We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real tranquility‎” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenwood Cemetery

Glenwood Cemetery
Ranked #25 of 284 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Includes the grave of Howard Hughes
Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Real tranquility‎”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Sometimes the small stuff is the good stuff—hidden away in Houston is the beautiful Glenwood historic cemetery. The grounds are the resting place for notable Texan residents including my favorite; Howard Hughes and Gene Tierney (actress). The landscape and statuary artwork at the cemetery is wonderful; it almost feels like a park in certain area and a place to have a picnic. I recommend parking the car and take a walk to take it in. The friendly ground keepers helped us out to the find Hughes plot, but you can always ask the main office.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Downtown_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    18
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice program for an afternoon....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Interesting stories and beautiful landscape and trees located on the bank of Buffalo Bayou. Many known Houstonians are buried there, as well as Howard Hughes who died on a flight from Acapulco to Houston.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank evamariacampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Historic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

There are lots of famous people in this cemetery. The winding paths and trees are very picturesque. I recommend this for people who are interested in cemeteries and/or history.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank anthem281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tombstone Art Gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

It's the resting place of Howard Hughes and many of Houston's greats. My favorite monument is the one shown here but next to that is the DeBakey monument, a heart of course. Very quiet in the heart of Houston and so beautiful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york, pa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful well-kept awesome cemetery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Ok, I am not a morbid person, but I appreciate the artwork that went into monuments from the 1800's. This cemetery has a lot of Houston and Texas history and a lot of really cool monuments. I visited the grave of Gene Tierney and Howard Hughes. There are many life size monuments in different poses, and many monuments that are just beautiful. The cemetery is well maintained and like a garden. I think that reading a person's name from an old tombstone brings them back to life again, especially if they don't have any family to remember them. I loved parking and walking the cemetery to see what I would miss if I just drove. I obtained a guide from the office.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kkitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenwood Cemetery also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Glenwood Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing