We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something a little different !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria
Ranked #40 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Something a little different !”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

When you travel often, all hotels end up being the same, but Indigo gets it right, mixes it up! Is not a luxury hotel, but boutique is accurate- feels a little more homey than normal and small subtle touches allows this hotel to stand out from other chains. Showers were elevated though- open and large, very spa- like! Bed was comfy, decorations made the room feel more like a night in cape cod than the houston galleria metropolis. Very close and walkable to many restraunts and of course, The Galleria!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for such good feedback within your review! I really do appreciate such comments. Our staff members will be thrilled as we share your comments in our monthly meetings. Thank you again! S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    211
    71
    24
    14
See reviews for
92
185
48
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We come here every year for our anniversary. It's gotten a little pricey for not having a hot tub in the room and the rooms being so small, but the location and beds are worth it. The rooms are clean and decorated unique. Love the beds. The service is great! Carl at the desk was great! It's located in a way that it's safe and not right on the street. You can walk to the mall, the water falls, and restaurants across the street. We never worry about our car and they don't charge us for parking. We like to dance at the restaurant across the street to the spanish music on the weekends and have drinks. We also go to Rice Village not far away for shops and to eat at Ruggles. Alexanders across the street has great pizza and empanadas.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for such great feedback within your review pertaining the hotel. We value your comments and will share them with our staff members. Also, thank you for returning to the hotel during your Anniversary. For sure, I will try some of the empanadas and pizza at the restaurant next door. S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
14 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel has a nice balance between economy prices with five star rooms. It's just a five minute walk from the Gakkeria. The hotel stay are very flexible in dealing with issues. I would be in the business office at 5:30am and the kitchen staff would bring me office.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdgraham52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for such an outstanding review. I really value and appreciate your comments. I will share your comments with our staff members. I am glad to read how we take care of you during your late hours while utilizing our amenities. S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is different and I think you need to decide personally I'd this is good or bad. The bed is higher off the ground. It has wood floors. It is done in a beach/sailing coastal theme. Furniture is all white painted wood. There is no tub, just a reasonably large walk in shower, which is the selling point for me. The room I stayed in did not have a shower curtain, but given the shower size and the removable shower head, you might not need one. The front desk was not terribly friendly, but I also arrived at 10:30pm at night. The morning staff was better. I really like this style of hotel, but it is a departure in style from a Hilton, Marriott, Hyatt, or Starwood. More casual, less pretentious. Indigo is part of the IHC (Holiday Inn) group and I would definitely chose this over a Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FriscoResident1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for such good feedback and recognizing us as a separate style of hotel than the others. My apology with the lack of caring from our front desk team. I will work on this! This is good valuable information as I will share your comments with our staff members. SBowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Nicely situated near the galleria. Not a big business hotel opposed to most of the other hotels around, more of a quiet boutique like hotel.
Friendly and personal staff in the reception.
The negative part is a very lousy wireless internet connection and a very boring restaurant with a very limited set of dishes.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for such kind words within your review and for the recognition of noticing our quiet boutique style hotel that separates us from other surrounding hotels. Yes, we do have a small, limited restaurant area. Thank you again!! S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

In booking my reservation in advance I made a couple of calls to attempt to arrange special service(s) if available for a friend traveling with me for his birthday. When I phoned the hotel the staff seemed not interested in making a special moment for us at this hotel. Whether if we paid for something or recieved a simple card or at least a happy birthday...something would have been nice. I called the day of arrival in the evening of Friday, August 16, 2013 between 16:00-17:30 and a gentlemen who addressed himself as a supervisor or manager of reception or "front desk" to inquire again to see what can be done. He said things like that must be arranged in advance and I explained that I have been trying for over a week close to 500 hundred miles away by phone to no avail. Then the gentlemen said he was sorry for the misinformation that the other associates provided and would provide 2 breakfasts for my 4 guests. Keep in mind we have 2 rooms, 4 total people. Then I said ok and he immediately went to stating that I should have my appropriate rate verification card ( I am an
associate for the IHG at another property). I said, "yes, of coarse I have it." And later the gentlemen just hung the phone up on me. My friends and I decided that wasnt going to effect our weekend. Hours later as we finally made it to Houston, TX from Gulfport, MS and New Orleans, LA we were greeted by a female working over-night I can be contacted for the names of the individuals. She instantly just said, "I need your employee card, ID, and credit card" Not even a wrlcome or anything. As I provided all documentation she proceeded to say, "ya'll betta behave with this rate." I then briefly recapped with the lady regarding the call experience with the previous shift when hours earlier I phoned the hotel. As I asked her how I can appropriately express my comment and feedback, she just said, "with this rate who really can't and shouldn't complain." I told her, "despite a rate plan or affiliation all guests should be spoken to and treated equally and with respect." In the morning, I spoke with a gentlemen who I spoke with working the mornig shift and expressed my comments and he was understanding and apologetic and very friendly. I then went to the restaurant and had breakfast with 1 of my friends. That is the only good part of our stay. Teresa and Matt are the only friendly staff I encountered and who were genuine and professional. All other interaction have prevented us not only drom this location at Hotel Indigo in Houston, but Hotel Indigo in general. Over all, if you are not looking for a "service" hotel this in that regard is just ok. However, special occasions etc...do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Greetings! First of all, I want to express my apology for all the issues you had encountered. Second, I want to thank you for detailing this review as it is time stamped in order for me to associate the issues you encountered with the correct Associates you had contact with. For sure, I will take actions based upon your comments. Again, my apologies and I can guarantee you this will be addressed. S.Bowden (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, LA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have stayed here multiple times and enjoyed every visit! They have a very welcoming staff and always maintain a beautiful interior & exterior. The rooms are modest in size and quite comfortable. Within walking distance of the Galleria & no valet parking fee!!! Another plus --- super cute cafe in the lobby area!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittiecatshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for such good comments within your review. I really appreciate this and will share your comments with our staff members. Thank you again! S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Great Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria

Property: Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria
Address: 5160 Hidalgo St, Galleria / Uptown, Houston, TX 77056-6404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Houston
#68 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#80 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria is located in the trendy Houston Galleria neighborhood - at the heart of the Uptown District - home to this innovative Houston hotel. Let us Inspire You. Our non-smoking rooms have breathtaking decor, over sized beds, fluffy over sized pillows and cozy duvets. We have complimentary parking outside, as well as, complimentary high speed Internet hot spots inside the hotel. An inviting lobby and pub styled social area welcomes you into this Houston hotel. Relax and enjoy our quick service bistro (Cross Roads)for cutting edge cuisine, as we proudly brew Houston's local Dodd Coffee. Our meeting rooms are trendy and stylish - a perfect balance for business or social events. To experience Hotel Indigo Houston Galleria is to indulge in high peace. Like the uptown neighborhood, we are dedicated to pleasing you. You won't find a better fit than our Hotel in the Houston Galleria Uptown Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Houston At The Galleria Hotel Houston
Hotel Indigo Houston
Indigo Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing