We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I think the room made me sick” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area
Ranked #55 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I think the room made me sick”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

When I first walked in the room there was a sewer smell but I thought it would go away. Well it didn't and after 3 nights in this room and waking with a headache every day I asked to be moved. They moved me across the hall and there was no smell and no headache. The rooms didn't have screens in the windows so even tho I wanted to open the windows for fresh air I didn't want bugs in the room either.
The restaurant was average breakfast fare. Location was good near freeway and restaurants but way over priced for a Hilton Garden Inn. I guess they can gouge you when all the hotels are full nearby. Also, note it is next to a strip club if that bothers you.
I did almost get hit by a car while walking in the area so would not recommend a walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2vacation14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear luv2vacation14,

We apologize that your experience at the hotel was not up to your or our expectations. We thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We immediately placed the room out of service after we moved you and continue to monitor this room so that no other traveler will experience this odor. If you would like to discuss further, please do not hesitate to call me directly at the hotel.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    174
    65
    28
    17
See reviews for
172
73
36
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vitoria, ES
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

It was my second time at this location. The location is great, near The Galleria, stores, restaurants.. Never tried the breakfast and room service, but all that I need duting my stay, the staff helped me a lot. The option of a late check out, because of my late flight to brazil made all the diference.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaviaQA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear FlaviaQA,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to recognize the helpfulness of our staff. We are happy that the location of the hotel was perfect for you while doing business in the area. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Houston.

Warmest regards,

Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

he hotel location is very good for my job. The amenities are descent and services provided by the hotel staff are very good. The complimentary internet service in my room appeared to be a bit slow and sometimes it would just disconnect without prior notice. The free breakfast provided was satisfactory which would have been great with the inclusion of some fresh fruits such as banana everyday for a guy like me who prefers vegetarian breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sujan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Sujan B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to hear that our staff took excellent care of you while staying with us. I apologize that you found the internet slow. The good news is that we will be upgrading the bandwidth of our service in the next few weeks. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Houston.

Warmest regards,

Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Last stayed here in 2010 for business. Cleanliness standards are maintained. Bed is as comfortable. Furniture looks exactly the same as 4 years back, meaning they look a bit dated, could do with some upkeeping/upgrading. Complimentary water has been taken away; a shame for Hilton standards. Otherwise, this stay has been a pleasant one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ming Wei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

It`s a shame that there is no way to give an overall rating of good, because that would be most fitting. The overall rating of very good won`t be deserved. Therefore its only average. The room (709) was good and clean and nicely furnished. The front desk staff was very good and helpful. As far as breakfast services is concerned, the service was slow, uncaring and unsmiling, a stark contrast to the outstanding breakfast service at the Hilton Garden Inn, Pearland, TX.
The HGI Galleria has a great location, walking distance to shopping.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The staff was great at check-in. They helped us to move to a suite at a lesser price. The hotel lobby, restaurant and rooms were very clean. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced; great buffet breakfast. Our grandchildren had a great time at the pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We recently had a conference that took place at the Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria and from the Sales Manager to staff (front desk to food service, houskeeping, shuttle in other words everyone) we received nothing but 10+ service.

Thank you for making our group feel right at home, I received so many good reviews from our group that they've requested next time we host the conferene it be at the same hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Courtyard Houston by The Galleria
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area
Address: 3201 Sage Rd, Houston, TX 77056-6307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Houston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#52 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Uptown District, the Hilton Garden Inn Houston/Galleria Area hotel is surrounded by a lively mix of shops and restaurants. Our Houston hotel is steps from the prominent Galleria Mall offering excellent shopping and dining experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Hotel Houston
Hilton Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing