We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel.... until you switch on the A/C”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria
Ranked #45 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Everything was great... but the A/C is really noisy and woke my wife and me up in the middle of our sleep... we switched it off so that we can get some sleep. Maybe it's just my room. Other than that, the hotel is fabulous! It feels more like home than a hotel, my son was so fascinated by everything... played in the cabinet, in the bathroom.... located just besides the Galleria and you're in the middle of most happenings in Houston.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovipconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2010

The colour scheme is most unusual but this is what makes it even more interesting. The hotel looks lovely from the outside and nice and cozy in the inside. The bedrooms are very spacious and comfortable. We loved the bed, so comfy. Didn't feel like getting up in the morning after a good night sleep.
The location is also ideal, 2 minutes walk from the Galleria shopping mall.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has a bit of fantassy and loves colourful things.( I think boring people might prefer something more conservative.) I would stay here again and again and again....

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I booked this room for myself and three other colleagues using Hotwire. We got an excellent price and I was pleased with the location.

The day of our stay, I called the hotel twice to inform them that I'd be arriving late in the evening, after 11 pm. They assured me that me reservation was confirmed and that my room would be waiting.

When my party and I arrived at 11:30 pm, I was informed that my room had been given away. "There's nothing we can do." said the night shift woman. She was perfectly sweet and sympathetic, but that didn't change the fact that we were four exhausted travelers without a room.

We ended up sharing a small one bedroom, with two of my colleagues sleeping on the floor, on blankets lent to us by the security staff.

In the morning, the day manager apologized and offered us some free breakfast. This was a nice gesture, but frankly, I was furious at having been duped. I did obtain a refund from Hotwire.

The hotel is clean and safe, with funky "early 90's" decour. If you get a good price on the web, you'll likely be pleased.

But be forewarned: Reservations are NOT guaranteed, and this could make for a miserable evening in the event you're traveling with small children or colleagues and/or arriving later in the evening. This is the sole reason for my single star rating.

Think before you click!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EricHearst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoHouston, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria with the TripAdvisor Community.

The third party internet sites like you used to book our hotel offer fantastic deals, but also have terms and conditions in exchange for those deals. On the sites that you do not know exactly which hotel you are getting until after you have chosen a rate - room types are not guaranteed, and that is clearly stated in the terms and conditions provided by those web sites. Hotels will do the best we can in accommodating requests, and we do wish we would have been able to accommodate your room type request at Hotel Indigo for your stay.

When a specific room type such as smoking or non smoking, number and types of beds, suites, etc are truly needed - guests staying at any hotel - regardless of the brand - are usually better served by booking through the actual Hotel Brand Websites, Central Reservation Offices, through the hotel directly, or through Third party sites that you can identify the specific hotel and the specific room type instead of booking through the last minute deal or auction type sites. If you don't have hotel location or room type specific needs - the last minute type of clearance sites and the auction types of sites offer great values and special deals on rooms that would otherwise remain vacant.

I am glad to hear that the staff was still accommodating and polite during an uncomfortable situation, and that another member of the management staff made gestures to in hopes of improving your situation the following morning.

Thank You again for taking the time to post your review, and hopefully the additional information included in this response about the different types of internet booking channels and different types of Third Party Websites is helpful to the TripAdvisor community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed for one night at the Indigo Hotel at Houston Galleria in mid October 2010. The hotel is so very close to the Galleria and is close to highways 59 and 610. We had booked the room thru priceline (where else could you get a room for $45?) and so when we arrived we requested a room with a king or a queen bed and our request was accepted by the front desk. The colors and the decor was very different from most hotels and my wife loved both. Our room was in the fifth floor which looked like a floor with handicap access. Our room was great and my wife again loved the decor and the colors. The king bed was comfortable, though my wife felt it was a bit harder than she would have liked. The bath and the shower were handicap accessible and so had an Asian/European hand shower which wasnt very comfortable for us. The toilet flushed stopped working just about when we were getting ready to leave so it didnt inconvenience us greatly.

All in all a good place to stay. I would have thought it was a 2.5* hotel (comparable to a Courtyard by Marriot) and not the 3* that it was advertised as in priceline. I would give it a 7 out of 10. They offer free parking and free wired internet connection but there is no swimming pool.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krisans5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

From the pictures on the web, I thought this was a fairly new modern hotel. It is an older hotel redo. A/c kept us up as it cycled on and off; noise in the hall came right into the room. There was mold in the tile grout in the shower. . Pillows were little bitty. The mattress was uncomfortable. Hotel not well maintained in general.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sulindamann59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Excellent location, just around the corner from the Galleria. Pristine, neat, tidy! Just an overall great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Just want to say ,what a very clean and friendly hotel ,the staff are probably the most helpful and friendliest out of all the hotels we have stayed at-particulary with 2 young boisterous children running riot ! . Particular mention must go to the restaurant/bar staff who were very good (and patient).We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to houston and would
definetely recommend this hotel to any visitors to houston.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryllewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria

Address: 5160 Hidalgo St, Galleria / Uptown, Houston, TX 77056-6404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Houston
#68 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#80 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: £87 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria is located in the trendy Houston Galleria neighborhood - at the heart of the Uptown District - home to this innovative Houston hotel. Let us Inspire You. Our non-smoking rooms have breathtaking decor, over sized beds, fluffy over sized pillows and cozy duvets. We have complimentary parking outside, as well as, complimentary high speed Internet hot spots inside the hotel. An inviting lobby and pub styled social area welcomes you into this Houston hotel. Relax and enjoy our quick service bistro (Cross Roads)for cutting edge cuisine, as we proudly brew Houston's local Dodd Coffee. Our meeting rooms are trendy and stylish - a perfect balance for business or social events. To experience Hotel Indigo Houston Galleria is to indulge in high peace. Like the uptown neighborhood, we are dedicated to pleasing you. You won't find a better fit than our Hotel in the Houston Galleria Uptown Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Houston at the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Houston At The Galleria Hotel Houston
Hotel Indigo Houston
Indigo Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing