We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel and pool but beware of the "smoking haven"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area
Ranked #55 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and pool but beware of the "smoking haven"”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Nice hotel. Pool area was really nice. Room was average compared to other HGI hotels. Great location just a few blocks from The Galleria mall.

However, if you are a non-smoker and/or cannot be around smoke then beware of the "smoking haven" which is located right by the parking garage elevators. I was shocked that no only was the smoking area located by the elevators, they also had patio furniture, an outdoor propane heater, and a "Smoking Haven" sign. The odd thing is that directly across from this "smoking haven" there is another large area that seemed more suitable since it was not next to the elevator. I will post pictures of this area so you can see for yourself.

I travel to Houston a few times each year but since I try to avoid smoke whenever possible because of my asthma. For this reason, I doubt that I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontheroadagain411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIHoustonGalleria, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Ontheroadagain411,

Thank you for your stay with us and taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate you noticing our tropical waterfall and pool area unique to our property. Thanks for also noticing the property's ideal location to the Galleria mall, restaurants, and shopping. It is great to be in walking distance to so many attractions yet away from the traffic of Westheimer Rd.

While we are a non-smoking hotel, we do offer specific areas outside of the hotel to accomodate those guests who are smokers. We will be happy to take into consideration your comments regarding these areas.

Thanks again for your review and we hope you will join us here again in the future!

Sincerely,

Brooke S.
Senior Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    179
    68
    28
    18
See reviews for
177
73
37
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Great location near Houston Galleria, walking distance to the mall. Good eating places - various choices. I did not have dinner here but did have breakfast. Breakfast is fairly typical of Hilton Garden Inns if you are familiar - Good but nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajan613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIHoustonGalleria, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Rajan613,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to enjoy our wonderful location. We wish you had a chance to have dinner with us as we have a number of specials and a variety of different entrees.

We will continue to make efforts in exceeding your expecations for breakfast. We strive to have the best breakfast in the area.

We hope you'll be back next time you are in the Houston area.

Thank you,
Diane G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This was a business trip and holiday for my husband and I. Although the hotel was packed out for the whole week due to an ongoing conference, there was still ample parking available. The modest-sized lobby area was large enough for the occasional client meetings, yet cosy enough for afternoon tea.
The dining area was rather small but just enough to cater for the morning crowd. There isn't much to look forward to, save for the DIY waffles if you have the time.
The rooms were not "wow" but well-maintained. Other than the slow-to-respond TV remote controls, it was a cosy setup.

The selling point for HGI is their location. Just beside it, within 5 minutes' walking distance is a stretch of shops and restuarants (e.g. Ross, CVS, mediterranean buffet). The hotel also provides transport service to send and pick you back up for anywhere within 3miles' radius. This would include the Galleria Mall, and would be a saviour with all the shopping bags.

The icing on the cake was the friendly greetings received throughout the hotel. The atmosphere was relaxing, which is wonderful for business travellers looking to wind down after a day of meetings.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms to the side of the hotel nearer the gentlemen's club for a quieter night's rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyndiAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIHoustonGalleria, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear CyndiAng,

Thank you so much for your kind words! I've shared your review with the staff. We love it when our guests recognize our staff members for their wonderful customer service, we strive to provide our guests with a great experience while they are here.

Our location is definitely hard to beat. It's easy and convenient unlike the busy commute on Westheimer.

We look forward to having you back next time your travel plans bring you to the Houston Galleria Area.

Thanks and have a great day!
-Diane G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Numana, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Excellent and confortable stay. Well located and therefore useful to join the most important business places. The availability of the personnel to always cooperate with the customer for his best satisfacion, has been much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Marisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIHoustonGalleria, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Marisa B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I've shared your kind words with the staff and we thank you for your loyalty. We hope to see you back soon.

Have a great day!

Warmest Regards,
Diane G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The hotel was clean and a very good area. As others said, easy access to the Galleria mall, restaurants, shops. Not that we need new friends but found the staff less that gracious. No greetings or general questions e.g. "Everything O.k.? Can we help with anything? Barely lifted their head all the times we walked by the front desk unless directly approached. We're so conscious of that coming from a tourist city. But would recommend if asked.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIHoustonGalleria, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Nori D.,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments and we thank you for letting us know your thoughts on the front desk. I've discussed this review with our front office manager and she will be working with the entire team on a daily basis to ensure that no guest walks by without being greeted. Thank you for bringing it to our attention, without your review we would not be able to correct the problem.

We hope you'll be back to visit us the next time you're in the Houston area.

Have a wonderful day!
-Diane G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Just two blocks away from the Mall The Galleria. Excelent breakfast, confortable rooms and great service.
Convenient parking and quiet eviroment.

You are near many places, like CVS, fast food, Bars, etc..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIHoustonGalleria, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Laura A.,

Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is hard to beat. We are just 1/2 block from the Houston Galleria but you don't have to deal with the congestion on Westheimer. You can easily get around the Galleria area using Richmond.

We also take pride in making this your home away from home by offering a lot of those comforts you expect and more. Thank you for noticing.

Please come visit us again the next time your travels bring you to Houston.

Warmest Regards,
Diane G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

In Houston for a wedding and had a great stay. A few of the guests stayed at the St. Regis; however, several of us stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn and noted that it was almost as nice for MUCH less money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank CamW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIHoustonGalleria, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel and for choosing to stay with us vs. the additional hotel option you were given. We strive in being the best value in the Galleria area so we're happy that you noticed!

Thanks again and please come back and see us if you're ever in the Houston Galleria Area.

-Diane G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Great Uptown
Courtyard Houston by The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area
Address: 3201 Sage Rd, Houston, TX 77056-6307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Houston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#52 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Uptown District, the Hilton Garden Inn Houston/Galleria Area hotel is surrounded by a lively mix of shops and restaurants. Our Houston hotel is steps from the prominent Galleria Mall offering excellent shopping and dining experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing