We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, but old hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria
Ranked #33 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, but old hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Please do not let the looks fool you online, they say its boutique, but its not, no where close to... First let me start off by letting you know the hotel was very hard to find, its all the way in the back of other hotels... The views are horrible, rooms are old and showers look just like gym showers old and mildew.. This place is worth no more than $65 per night, nothing special nor different... The one plus that the place have going its their friendly staff, other than that, i wanted to check out the minute i was checked it...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. I really appreciate them. First of all, we are a boutique hotel. We do sit in the back of other hotels; however, we find it more quite away from the busy traffic surrounding the Galleria. As I checked our records, I did not find any complaints during your stay pertaining to guest bathroom issues. If you had such an issue, we are here to satisfy it. Thank you S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    207
    69
    22
    14
See reviews for
89
179
47
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We went to celebrate my mom's birthday and there were 3 of us. They let us check in early and we were even upgraded. It was a nice surprise all around. The room was decorated nicely and the bathroom was huge. I loved the coastal decor, it was amazing. I was a little disappointed because there was not bath tub but the shower was huge. There was a small refrigerator and microwave with a cozy eating area for two. There was a restaurant/slash bar that I only got a coffee from, but I wasn't too impressed with the coffee. We loved the location because we could walk to Nordstrom's. That was a plus and one of the reasons we stayed there. Overall a great trip and I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winejunkie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Greetings! I am glad you had a nice weekend at our hotel. I really appreciate your comments and share them with the staff members. S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here for a business conference. The rooms are adorable, with a very Florida beach-like feel. Many restaurants are walkable since it backs up to the Galleria. Carl at the front desk was so helpful and brightened our day each time we spoke with him. The only downsides, there's no pool/hot tub (though you have the option of going to the hotel next door) and we had a room next to the banquet hall and were kept up by a party on Friday night and woken by a group having breakfast (along with a dj) the next morning. Service at breakfast was very slow, but we loved Derk, the bartender, who was there in the evenings

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank possicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for such great information within your survey. We value such feedback! Thank you for staying with us. S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. Free wifi and parking is very welcome! The location is great - a mix of business and nice residential properties, so feels safe. Entrance to the Galleria is only a few strides away through the back entrance of Nordstrom.
The Air-con is very noisy - like having a helicopter taking off in the room. Ice machines are on all levels, except the second floor. No curtains, only blinds which do not keep out the plentiful outside lighting. Shower is ok but too low for us (we're not giants at 5'10" and 6'0") and on the first morning we had to run the hot water for about 15 mins before hot water came through.
Given the Tripadvisor reviews, we were expecting first class service from the front desk. We were told by the front desk that there were no places to eat breakfast within walking distance which is absolute rubbish! There is the Argentina Cafe across the street on Hildalgo/Sage and Le Peep is a short walk across from the Galleria. Another request to the front desk a day later was met with another clipped "no". Not impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarlboroughFijigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for such good feedback. Also, thank you for pointing out the lack of directions and assistance from our staff members. We will work on this. We value your feedback and really appreciate such good information. S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Indigo along with our out-of-town guests and our wedding party last weekend for our big TexIndian wedding weekend! Everyone LOVED the hotel and commented on how accommodating the staff was throughout the four days. We had a mix of guests ranging from small town country folks, to city dwellers and even a few international guests; literally everyone loved it and felt comfortable. I, as well as a number of our guests, come from the hotel industry so we can sometimes be hard to please but there were no complaints! We hosted the mehndi in the bridal suite one night and had about 20 guests; everyone had plenty of room and didn't feel cramped at all. The open parking was a huge plus, and honestly, a big reason why we booked this hotel. Anyway, you get the picture...nothing but kudos all around. Great staff, great hotel, great location, great rooms. There is no way you can stay at this cheery little hotel and not be happy!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexIndianMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for such an awesome review. I really appreciate your feedback. I remember meeting and speaking to some of the guests in your group and they were very nice. We really enjoyed having you'll with us. Thanks again for such positive words. I will share them with our staff team. SBowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Not one of the biggest chains or the largest hotel in the Houston Galleria Mall area, but that makes it even more attractive. More colorful than the average hotel, an excellent, friendly staff and more than competitive rates (shop around!) make this a real find among Houston hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
I really appreciate you taking the time to comment and isolate our property from other hotels. Thank you so much! I love the phrase "don't miss this one!" Enjoy! S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel staff was very friendly. As we entered our room we discovered the night stand moved the lamp on the floor the phone on the bed and our bathroom had obviously been used. Soap opened on sink. Shampoo bottles emptied. Toothpaste on the sink and the floor, black hair on floor and in shower and toilet was dirty. Also not one towel, hand towel nor wash cloth. I'm hoping this was just a over sight somehow because this is a nice hotel otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imakasly, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
My apologies on such issues you had encountered. We value your feedback and will take them to our meetings for review. S.Bowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Great Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria

Property: Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria
Address: 5160 Hidalgo St, Galleria / Uptown, Houston, TX 77056-6404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Houston
#68 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#80 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria is located in the trendy Houston Galleria neighborhood - at the heart of the Uptown District - home to this innovative Houston hotel. Let us Inspire You. Our non-smoking rooms have breathtaking decor, over sized beds, fluffy over sized pillows and cozy duvets. We have complimentary parking outside, as well as, complimentary high speed Internet hot spots inside the hotel. An inviting lobby and pub styled social area welcomes you into this Houston hotel. Relax and enjoy our quick service bistro (Cross Roads)for cutting edge cuisine, as we proudly brew Houston's local Dodd Coffee. Our meeting rooms are trendy and stylish - a perfect balance for business or social events. To experience Hotel Indigo Houston Galleria is to indulge in high peace. Like the uptown neighborhood, we are dedicated to pleasing you. You won't find a better fit than our Hotel in the Houston Galleria Uptown Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Houston At The Galleria Hotel Houston
Hotel Indigo Houston
Indigo Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing