We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality Superior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Houston by The Galleria
Ranked #139 of 504 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
280 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Hospitality Superior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

The location is Fabulous. 1 block from the Galleria .Terry and the Breakfast Crew could not be more attentive. Many International Guests that were serviced well with bilingual staff. Parking is 16 dollars but you can take your car in and out. Very clean and well laid out room. Great overall Hospitality.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bonarrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, General Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. I can't wait to share your nice comments about the breakfast staff. They are awesome. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    133
    48
    13
    8
See reviews for
64
45
41
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I cancelled a reservation I made with Courtyard Houston by The Galleria through the Greater Houston Convention and Visitors Bureau and I was told by the Visitors Bureau that I would get a refund within 3-5 business days but 2 weeks have passed and I still have not received the refund, Be warned!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 330epping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, General Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
I apologize for the issues with your refund. All of these accounting decision are made through the Visitors Bureau and we don't have any control over it. Thank you for letting us know about your situation so we can relay the information to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is fine, and Jessica and Matthew at the front desk are wonderful. The other front desk workers appear to prefer chatting amongst themselves to working. The restaurant is only open Monday through Thursday. There is no food service AT ALL Friday through Sunday. There are no microwave ovens in the guest rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWorkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, General Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for the review of our property. We apologize for the lack of food service on the weekends. We don't have a strong demand for it on the weekends with many of our guests wanting to go out to the local restaurants. We will definitely keep looking into if there is a need for the food service on the weekends. Thank you for the comments regarding the front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Recently I booked and paid for in advance-a 2 night stay at this Marriott Property through Hoteldotcom. I was unable to make it the first night but showed up for the second night only to find my reservation had been cancelled. According to hotel and Marriot customer service, it was policy to charge and cancel my reservation. I fully expected to have to pay for the no show but when I asked for my room (already paid for!) the following night, I was told that I would have to pay $20 more than I originally paid for the same room. If the room was available, my original cost should have been honored. I have been a Rewards member for many years and have stayed in countless hotels during that time. Losing a long term customer for the opportunity to screw me out of $20 bucks is foolish!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
I'm really sorry to hear that you were unble to make the trip to Houston on your originally booked nights. Unfortunately when booking through a third party, you sometimes need to pay in advance. This payment is often very low but unfortunately non-refundable. When you did not show up to the hotel to check into your reservation, it was then cancelled. Because you did not book the reservation through us or pay us for your room, we were unable to refund your money. The hotel did not benefit from this in anyway as you did not pay us for your room. I'm really sorry to hear that you feel that we were taking advantage of you as that was never our intention. You should be able to speak to the company you booked it through to get a refund for the second night if you also paid us. We will be happy to assist in anyway we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Close to everything, restaurants, shopping centers, bars, nail salon, hair salons, massage spas. Everything. Great price for the location!! The front desk staff is very attentive, and fixed our toilet issue quickly! Would stay at this hotel again if I come back to houston. Only in town for the pats game!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessenia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, value, and found our staff to be so great! I hope that pats game will bring you back to Houston because we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carle Place, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I realize you could say that about all Courtyards. But this is not a small property, and the gym is way too small relative to the size of the number of bedrooms. Some more room definitely needs to be created for that.

As far as the Bistro, well, it will arrive there eventually. Not everybody can be first with that!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayKay6884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with our gym. I'm really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy it. I would agree with you that with two treadmills, an elliptical, bike, free weights and bench we do have a small gym. We are going to cut into our offices so that we can expand our gym area when we are renovated. Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
239 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times over the years. The Courtyard experience in terms of the rooms is pretty standard and I had no problems. They have the old dining experience with the breakfast buffets - it's not the Bistro option in many other Courtyards. I was a little disappointed with the front desk. It was not staffed when I went to check out (7:45 am) and then when the lady came, my breakfast wasn't added to the my check so there were further delays. Other than these folks needing a little training, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodstock1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your time with us this month! I'm so sorry to hear that we were not properly staffed when you departed and there was a further delay waiting for your breakfast to be added to your check. We will definitely work on ensuring that we always have ample staff at the desk so that we do not delay you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Houston by The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston by The Galleria

Property: Courtyard Houston by The Galleria
Address: 2900 Sage Rd, Houston, TX 77056-6007
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Houston
#54 Business Hotel in Houston
#73 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston by The Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-renovated! The Courtyard Houston Galleria hotel has completed a full renovation! With stylish rooms and a new onsite Bistro, our hotel is a top choice among Houston Galleria hotels. Just one block from the Galleria Mall, our hotel offers rooms with plush Marriott bedding, free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. Our King Rooms have pullout sofas and our Suites have convenient microwaves and mini-fridges. Our redesigned lobby is equipped with comfy seating and interactive GoBoard(R) with the latest news, traffic and weather. The highlight of our lobby is the brand-new Bistro where we're serving up healthy breakfast options and Starbucks coffee. Stop by in the evening for our delicious dinner menu and full bar. We're a great choice for meetings with flexible event space, custom catering options and A/V technology. Our outstanding service and new amenities truly set us apart from other Houston Galleria hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Houston by The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Houston By The Galleria Hotel Houston
Courtyard Houston Galleria
Houston Courtyard
Houston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing