We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational and informative”

Space Center Houston
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.95*
and up
NASA's Space Center Houston and City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #4 of 293 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Space Center Houston is one of Houston’s top attractions, the Official Visitor Center of NASA Johnson Space Center, Houston’s first and only Smithsonian Affiliate and a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence awardee. The center features more than 400 space artifacts as well as numerous permanent and traveling exhibits, attractions and theaters related to the exciting future and remarkable past of America’s human space-flight program – all for one admission price. The experience is designed to engage adults and children alike. Known around the world as the home of NASA Mission Control, International Space Station Mission Control and astronaut training, guests are taken behind the scenes to see NASA Johnson Space Center. Space Center Houston is open every day except Christmas day.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Educational and informative”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The space center was a great place to visit to learn about the space program from the past to the future.
Be sure to take the tram tour to visit Mission Control, the vehicle building, rocket park and other sites around NASA.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank philco214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,284
    1,820
    846
    235
    103
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Even if you're not really 'into' all things space related, NASA is an amazing day out. The space centre is fascinating, and you can't not be impressed by the scale and technology that you see. Sitting in the room where Neil Armstong and Buzz Aldrin were sent into space is incredible. All the technology is exactly as it was and the time-warp sensation is quite uncanny! Although it is expensive (and they are even cheeky enough to charge for parking!) it really is worth a visit. The facilities for children are excellent but there is certainly enough to keep adults entertained for half a day or more. Don't miss it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RdeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place for all ages”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a really interesting place to visit for all ages. Every part was fabulous, including the Control Center Tour, the Space Shuttle Exhibit and the movies. All of the staff members were friendly and knowledgeable, making it interesting for everyone from kids to senior citizens. We would recommend going early in the day, as it did get rather crowded around noon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaraRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun and Educational! ”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

My family came to visit with some friends who we're visiting us from the UK. We were all very impressed with the scale and presentation of the space center! There were many interesting exhibits in the main building as well as several fun, hands on activities for kids. There are also tram tours that goes to several other sights around the space center campus, such as the Mission Control Center and a real space shuttle, which we all thoroughly enjoyed. Just know that on busy days the line for the tours can be quite long. There are a variety of ethnic foods offered in the food court, and a fun gift shop. I would recommend the Space Center to people of all ages who enjoy learning and exploring!

Helpful?
Thank LuckyLyndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Had a great day out!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Loved the space centre! I don't know a lot about space or space exploration so I learned a lot and found it to be highly interactive. I think there is a lot of stuff aimed more at children, but I still loved it. I think after 3 or 4 hours though I was ready to call it a day.
Staff were really friendly and helpful though and the tour guides were really knowledgeable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KFitzsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Space Center Houston also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Space Center Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing