We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Modern B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Modern B&B
Ranked #60 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were visiting only for one night. We are from the U.K and found it much better to stay here than a hotel which is the same as any other hotel anywhere else in the world. There is a friendly welcome, snacks, good breakfast, option to use a washing machine which is helpful when touring around. Lots of helpful advise on places to visit. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable.
A must if you need to stay in Houston.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernLisa, Owner at Modern B&B, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Thanks for the lovely review... We love our UK guests... The Montrose neighborhood rocks lots of restaurants, bars and museums in walking distance. Hope you visit again if you are every back in H Town.

Cheers!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    37
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
30
61
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I recently had a death in the family and need a place to stay for one night. Modern's website indicated that they had one room but that the policy was for a reservation with a minimum of 3 nights. (Houston has a major convention going on and all other places are booked) I sent an email to Lisa explaining my situation, asking if an exception could be made, after no response via email I decided to call… I felt it was worth a shot. I got Lisa on the first shot, explained who I was, she remembered the email and cut me off stating that she had no rooms and couldn't help; conversation over. There was no expression of sympathy for my loss or suggestion for another hotel or even we hope you consider us in the future. I am very disappointed with the overall experience and will not consider this place for my next visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank VrmSjm1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernLisa, Owner at Modern B&B, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
I’m so sorry for your loss and apologize for being short with you. I had several guests trying to check in when you called and I was receiving another call on the other line. Since we are not a hotel, this can be a one-man-show at times, meaning that we don’t have a front desk person, a reservation person, etc. and this happened to be one of those times where I was completely swamped with many things at once. I hope you can fully understand that this was not personal at all, I am just trying to run my business as smooth and efficiently as I possibly can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Modern B&B is everything you’d expect and more from a top quality B&B, from the complimentary wine and nibbles every evening to the quirky, stylish rooms, the staff are all very helpful, friendly and courteous, this B&B has all the ingredients to create a relaxed, friendly atmosphere, something I value when spending extended periods of time away from home. Breakfast is great, especially the quiches on Monday’s. I won’t stay anywhere else when in Houston.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernLisa, Owner at Modern B&B, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Thanks for the nice review. We love our awesome guests... Cool guests are what makes the Modern Bb experience at breakfast and sometimes over wine and snacks in the evenings so enjoyable.

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

You will be charmed, Lisa and her staff are out of a travel adventure novel. You will rest, laugh, and eat delicious food. I only stay at B and B's two weeks out the month for business travel and I must say after trying all the B and B's in Houston I've found my favorite hands down. If your looking for a true Houston experience The Modern has you covered.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernLisa, Owner at Modern B&B, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thanks for the great review, you certainly add character to the B&B. We love our wonderful guests, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I've been staying exclusively at the Modern for over 5 years now, at least 12 times a year. Lisa and her staff are very welcoming and will drag you out to restaurants, runs (she and boyfriend Avi are marathoners) and bars/clubs if you like, and there are 20+ restaurants within a short distance. My favorite: the Alabama Ice House and the tacos from the truck across the street- all outdoor seating and a great place to people watch.

The Modern is not the place if you like a super quiet room or sterile hotel environment, and it's not posh like a Hilton et al, but for me social aspect is paramount. Great breakfast with Roxanne too.

Room Tip: Stay in the Spa if you dare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernLisa, Owner at Modern B&B, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Bill, thank you for the wonderful post! I'm off to the Boston Marathon tomorrow, and will certainly be grabbing some of those delicious tacos on my way back home (they'll certainly hit the spot after the long run). Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband loved this B&B. The first night he never went out to dinner, just socialized with some other guests, eating free appetizers and drinking wine. He said it was a very pleasant evening. He sent pictures of the Houston skyline and sunset from one of two terraces in his room.

He wishes it were nearer NYC!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nstein94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernLisa, Owner at Modern B&B, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Big thanks for the review! I love the view as well, the room isn't called 'Skyline" for nothing! We always appreciate those willing to come out and mingle with the group, give your husband a big thanks for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Beautiful building situated within walking distance of the Menil Collection, Rothko museum and an up and coming neighborhood filled with coffee shops, restaurants and boutique interior design and shopping. The neighborhood is still be gentrified so there were construction noises at 1 in the morning.

The chef is great and makes delicious omelets, breakfast spread and happy hour. To me this B&B felt like a modern, grown up hostel. Very cool and innovative concept, but don't expect to be waited on. Lisa, the owner, is very chatty but not the best at hospitality. Our rooms didn't have reading nights, and we had to ask for towels. The bathtub drain had no plug so you couldn't take baths but the shower was spacious and a neat design. The architecture is stunning and there is a huge great room with a tv and interesting artwork. However, the flooring is all wood and the bedroom doors don't reach the bottom of the floor so at 4 am when some other guests came home I woke up because all the noise bounces around the hard surfaces.

Montrose is a great neighborhood and for our first trip to Houston I'm glad we stayed in this location because we could walk to so many cultural locations and restaurants. We went to Jenni's noodle house for Vietnamese, Papacitos for Seafood, and Goode and Co. BBQ for traditional Texas fare. The Black Hole is a nearby coffee shop that is excellent and has vintage, mid-century furniture, and an artsy somewhat upscale University coffee shop feel. Mason's nails is within walking distance and is a great place for a manicure. Canopy is a restaurant within walking distance that looks like it would be delicious for casual, creative texas/american fare. B2 is a nearby interior design and letter press company that is gorgeous. We also spent a day in the West U neighborhood across the highway and it is worth a visit too. The women's boutique Julie Rhodes fashion & home on Edloe Street is beautiful, friendly and offers a variety of clothing, jewelry, shoes, accessories and home goods options. Very affordable luxury. I bought all my spring/summer clothes there.

Overall, if you want to be able to walk and see a lot of art attractions in Montrose the Modern B&B is a great place to stay, but you'll sacrifice some comforts of a hotel and private lodging experience because of the design and set up of the interior space of the B&B. Beds are comfy, but you have to ask for towels, water glasses and basic things like reading lights. For the price, I think you could have a more private, well thought out stay, but the location can't be beat.

Room Tip: We stayed in chickadee and it's adjoining room. We were three and it was a jack and jill bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abitlovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernLisa, Owner at Modern B&B, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Nancy, Thanks for the really thoughtful review. I took notes on your suggestions & we just ordered some cool reading lights so hopefully that helps. Most rooms do have them but, your are right the Caymn room has a really artsy lamp that is not so good for reading. Sorry about the towels the Room you stayed in has this towel rack in the bathroom that holds 4 towels and then a rack by the shower that holds 2 more. so 6 towels total. I asked the maids to make sure those racks are full. We do not put water glasses in the rooms but, have a tray of them at the buffet and have larger glasses in the ktichen with ice and water in the fridge door. More like a Bb than a hotel for sure. The bath counter in the Cayman room is not huge so we did nto want to clutter it with glasses. Called my plumber about the tub stopper. Not sure where that went.

it is hard to hear negative comments directed at me like this one: "Lisa, the owner, is very chatty but not the best at hospitality. It is good to take a step back and see how other people see me. My heartfelt apologies. No excuses I will try to improve in this area.

We did not put door sweeps on the doros because he thought it might effect the efficiency fo the air condition ie return air etc. We will add them tothe Cayman and chickadee room and see how that works. You are right there are a lto of hard surfaces and sound does carry expecially in the Cayman/ chickadee room.

Your suggestions for where to eat and what to do are spot on. Very informative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#21 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modern B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modern B&B

Property: Modern B&B
Address: 4003 Hazard St, Houston, TX 77098-3407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#19 Business Hotel in Houston
#88 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Modern B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic four-story bed and breakfast is a unique alternative with fab rooms, artists' works on walls, exercise equipment and shaded verandas that present panoramic views above the tree line. Come stay with us and experience a different kind of bed and breakfast! We also offer an intimate setting in the heart of Houston that is perfect for hosting meetings, dinner parties or wedding receptions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Modern B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modern Bed And Breakfast
Modern Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing