We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Modern B&B(Houston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,779)
Filter reviews
1,779 results
Traveller rating
1,228
345
104
64
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,228
345
104
64
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonarch restaurantblack labelherman parkrice universityroom serviceturn down servicemedical centercar servicefavorite hotelwithin milesmile radiusthe entire staffgreat customer servicefree shuttlesuitevaletconcierge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
873 - 878 of 1,779 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Zaza is unique - I don't know how to describe the decor. I've stayed twice, once in a double room with a balcony and once in a king room. Somehow the balcony room was more charming, although the beds seem like they would be small if two people actually tried to fit. I manage to forget toiletries every time and the front desk always helps me out. The free shuttle is great and we never waited long for a ride. Good wine list in the bar albeit pricey. Chocolates each night. Right on top of Rice U. I will be staying here again soon.

Room Tip: Don't try to put two people in each bed in the doubles with balconies!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NCreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

NCreviewer!

Thank you for the great feedback regarding your recent visit at Hotel ZaZa. I am happy to read that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel! Comfort & excellent service are key at the Z.

In regards to the complimentary Magic Carpet Ride service, I am pleased that you enjoyed the shuttle ride!

Please touch base when your travels return you to Houston, as I will have my team roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival. We love ya at ZaZa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My favorite hotel in Houston. I stayed in July 2014 in a suite 527, which was upgraded for free. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bath robe so soft and pretty, the bed perfect. I bought the robe (they sell them at the front deck for appr. $79). The hotel decor instantly transforms you to a vacation state of mind. The restaurant food good enough but the staff was great and attentive. Overall - I highly recommend this place. Coming back this week!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agprbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Agprbio!

Thank you for the fantastic feedback! I am happy your upgraded stay at Hotel ZaZa was filled with comfort & serenity. Excellent service is key at the Z! I am glad you love the bath robe; it's one of the many gems of the hotel!

Please touch base when your travels return you to Houston, as I will have my team create a signature experience for you. We love ya at ZaZa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This was a fantastic weekend getaway!! The only thing that didn't cooperate was the weather. Sooo...we didn't get to experience the poolside service that is so highly recommended & raved about. Therefore we enjoyed the room & room service!! It was extremely relaxing & enjoyable! I'd recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Kristy L!

Thank you for the delightful review! I am pleased to read that you had a lovely visit at Hotel ZaZa recently. The Z is definitely an oasis away from bad weather! I am glad you enjoyed room service as well during your stay.

Please touch base when your travels return you to Houston, as I will have my team create a signature experience for you. We love ya1

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel Zaza previously with just my husband and loved it but with kids it challenging at best but for us bordering on the nightmarish.

The good parts: If you want to see the fire works in Hermann Park or listen the Houston Symphony at Miller Outdoor Theatre without fighting traffic and being able to come and go as you please than there is no other hotel anywhere near the park to go to than the ZaZa. There are free cookies and lemonade at check in (not near the front desk). Free coffee in the morning by the elevators and the Monarch restaurant is very good. Everyone cleaned their plate and they have coloring books and crayons for kids. The pool area is beautiful and the gym is also clean and up to date.

The bad and the ugly. Why did you not tell us about the cookie and lemonade! My husband had his fill but the rest of us didn't notice until I saw the chocolate on his chin and by then it was too late! Same for the coffee, didn't notice until we were on our way out. If you have these wonderful things share them with your guests. I live in Houston, I went to the Zaza several times and told them I was coming with kids. I gave them the kids ages and asked for recommendations for rooms and as listed by a previous poster they told me to book the "deluxe balcony room". Sounds fancy I know, and since I stayed at a non balcony room previously, I thought this would be even better. How wrong I was. The balcony faces nothing special and the space for the balcony is removed from the actual room; therefore, if you have ever stayed in a hotel in Tokyo, Japan or New York - you know how small those rooms are ...this is smaller. It also does not have a tub and a teeny tiny itty bitty sink with no counter space, no chest of drawers. You get one night stand to put clothes in for 4 people and no chairs except for one office chair. How would you like to introduce your child to showers on vacation? Not fun and it involves a lot of screaming. Want to change rooms now ... you can't and they don't care and if you want someone to answer your calls don't call between the hours of 9:45pm and 9:30am because they do not answer the phone at those times but you can go to the beautiful pool area because they are all there but have no interest in helping you and don't bring your kids because everyone is drunk ...not happy vacation drunk but college frat party drunk. I saw none of this of course because the kids and I were too traumatized by "the shower incident". My chocolate chip eating husband saw it all and reported back gleefully. But we were in the elevator with an over served patron. Try explaining to your kids why the nice lady fell over nothing on the elevator and remained on the floor laughing hysterically until you removed your slack jaw children from the elevator. Life lessons for the little ones for about $350 a night.

Room Tip: Never ever get a balcony! Non balcony rooms are much larger and have better views.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZaZaHouston, General Manager at Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

WOW! I am embarrassed at the service you received. I would love to chat more about your experience and how we were not able to move you to another room to make things less stressful for you. After reading our review and your review of the Moody Gardens, sounds like it was a difficult weekend. My apologies for our contribution to the less than memorable time with your family.

A couple of things in your review caught my eye. Typically when someone checks in and we see that you are a repeat guest we do not go through the spiel of the features and benefits of the hotel as most want to get to their room and not spend any extra time at the desk. I apologize that you were not made aware of the afternoon treats and coffee. The treats are across from the front desk in the lobby. I am glad at least your husband was able to find them! We are proud of our chocolate chip cookies and how they typically leave a little on the chin!

You noted the ability to come and go as you please with our great location. Thanks for that as we feel our location is a big plus for us. I am curious as to our staff during your comings and goings. Did we have a good presence throughout the lobby? Friendly? Did you feel you could not approach anyone about changing rooms? Speak with a manager? As a father of a two year old, I am extremely sympathetic to the shower plight you experienced. I would love to understand why we were not able to change rooms as I was not able to find any record in our log that you requested to change. We are usually pretty good at our logging and follow up. I pour over these each morning to see if I need to follow up and it is obvious that I missed something. I apologize.

I would love to learn more about your experience with the team. We typically do much better and in the rare instance when we don't I want to fix it right away. Please call me directly at 713.639.4555 or feel free to drop by at any time and ask for me or Ian Bush since you live in Houston.

Thanks for the opportunity to reach out and again my apologies for the less than stellar stay.

Best,

Matthew Nuss
Executive Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

First stay and we loved it! Have stayed in many hotels in Houston and would highly recommend Hotel ZaZa. We had a room on the 9th floor with an incredible view from Rice Stadium to the Galleria area to downtown Houston. Food and drinks at Monarch Restaurant were fantastic. Best salmon we've had in a long time. Very service orientated hotel - everyone we dealt with was extremely pleasant and helpful. We mentioned it was our anniversary and were surprised to return to our room to find a bottle of champagne on ice with chocolate covered strawberries and a very sweet note. Although a bit pricey, this hotel has spoiled us and it will be hard to stay anywhere else in Houston from now on.

Room Tip: High up...over looking Rice University.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Houston Museum District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

SchneiderSATX!

Thank you for the wonderful review! I am pleased to read that you had a nice anniversary visit at Hotel ZaZa recently. Comfort & excellent service are key at the Z! We know how special the little touches are for our guests.

Please touch base when your travels return you to Houston, as I will have my team create a signature experience for you. We love ya at ZaZa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews