We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be social”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Modern B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Modern B&B
Ranked #65 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to be social”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I've been staying exclusively at the Modern for over 5 years now, at least 12 times a year. Lisa and her staff are very welcoming and will drag you out to restaurants, runs (she and boyfriend Avi are marathoners) and bars/clubs if you like, and there are 20+ restaurants within a short distance. My favorite: the Alabama Ice House and the tacos from the truck across the street- all outdoor seating and a great place to people watch.

The Modern is not the place if you like a super quiet room or sterile hotel environment, and it's not posh like a Hilton et al, but for me social aspect is paramount. Great breakfast with Roxanne too.

Room Tip: Stay in the Spa if you dare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernLisa, Owner at Modern B&B, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Bill, thank you for the wonderful post! I'm off to the Boston Marathon tomorrow, and will certainly be grabbing some of those delicious tacos on my way back home (they'll certainly hit the spot after the long run). Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    37
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
62
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband loved this B&B. The first night he never went out to dinner, just socialized with some other guests, eating free appetizers and drinking wine. He said it was a very pleasant evening. He sent pictures of the Houston skyline and sunset from one of two terraces in his room.

He wishes it were nearer NYC!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nstein94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernLisa, Owner at Modern B&B, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Big thanks for the review! I love the view as well, the room isn't called 'Skyline" for nothing! We always appreciate those willing to come out and mingle with the group, give your husband a big thanks for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Beautiful building situated within walking distance of the Menil Collection, Rothko museum and an up and coming neighborhood filled with coffee shops, restaurants and boutique interior design and shopping. The neighborhood is still be gentrified so there were construction noises at 1 in the morning.

The chef is great and makes delicious omelets, breakfast spread and happy hour. To me this B&B felt like a modern, grown up hostel. Very cool and innovative concept, but don't expect to be waited on. Lisa, the owner, is very chatty but not the best at hospitality. Our rooms didn't have reading nights, and we had to ask for towels. The bathtub drain had no plug so you couldn't take baths but the shower was spacious and a neat design. The architecture is stunning and there is a huge great room with a tv and interesting artwork. However, the flooring is all wood and the bedroom doors don't reach the bottom of the floor so at 4 am when some other guests came home I woke up because all the noise bounces around the hard surfaces.

Montrose is a great neighborhood and for our first trip to Houston I'm glad we stayed in this location because we could walk to so many cultural locations and restaurants. We went to Jenni's noodle house for Vietnamese, Papacitos for Seafood, and Goode and Co. BBQ for traditional Texas fare. The Black Hole is a nearby coffee shop that is excellent and has vintage, mid-century furniture, and an artsy somewhat upscale University coffee shop feel. Mason's nails is within walking distance and is a great place for a manicure. Canopy is a restaurant within walking distance that looks like it would be delicious for casual, creative texas/american fare. B2 is a nearby interior design and letter press company that is gorgeous. We also spent a day in the West U neighborhood across the highway and it is worth a visit too. The women's boutique Julie Rhodes fashion & home on Edloe Street is beautiful, friendly and offers a variety of clothing, jewelry, shoes, accessories and home goods options. Very affordable luxury. I bought all my spring/summer clothes there.

Overall, if you want to be able to walk and see a lot of art attractions in Montrose the Modern B&B is a great place to stay, but you'll sacrifice some comforts of a hotel and private lodging experience because of the design and set up of the interior space of the B&B. Beds are comfy, but you have to ask for towels, water glasses and basic things like reading lights. For the price, I think you could have a more private, well thought out stay, but the location can't be beat.

Room Tip: We stayed in chickadee and it's adjoining room. We were three and it was a jack and jill bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abitlovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernLisa, Owner at Modern B&B, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Nancy, Thanks for the really thoughtful review. I took notes on your suggestions & we just ordered some cool reading lights so hopefully that helps. Most rooms do have them but, your are right the Caymn room has a really artsy lamp that is not so good for reading. Sorry about the towels the Room you stayed in has this towel rack in the bathroom that holds 4 towels and then a rack by the shower that holds 2 more. so 6 towels total. I asked the maids to make sure those racks are full. We do not put water glasses in the rooms but, have a tray of them at the buffet and have larger glasses in the ktichen with ice and water in the fridge door. More like a Bb than a hotel for sure. The bath counter in the Cayman room is not huge so we did nto want to clutter it with glasses. Called my plumber about the tub stopper. Not sure where that went.

it is hard to hear negative comments directed at me like this one: "Lisa, the owner, is very chatty but not the best at hospitality. It is good to take a step back and see how other people see me. My heartfelt apologies. No excuses I will try to improve in this area.

We did not put door sweeps on the doros because he thought it might effect the efficiency fo the air condition ie return air etc. We will add them tothe Cayman and chickadee room and see how that works. You are right there are a lto of hard surfaces and sound does carry expecially in the Cayman/ chickadee room.

Your suggestions for where to eat and what to do are spot on. Very informative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Such a neat and creative concept, in one of the best locations in HOU. First off, you don't know where to enter, the sign is small and hidden as you pass by. Kind of confusing knowing where to enter, Check-In was quick in the main house.
Rooms were a great size, Looks like they had been recently remodeled, rough finishes on the floor, exposed drywall edges in closet, electrical plug hanging out from wall. I was on the mid floor, the rooms have hardwood floors, with this said, you can hear the person on the third floor loud and clear. Great bed, very clean and comfortable!! Breakfast in the morning was excellent!! Not too fond of the cats lingering around and running in while we were eating.

To sum up....great place, great location, good price, excellent Bfast. I would stay here again, if they would keep up with the details this would be "5" star pick!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernLisa, Owner at Modern B&B, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thanks for your thoughtful feedback. We were at the time adding a bathroom to another room so there were some details to be finished. All of that is compleded now. I believe you were in the Kansas room. You are right about noise it is one of the things that stresses me out. most. On the one hand we don't want carpet because it can house so many allergens but, on the other hand it is by far the best sound dampener. So We installed cork & then a wood floor over it in the skyline room which is above the kansas room and we thought this would muffel the noise. It is usually pretty quiet unless the guest in the skyline walks around in heels.

Roxanne and I love cats but, there is really only our house cat Hoover now. If you do not want cats around please let us know because Hoover is glad to lounge in my room downstairs.

Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed at Modern B&B for 11 nights. Breakfasts were very tasty and often social occasions. Great kitchen for cooking and storing your own food (important for extended durations). Big, open common areas. They have a decent, make-shift gym in the garage. Clean rooms. Comfy beds. Montrose is great for dining and exploring. Also the B&B is very close to 59 giving you quick access to the highway network. Beats the hell out of staying at a hotel. I used to live in Houston years ago, and in this neighborhood, and the B&B contributed to the positive experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris_ordonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernLisa, Owner at Modern B&B, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Chris, we appreciate you taking the time to write a wonderful review. Thanks for helping make Modern so special, we always appreciate when guests make time to mingle! Roxanne certainly appreciates the compliment, the girl is good at what she does. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I attempted two calls to book a room and both times was hung up on with a condescending "honey" and was told that I could email her if I wanted a room in the upcoming days. I'm guessing that I would have to deal with this same level of attitude if I were to stay there all week next week and I can't see myself signing up to deal with that kind of attitude by choice.

No thanks.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Arbegast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernLisa, Owner at Modern B&B, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We do have several people who answer the phones and they are all very professional so I am not sure what happened. your review has been read aloud to everyone who answers the phone and we will endeavor to do better. None of us really say honey to anyone so we are somewhat baffeled but, appreciate the heads up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed 3 nights here, it was really beautiful location in a leafy neighborhood. The rooms were big, clean and had all anyone would need. Breakfast was fantastic, wifi is fast, free parking and hosts very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernLisa, Owner at Modern B&B, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
David, thank you for the thoughtful review and kind words. Here at Modern we truly try to make all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable, and it always feels great to see it's recognized. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to be seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#22 of 504 in Houston
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modern B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modern B&B

Property: Modern B&B
Address: 4003 Hazard St, Houston, TX 77098-3407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#19 Business Hotel in Houston
#88 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Modern B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic four-story bed and breakfast is a unique alternative with fab rooms, artists' works on walls, exercise equipment and shaded verandas that present panoramic views above the tree line. Come stay with us and experience a different kind of bed and breakfast! We also offer an intimate setting in the heart of Houston that is perfect for hosting meetings, dinner parties or wedding receptions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Modern B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modern Bed And Breakfast
Modern Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing