback from your recent visit, and we're pleased to know you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"american history"
in 12 reviews
"african americans"
in 8 reviews
"harriet tubman"
in 5 reviews
"underground railroad"
in 4 reviews
"re enactment"
in 3 reviews
"armed forces"
in 3 reviews
"short film"
in 3 reviews
"informative film"
in 2 reviews
"brave men and women"
in 2 reviews
"early days"
in 2 reviews
"free entry"
in 2 reviews
"learn something"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"two hours"
in 2 reviews
"role"
in 9 reviews
"contribution"
in 12 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A relatively small museum with a collection of military weapons, and civilian and military equipment, and documentation, recalling the achievements and contribution to American civil and military history by black Americans who fought for their country.

2  Thank Escape-overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul m, Manager at Buffalo Soldiers National Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your experience at the museum. We hope you'll visit us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

This museum is a real gem among similar museums. It is very well organized and easy to navigate. Start with the short film when you arrive, even if it is is progress. It will start over again for you. The museum features an amazing collection of artifacts, uniforms, weapons, photographs and letters. You will learn something...I promise you. Staff are very friendly and always ready to help.

1  Thank Gumgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul m, Manager at Buffalo Soldiers National Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thank you for the 5 star review. We strive to provide a friendly and educational atmosphere, and we're pleased to know this was reflected in your experience. We hope you'll visit us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Wk to his old slave mastere have no connections to Buffalo soldiers but found this a fascinating visit.

It is a very personal museum - we met the founder changing one of the exhibits - and it isn't modern and flashy. But the exhibits are extremely interesting. Be sure to read the letter from a freed slave back to his old slave master.

I would recommend this for anyone who is interested in finding out about lesser known aspects of American history - you will learn a lot. It will suit someone who enjoys taking the time to study exhibits and read the information provided.

1  Thank eliza725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul m, Manager at Buffalo Soldiers National Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for the review, Eliza! We appreciate your recommendation and your support. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Short movie when you walk in - explains everything. The displays are quick to move through, but LOTS of stuff to look at. Really helps you appreciate the Buffalo Soldiers. Veterans get in free, and there’s a discount for seniors. Gift shop is nice and the staff is friendly. We spent about 30 minutes there.

Thank NanaFradette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul m, Manager at Buffalo Soldiers National Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Hello, thank you for the great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope you will visit us again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffalo Soldiers National Museum also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Buffalo Soldiers National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing